American Sniper Reviews

Page 2 of 15
December 20, 2018
American Sniper holds up as a movie that has something to say about the military experience, and says it effectively.
November 2, 2018
It's not often that a movie can spur a reaction from both the heart and the mind, and this film does just that.
October 31, 2018
Even when we remove discussion of the real Chris Kyle...we still have to contend with American Sniper's problematic approach to and depiction of recent real life events.
October 24, 2018
American Sniper has succeeded at what it set out to do: provoke hysterical reactions from right-wing American viewers and a feeling of crushing indifference from everybody else.
October 24, 2018
American Sniper is a tribute to every man and woman to have served in our United States military. Give them the respect they deserve.
August 3, 2018
Despite the massive set pieces and deafening sound effects that go hand in hand with a war movie, it retains a feel of focused, graceful leanness that is a trademark of Eastwood and undeniably masterful.
May 1, 2018
It is what it is - a film whose very own confusion about its position about war, about its main character, about America, has elicited various reactions.
March 17, 2018
Along with everything else it does, the movie portrays the enemy we are up against in the most unflinching terms, and it allows us to feel gratitude and respect for those who have undertaken the fight.
January 30, 2018
I expected much more from Eastwood, Cooper, and the rest of the cast and crew. [Full review in Spanish]
January 12, 2018
Because of the way Eastwood crafts his hero and because of that hero's place in the overall work, the result, while nationalistic, does not romanticize patriotism. I can't remember another American movie that managed to avoid doing that so successfully.
December 2, 2017
American Sniper is one of the best films of 2014; a truly powerful look at a man that whether you believe he is a legendary hero or not, was tasked with incredible hardships and rough decisions on the battlefield
November 27, 2017
Anger, pain and fear can still cloud the clearest eyes. The look of Bradley Cooper, who plays the real life sniper of the title, conveys it. [Full review in Spanish]
October 17, 2017
The film is so bland that it even minimizes its subject's claim to fame, the extraordinary number of people he shot after carefully sizing them up through the sights of a rifle.
August 17, 2017
I can't think of any other director than Clint Eastwood to make a film that revises the portrayal of the American soldier, as he has done before with the cowboy and the cop.
August 14, 2017
To call American Sniper a pro-war movie or an anti-war movie is to miss the point: all war movies are both.
August 10, 2017
American Sniper is devastating on the emotional level, especially with a very buffed-up Bradley Cooper in the lead role.
June 28, 2017
American Sniper is not only one of the filmmaker's best, but also one of the best movies of last year.
June 1, 2017
American Sniper isn't the war movie this country needs. But it is, to borrow a phrase, the war movie this country deserves. And for that reason I wept.
February 28, 2017
Cooper continues to expand his range.
Page 2 of 15