An Education - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

An Education Reviews

Page 2 of 245
May 10, 2015
A beautiful movie with full of emotions and Mulligan ruled it.
½ April 22, 2015
A different look at the types of education facing a teenage schoolgirl. Well directed and acted, this classy coming-of-age drama also has a good mix of humour as well. A lesson well learned. AAN 1001
½ March 28, 2015
The best romantic film of 2009. 9/10
March 26, 2015
It has a pretty typical and familiar plot, the characters are very unlikable and it is not particularly well directed, but an Education benefits from emotional approach, complex issues raised and a fantastic performance from Carey Mulligan who absolutely shines as the protagonist. It is a film that is not a bit fresh, but that manages to make that familiar story relevant again thanks to fine characterization, superb acting all around and engaging, applicable conflict.
March 22, 2015
An Education has much more of a twist than what the trailer show, and boldly uses that to its advantage.
March 15, 2015
Carey Mulligan has shown her potential as what a good actress she can be. Probably it goes back as early as her piece in one of the episode of Doctor Who season 3. That is when I started to notice her. An Education deserves high marks.
½ March 9, 2015
In 1961 Jenny (Carey Mulligan) a 16 year old girl planning her life of going to Oxford University next year has no idea her dreams are about to turn up side down when she meet a quite older gentleman named David (Peter Sarsgaard) who's in his late 30s. They quickly fall in love as they share their love for music and as and audience you are uneasy of their new found romance because of they distant in age difference and levels of mental growth. Jenny is sucked into the charming and rich life style of David and his friends as is the audience then we are all fooled. In An Education directed by Nick Hornby there are subtle hints that David and his friends are up to no good and can seem shady at times but is balanced out with the fun playfulness David affectionately shows Jenny allowing us to disregard his wrong doing. After a while both Jenny's and David's ages are soon forgotten at the peak of their relationship as is Jenny's future and Oxford. Once Jenny and her family realize she will be financially stable and happy with David around Jenny is blinded by love and now sees no use for a woman to go to school. Jenny is now left in a though, emotional state after her heart is broken. Overall, loved the film yet I was unsatisfied with the ending even though Jenny seemed happy now living and acting as id she were the appropriate age.
½ March 8, 2015
Based in the 1960s, Lone Scherfig's film, An Education is focused around a 16 year old schoolgirl named Jenny played by Carey Mulligan. Jenny meets an older man named David who is around his mid-30s, played by Peter Sarsgaard. Jenny and David began to spend a lot of time together and they began to fall in love. But then the heartbreak came when Jenny found out some facts about the "real" David. This film keeps you on the edge of your seat with you never knowing how it will end. There is a huge difference between society during the 1960's and and society now, but this great film shows what it is like to be a teenager during this time and taking risks.
March 8, 2015
The movie, "An Education" directed by Lone Scherfig is a flim about a young girl name Jenny (Carey Mulligan) who is smart, pretty and dreams of attending Oxford University and a much older man named David (Peter Sarsgaard) who charms her into the adult life. I really enjoyed this movie and recommend it to anyone old enough to comprehend its message. The climax of the movie is very unexpected and will leave you wanting to know what is going to happen next. The film also teaches a good lesson on decision making. By keeping the viewer intrigued, having an important theme, and ending in a satisfactory way, this movie has earned a very good reputation and a favorable review.
March 8, 2015
An Education is a movie about a 16 year old girl, Jenny (Carey Mulligan), who is working really hard trying to balance cello practices and keeping her grades as high as possible so she can get into her dream college, Oxford. One day Jenny is walking home from cello practice and is stopped by a man in his 30s, David (Peter Sarsgaard), who offers to get her out of the rain and drive her home. Director, Lone Scherfig, does a great job of incorporating all of the little things we know about Jenny and creating it into an extravagant love story where David gives her everything she has ever wanted. As the film progresses Jenny starts to steer in the wrong direction; she drops out of high school and is spending all of her time with David. I enjoyed watching how Jenny had her whole life together and planned out completely, to watching it go downhill at a very fast pace, and then finally watch her take charge of her life, get back into high school, and most importantly finish what she started. I gave this film a 4 out of 5 stars because I really liked seeing Jenny get her life back together at the end, but was a bit shocked that she was only 16 years old and was dating a 30-ish year old man.
March 8, 2015
Directed by Lone Scherfig, An education stars Carey Mulligan playing a 16-year-old who gets charmed by a suspiciously fascinating older man, Peter Sarsgaard. This movie was a very good, interesting movie. It kept the audience intrigued on what was going to happen next. Jenny could not wait to be an adult. She dated David, who was in his thirty's, when she was 16 years old. I thought that this kept the audience interested because we wanted to keep finding out more about David and who he truly is. Although David could be sweet sometimes, he was still hiding the truth from Jenny. It was only a matter of time before Jenny found out about David's real life.
March 8, 2015
in 1961 an educated 16-year old schoolgirl named Jenny (Carry Mulligan) learns lessons in both life and love. She lived her days aiming to mainly please her dad who had nothing but high expectations for her while Jenny only dreamed of reading books and novels in college. One rainy day after cello practice she runs into a man who looks to be in his mid to late 30s named David (Peter Sarsaard) who introduces her to a world she only dreamed of. Full of classical concerts and delicious food! Not only was Jenny living her dream but her father approved of him as well. This brilliant and charming man was willing to even get Jenny into her dream college of Oxford. This film will have you at the edge of your seat wondering if Jenny has found the man of her dreams or if this is all just a disaster waiting to happen. I rated this a 4 out of 5 considering the age difference was rather disturbing and the ending left me with too many questions. Considering the time that this movie was portraying i went along with it. The actors also didnt correctly portray the image of the age they were aiming for either. Although it was flawed in those perspectives i overall loved it and i recommend it to anyone who would love a good romance movie.
