Amour - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Amour Reviews

Page 1 of 10
June 10, 2016
I can't say you'll enjoy Amour. That would be an inappropriate reaction, in fact. Hollywood has conditioned us to expect swelling violins as characters draw close to death. (Here) there's little drama and nothing in the way of ceremony.
Full Review | Original Score: 5 of 5
April 13, 2016
Beautifully shot, powerfully acted, and skillfully composed, Amour is worth pursuing.
April 8, 2016
Does what it sets out to do, expertly weaving together the monotony of everyday life, the nauseating horror of mortality, and the most esoteric corners of the human mind.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 7, 2015
Michael Haneke's profound new film Amour is far from your standard Hollywood romance. It is also a more nuanced, challenging and thought-provoking experience than that one word might lead you to believe.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
August 17, 2014
Amour is a brutally difficult viewing experience, but it's in no way a film you'll desire -- or be able -- to forget.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
June 27, 2014
The performances of Riva and Trintignant are revelatory.
May 26, 2014
We wake from the best movies as witnesses; we feel the truth of what we have seen and heard, and though we know it's only a movie - just as we know in lucid dreams that we're actually asleep - we cannot help but feel changed by what we have seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 91/100
August 22, 2013
a profoundly humane and deeply challenging depiction of the emotional and physical ravages of old age
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
August 20, 2013
Compelling and incredibly heartbreaking...
August 17, 2013
a stunning work from a man more capable of provocation than actual insight.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 4, 2013
Michael Haneke gives us an unflinching look at love in the twilight years, placing a lot on the shoulders of two stars who come through like the veterans they are.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
July 13, 2013
Unnerving in its own way - heartfelt and tender, but with an undercurrent of foreboding.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 17, 2013
This is realism that enlarges our conception of the term.
June 13, 2013
Now at the end of the year comes a masterpiece, not just the best of the year, but one of the best ever: Michael Haneke's Amour.
May 13, 2013
It leaves you spent, depressed and intensely afraid of the future. In some ways that's admirable, but like our fallible bodies, it gets old - fast.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
April 21, 2013
Haneke has created a gift for both audiences and the two legendary actors cast in the lead roles.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 18, 2013
In a film that's so explicitly cathartic for the filmmaker, there's a whole lotta catharsis withheld for the audience.
March 17, 2013
While [director Michael] Haneke's love of long takes invite you to stare into the corrugated faces of Georges and Anne as their worlds change, there is a leaden quality to many stretches of the film that assume a profundity that simply isn't there.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 28, 2013
Powerful piece of cinema that forces us to confront death and something even worse; the prospect of outliving the love of one's life
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 28, 2013
This beautifully-handled, deeply devastating work is all about the most human issue of all: we're all headed for the scrap-heap.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 10