Anatomy of Hell - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Anatomy of Hell Reviews

Page 1 of 11
½ April 7, 2015
Good premise and I do like the film, but I can't help but feel there is something missing. This film should be viewed more as an art film though, for anyone wanting to watch it, as I feel this might be the reason the audience feels cheated, as they thought they were going to be seeing something else.
December 30, 2014
Beautiful woman...but the rest was too French for me.
August 2, 2014
Just awful,...but you get to see Vag if that's important to you.
½ November 5, 2013
Absolutely despicable film. Now, normally just being heavy handed isn't enough for me to hate a film, but this film can't even seem to get its own moral values it's preaching right. Breillat beats us over he head with yet another "all men are evil" show, but it gets worse: the film is aggressively homophobic in addition to misandrist. Watch the film's pretentious fans defend the homophobia by saying the gay guy was a "symbol". Then come some of the most disgusting things ever shown on screen, not as bad as Serbian Movie but still deplorable. If you find this film "artistic" you must be cinematically sheltered.
½ August 31, 2013
Seemed interesting at first, yet it was nothing special at all. Actually the movie seemed somewhat homophobic, as it was trying to say that gay men are in a way terrified of the female body and sexuality. Some of the scenes were memorable, mostly because of their shock value, not because of some deeper meaning (or maybe they had some meaning which I wasn't interested in enough to understand).

In the end the movie seemed like a waste of time and mild disappointment, since it did a poor job at delivering what was trying to be portrayed, nor did it stimulate any interest in me to search for deeper meaning in the plot.
April 15, 2013
Quando um filme arty internacional é literalmente filmado a quatro minutos do sítio onde moramos, é natural que a curiosidade seja enorme. O "Anatomie de l'enfer" foi em grande parte filmado no interior de um grande casarão por cima da Praia do Sul, da Ericeira, e é como se isso nunca tivesse acontecido. Percebe-se o porquê disso ao ver um filme que deve ser das coisas mais viscerais alguma vez filmadas em Portugal com direito a exibição em sala. A história é esquelética e o que alimenta o filme é mesmo o seu texto profundamente filosófica adaptado a partir de um livro da própria realizadora Chaterine Breillat. Os melhores momentos do Rocco Siffredi acontecem quando é chamado a fazer aquilo que faz a tempo inteiro (foder) e nem tanto quando tem de ser expressivo. Apesar de algumas cenas risíveis e de nem sempre ter estaleca para tudo o que quer dizer e sugerir sobre como é complexo o fosso emocional entre os sexos, "Anatomie de l'enfer" é melhor do que fazem crer muitas das críticas que o arrasaram quando estreou. Nem sequer sou muito adepto daqueles filmes teatrais, em que cada linha é pronunciada como se estivesse a ser lida a partir de um livro, mas este tem qualquer coisa de muito importante a dizer e uma ou outra vez anda perto da super-intimidade d' "O Império dos Sentidos". E isso não acontece todos os dias.
April 15, 2013
Y-U-C-K ! .. and that's a compliment!
½ March 12, 2013
I had mixed emotions about this film. It kept shifting between a clinical sex-ed experiment and long diatribes asserting vague, sweeping diagnoses of misogyny and its roots. Ultimately, it feels like the intent of a bitter (female) director to use psychoanalysis to analyze the plight of women (a common but reductive and interpretive method), while the film itself mostly just works as a source of sadistic, voyeuristic pleasure. By the end the audience is just left confused.
January 7, 2013
This movie is F*CK*D UP! A must see!
October 18, 2012
One of the strangest films I've seen, an overintellectualisation of sex... in which a woman gets a man to spend 4 nights with her and they increasingly explore the nature of sex... or perhaps of the politics of the female body.
It will put off all but the most dedicated of film watchers as (and I don't usually include spoilers) they have sex (erect penises and all) during her period, tampons going in and out and he withdraws covered in her blood.
As I said, it's not for everyone...
Is it gratuitous?
Probably; in equal amounts to its pretentiousness. But that doesn't leave it completely without merit.
Give me a while and I might come up with the merit.
½ October 16, 2012
I don't get Anatomy of Hell. It seems to be preaching something, but I'll be damned if I can figure out what. And even if I could figure out the "what", I would still point to the lack of character as being a major strike against it. Without characters (and the wooden tropes portrayed by Amira Casar and Rocco Siffredi do not count), this is simply message and image. And, as mentioned before, the message is incomprehensible, at least to my eyes. And the image is just nakedness and acts of nakedness. Which is basically what this boils down to.
½ October 10, 2012
An eccentric movie. A Misogynist meets a narcissus(imo). The movie is good in parts..the effort to generate a feeling of revulsion towards another's body comes across well.
September 3, 2012
Catherine Breillat's startlingly original film about female sexuality. she gives us a man and a woman engaged in a bruising slugfest hinged to sexual difference. it's also one of the most groundbreaking films in recent memory in terms of both the explicitness of its sexuality and its commitment to such an austere intellectual discourse. No wonder Rocco looks so shell-shocked: this is sex not as comedy, but as the deepest, darkest male nightmare.
½ August 1, 2012
Almost puked twice, this movie deserves negative 4 stars. Dude drinks a glass of water with a used tampon in it....enough said
½ July 23, 2012
This isn't a movie it's porn!
½ July 23, 2012
great movie for those interested in CRAP
June 6, 2012
Hum. Franchement, ça commençait bien, c'était mon genre, ça reflétait une poésie indéfinie par l'image.

Mais le développement du film est tellement lent que j'ai passé le reste du film à bailler. Tandis que la peur me tiraillait au début de l'histoire, c'est l'ennui qui me guettait un peu avant la moitié du film. Ce n'est pas aussi gratuit que je le croyais, puisque le film est davantage un traité de philosophie féministe, bien que, selon moi, totalement innofensif et n'apportant que très peu de bonnes idées.

Bref, aucune scène ne m'a choqué (je ne comprends pas ce qu'il y a de choquant dans ce film, franchement... je m'attendais à l'enfer), les dialogues étaient vides parce qu'ils étaient trop lourds, la construction de l'histoire était affreuse et n'amenait à rien.

Finalement, je me retrouve avec un beau mal de tête et une sublime envie d'aller faire un gros dodo. Ciao.
May 30, 2012
None of it bothers me. I like Catherine Breillat's intentions, her unapologatic and unconventional filmmaking that challenges the big dogs (Men). The controversy she spurs is also a plus. If you're familiar with editing techniques, some of the gross-out imagery in this movie will not get to you, though I read that the sex was unsimulated (!) Its problem was its stationary anatomical dissection. I deduce simply from the title because I had some effing bad fansubs (Need to rewatch), which means a lot of the dialogue I didn't fully comprehend. But I saw enough to make me decide it's badly put together. The script and ending have no true dedication, the actors are there so that Breillat can just teach audiences with them, as though they were puppets.
Page 1 of 11