March 8, 2015
In 1961, the protagonist, 16-year-old schoolgirl, Jenny (Carey Mulligan) is captivated with French art, movies, book, and music. Jenny sits in her Cello and school classes just waiting and daydreaming about a different lifestyle. Then on a rainy day after class she is standing in the rain after cello practice she is approached by an older man named David (Peter Sarsaad) he is a man who has money to his name, a nice car and is easily able to help Jenny live the life she daydreams about having. I gave this film 3 out of 5 stars, mainly because even though this film did have its fun and funny moment it was just overall quite disturbing for the main fact that it is about a 16 year old girl falling in love with a man in his late 30s or so who is married and has a young child at home. Though it may have been considered normal back then, the way that the actors portrayed their characters felt a bit wrong. Especially when they had scenes with a 16 year old girl smoking with adults and go to clubs drinking, it looked as though David could have been her father. This film overall, in my opinion, was disturbing anduncomfortable.
March 8, 2015
Protagonist, Carey Mulligan (Jenny), a 16 year old girl who is in love with French films, art, classical music, and books. All she wants to do is get out of school and see the world. Mulligan displays an astounding performance as she lives an adventurous teen age life when she meets Peter Sarsaard (David), around 30 years older than she and has generous amounts of money and loves to spoil Jenny. In a blink of an eye Jenny and David fall in-love and start living their life together. The film takes place around the 20th century. I would award this movie 4 out of 5 stars, mostly because of the major age difference, I would have loved the movie if the director would have picked a better age for Jenny to be. In the movie she is doing things with a man that is 30 years older than her and this may have been normal at the time but watching it now it was very repulsing. On the other hand, the movie had excitement at every corner with a major climax. Overall I would give the movie 4 out of 5 stars, it was very enjoyable.
½ March 8, 2015
The film, An Education, directed by Lone Scherfig, is set in the suburbs during the 1960's. A 16 year old school girl, Jenny, played by Carey Mulligan, encounters an older man, around his mid-30's, named David, played by Peter Sarsgaard. Throughout many adventures and trips, Jenny falls in love with David, but the fling does not last long when Jenny finds out some major secrets about Davis. Altogether, viewers will be absorbed in this coming of age tale about a young girl turning into a young woman.
Though at some spots of the movie a viewer may be confused it will all come together at the end of the film. It is a great movie despite the differences in modern day society and society in the 1960's. It is an interesting film that entails the hardships of growing up, realizing what is important, and risk-taking adventures.
½ March 6, 2015
Fine film in every aspect, as a beautiful movie and as an educational story.
March 3, 2015
Lone Scherfig's film, "An Education", set in 1960's London, portrays a smart 16-year-old girl, Jenny (Carey Mulligan) who is unsatisfied with her boring school life and is ready for adulthood and adventure. She soon comes upon David (Peter Sarsgaard), who has the fun and luxurious life she has always wanted, yet he is over 10 years older than her. Although the age difference is quite strange, Jenny quickly falls for David as she joins him and his friends on many fancy outings including a trip to Paris. This new extravagant life tempts Jenny to throw away her college dreams and she soon faces the decision that could change her life forever. Though this movie was upbeat and interesting, the awkwardness of the age difference can be uncomfortable at times and this is why I did not enjoy it. In modern day, most young girls would never engage in a relationship with a much older man. Having to watch Jenny and David fall in love made me feel uncomfortable because in our lives, it is inappropriate and awkward to watch, even if it is just a movie.
March 2, 2015
The film, An Education, directed by Lone Scherfig, is about a 16 year old girl named Jenny (Carey Mulligan) who is a normal schoolgirl until she meets someone who changes her life. Jenny's life is changed when she meets a much older man named David (Peter Sarsgaard). David has the same interests as Jenny and eventually starts to date her. Before Jenny met him she was forced by her father to only focus on school and her music because she needed to get into Oxford University. Jenny starts to spend all her time with David because her parents like him and allow her to. Jenny finds out that David is not the man she thinks he is. She finds out that he steals artwork from senior citizens and that he is married with a child. Jenny breaks up with David and starts back on her path to get to Oxford. I gave this film 4 out of 5 stars because the film was good overall.
March 2, 2015
In 1961 a 16-year-old schoolgirl, named Jenny (Carey Mulligan) is in love with French films, movies, art, and books. Jenny can't wait for her life to really begin, her life outside of school. On a rainy day after Cello practice she runs in to a man named David (Peter Sarsaard), around 30 years old who has money and is grown and can show her the world she wants to see. Jenny and David fall in love so effortlessly. I give this film 3 stars out of 5, the reason being I found this film quiet creepy and disturbing to watch since the huge age difference and since David is already married with a child, and it is not considered a norm in modern times. Even though it could have been normal back then I don't think that the correct actors were picked for the parts, they do not seem the ages they are portraying. Especially that they had some racy scenes that no 16 year old should be participating in with a 30ish year old married man. David looks as though he could be in his late 40's and Jenny around 14 or 15 years old wearing too much make up. The film was overall inappropriate and disturbing.
Page 2 of 245