Amour Reviews

Page 1 of 10
T'Cha Dunlevy
Montreal Gazette
April 7, 2015
Michael Haneke's profound new film Amour is far from your standard Hollywood romance. It is also a more nuanced, challenging and thought-provoking experience than that one word might lead you to believe.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Austin Trunick
Under the Radar
August 17, 2014
Amour is a brutally difficult viewing experience, but it's in no way a film you'll desire -- or be able -- to forget.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Richard Knight
Windy City Times
June 27, 2014
The performances of Riva and Trintignant are revelatory.
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
May 26, 2014
We wake from the best movies as witnesses; we feel the truth of what we have seen and heard, and though we know it's only a movie - just as we know in lucid dreams that we're actually asleep - we cannot help but feel changed by what we have seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 91/100
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
August 22, 2013
a profoundly humane and deeply challenging depiction of the emotional and physical ravages of old age
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
August 20, 2013
Compelling and incredibly heartbreaking...
Bill Gibron
Film Racket
August 17, 2013
a stunning work from a man more capable of provocation than actual insight.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
James Plath
Movie Metropolis
August 4, 2013
Michael Haneke gives us an unflinching look at love in the twilight years, placing a lot on the shoulders of two stars who come through like the veterans they are.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Eric D. Snider
July 13, 2013
Unnerving in its own way - heartfelt and tender, but with an undercurrent of foreboding.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Stanley Kauffmann
The New Republic
June 17, 2013
This is realism that enlarges our conception of the term.
Top Critic
David Thomson
The New Republic
June 13, 2013
Now at the end of the year comes a masterpiece, not just the best of the year, but one of the best ever: Michael Haneke's Amour.
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
May 13, 2013
It leaves you spent, depressed and intensely afraid of the future. In some ways that's admirable, but like our fallible bodies, it gets old - fast.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Matt Kelemen
Las Vegas CityLife
April 21, 2013
Haneke has created a gift for both audiences and the two legendary actors cast in the lead roles.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Sara Maria Vizcarrondo
Movies With Butter
March 18, 2013
In a film that's so explicitly cathartic for the filmmaker, there's a whole lotta catharsis withheld for the audience.
March 17, 2013
While [director Michael] Haneke's love of long takes invite you to stare into the corrugated faces of Georges and Anne as their worlds change, there is a leaden quality to many stretches of the film that assume a profundity that simply isn't there.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Cameron Williams
The Popcorn Junkie
February 28, 2013
Powerful piece of cinema that forces us to confront death and something even worse; the prospect of outliving the love of one's life
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 28, 2013
This beautifully-handled, deeply devastating work is all about the most human issue of all: we're all headed for the scrap-heap.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Matt Glasby
February 28, 2013
Movingly acted and extremely harrowing.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
February 25, 2013
Rarely has this subject matter been depicted so realistically, so honestly. You always know where the story is heading but it's still tough to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Thomas Caldwell
Cinema Autopsy
February 24, 2013
The scenario is upsetting, but the execution is genuine and pure, making Amour a film of heartbreaking beauty and Haneke's masterpiece.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 10