American Yakuza - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

American Yakuza Reviews

Page 2 of 4
March 27, 2009
well umn just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch,.,its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie...i think that viggo mortensen, michael nouri, robert forster, nicky katt play good parts throughout this movie,,,i think that the director of this Action & Adventure, Mystery & Suspense movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie..i think that the fight scenes n the gun shoot outs were pretty kewl throguhout this movie...its a good movie 2 watch n the car chase scenes were pretty kewl as well throughout this movie
January 14, 2009
Awful. A really poor attempt to add an Eastern twist to the American gangster genre. If I was a Yakuza I would also be a bit insulted by the premise of this film that not only would they let in a white none Japanese man, he is also an FBI agent. Just so flimsy a plot it makes the whole thing ridiculous. This was a film that would have suited Steve Segal down to the ground, Mortensen, however probably looks back in horror
January 8, 2009
Typical 90's action film involving a cop with a torn conscience!!
December 27, 2008
Naen jotain yhtalaisyytta Mortensenin myohemman elokuvan (Eastern Promises) kanssa. Molemmat tietenkin liittyvat rikollisperheisiin.
½ December 15, 2008
Hard one... Traditional undercover cop -movie, some bad acting, far too shallow on characters, story and directing, but it is still ok to watch once and have some mean scenes.
November 15, 2008
where to begin... mortensen plays an fbi guy who becomes a made member of a yakuza crime family - finding the family that has eluded him all his life; consequently his loyalties become confused.
it's funny to see anti-japanese sentiment in 2008 - according to imdb this movie was made in 1993. 15 years after this movie came out the japanese are no longer the fear (now it's china). after 7 years in japan i'm more of a japanophile than a japanophobe. the story, well it's weak; the yakuza is apparently involved with gun running and is the american mafia wants them out and for some reason (anti-japan zenophobia) the fbi makes a deal with the mafia; the fbi agrees to let the mafia take out the yakuza - which leads to some john woo type shoot outs. i enjoyed this as a window into early 90's zeitgeist.
November 8, 2008
Review will be written when/if re-watched (Probability: Zero).

First viewing: 28.03.2002
½ September 2, 2008
A little lightweight as far as undercover cop movies go, but is probably to do with the budget more than anything else as it is strong in other areas. Still watchable.
½ September 1, 2008
OK-ish movie. Good action. A wee bit boring, to a degree. lol
August 18, 2008
ACTUALLY A VERY GOOD MOVIE. ACTING IS A LITTLE STIFF. bUT AN INTERESTING MOVIE
July 28, 2008
Average mob / undercover cop thriller starring Viggo Mortensen before he was famous.
nickymo89
Super Reviewer
½ June 30, 2008
A ok low budget action movie.
½ June 14, 2008
decent undercover thriller with loads of action.
April 23, 2008
A low budget action movie with it's fair share of bad actors, but with what they had to work with the director still put together a surprisingly good story. Some interestingly stylish action scenes. Mortensen and Ishibashi (loved him in Audition) were great. And I always love it when Robert Forster pops into a movie.
April 19, 2008
Not too bad for a low-budget action movie, although Mortenson was yet to deliver any of the ability he would show in the LOTR trilogy. Some good action sequences and a gorgeous love interest in Cristina Lawson make this an above average thriller.
April 18, 2008
I used to watch lots of rubbish straight-to-video action flims back when I were young, and this is by far one of the better ones. Looks like it was filmed for a fiver, and unflinchingly sticks to the "undercover cop becomes conflicted" template, but it's got a couple of bits that make it worth watching.
February 3, 2008
really enjoyed this, blood and shootings galore, with a decent ending well worth watching
January 31, 2008
An early Viggo film, average story, but well directed and some of the acting is incredibly good, i defy you not to be shocked when it hits the fan, it's all about family and loyalty.
½ January 21, 2008
A pre-Aragorn Viggo Mortensen tries not to look too embarrassed in this textbook example of why American should simply not try to do the whole oriental-action movie thing. So predictable that when I went away for 10 minutes, when I came back I didn't even need to rewind. What a shame to see Ryo Ishibashi in such a lousy movie.
January 6, 2008
Anyone else think it's almost the same plot line as Viggo's new movie Eastern Promises? Only in that he's in the Russian mafia.
Page 2 of 4