Angel of Evil - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Angel of Evil Reviews

Page 1 of 1
May 15, 2014
Gritty, but not that engaging.

Had the makings of a good Scarface-like crime-drama, but ultimately was disappointing. Story just wasn't that enthralling, or engaging. Is pretty much a join-the-dots blow-by-blow account of a crime lord's life. Little depth to the characters.

Has some good action scenes and is quite gritty, but the movie lacks substance.

Decent performances, however. Kim Rossi Stuart is great in the lead role. Supporting cast are solid too. Moritz Bleibtrau and Paz Vega will be familiar names to many viewers.
July 16, 2013
good gangster bio-pic, of sorts
Super Reviewer
January 13, 2013
Stylish, thrilling true-crime film based on the story of Italian mobster Renato Vallanzasca. Charismatically played by the superb Kim Rossi Stuart, there's validity in the argument that the film glamourises, sometimes even approves of his crimes. But there's real technical skill in front and behind of the camera and as a piece of cinema it's quite something.
November 1, 2012
Un film che vuole raccontare una storia tipicamente italiana con metodi non da cinema italiano (o almeno non il cinema che si vede negli ultimi anni). Il risultato e' un film ben realizzato per quanto riguarda l'ambientazione, secondo me meno riuscita per quanto riguarda la storia. Secondo me troppo incentrata sul personaggio e poco su cosa Vallanzasca abbia rappresentato per l'epoca, come si muoveva la malavita di allora etc. Se il film si potesse riassumere con un'inquadratura sarebbe un primissimo piano, ma forse in questo caso era meglio allargare il campo.
P.s. per essere un gangster movie e' un po' lungo e un po' lento, ci sono le scene di azione ma vengono solo viste di sfuggita per poi beccarsi le lunghe sequenze di lui in carcere e le lotte fratricide.
½ October 27, 2012
Basically an Italian Mesrine, except he lives to make recycled bags. A bit too long, but it's a great ride. It's amazing how inept the guards are and how supportive his parents are after all he's done. That's amore!
½ February 29, 2012
√? sempre pericoloso mitizzare i criminali, e noi italiani siamo anche fin troppo bravi a farlo. Capisco farne un film biografia, ma da questo film Vallanzasca esce quasi come un eroe. Non esattamente l'idea del secolo. C'√® da dire almeno era ben fatto e divertente.
February 15, 2012
This Italian gangster biopic flick is a weak Mesrine wannabe.

The film documents the story of young criminal RENATO who believes 'I was born to be a thief!'. He is in prison telling his tale and justifying who he is, an unsuccessful bank robber, with this being the sad true story of an imprisoned criminal.

The film borders on being flashy, glamorous, in a 70's style with an annoyingly macho lead and simple support cast. It is sexually charged, with your token and rather poor shoot outs, patchy action, low level dialogue, and shallow characters - all screaming low budget dross.

This is definitely a weak Mesrine gangster movie - lacking a powerful and likeable main lead, gloss, finish, quality, aspiration and self confidence. EA is light, self indulged and debatably nothing new or interesting. It is a shame, and Italian film quality appears even sparser nowadays.
January 10, 2012
Film sur le Mesrine italien... un peu moins r√ (C)ussi que les films de Richet aussi.
November 7, 2011
If like me you were a big fan of Mesrine ,Carlos and The Baader Meinhoff Complex then this film has plenty going for it.

Based on the criminal life of Renato Vallanzasca the film shos how he became a media celebity robbing banks and killing policemen.

His gang are all a touch on the demented side and the robberys sometimes develop into farce as his crew have problems coping .

Kim Rossi Stewart is great in the lead role ,i knew he would be as i had seen him in the film Romanzo Criminale which happens to be directed by Michele Placido as well.

Unlike that film the story strand is focused and at times brutal as the gang carve thier way across Italy .

The final third of the film is more a prison drama as we folow Vallanzasca around some of Italys Toughest prisons.

The film is fine and shows again that the Europeans can match America in the action thriller stakes.
June 12, 2011
if you like movies like public enemy no1 you will like this one for sure
June 6, 2011
Italian movie about infamous master criminal Renato Vallanzasca. A little overly macho with his sex appeal seemingly as exaggerated as his violence. Biography runs a little overly long, especially in the opening half that lays out his crimes and early time in jail. In the end, still a pretty good story.
½ May 29, 2011
I didn't know anything about Renato Vallanzasca, the charismatic Italian mobster, before I watched Angels of Evil and I can't say I know a great deal about him after watching this clumsy, clichéd biopic. First and foremost the dialogue is dreadful, this coupled with two-dimensional performances makes comparisons with A Prophet and Gomorrah laughable. A closer comparison would be Mesrine but lacks the bite and charm that made it's French counterpart a compelling watch.

Not Great.
½ May 29, 2011
I didn't know anything about Renato Vallanzasca, the charismatic Italian mobster, before I watched Angels of Evil and I can't say I know a great deal about him after watching this clumsy self-indulgent biopic. First and foremost the dialogue is rather dreadful, this coupled with two-dimensional performances make comparisons with A Prophet and Gomorrah laughable. What Angels of Evil will undoubtably be compared to however is Mesrine but lacks the bite and charm that made its french counterpart a compelling watch.

Not Great.
½ May 27, 2011
More than faintly interminable... Much of it is carried in montage, which only adds to the sense the proficient Placido is coasting, although there are dubbed supporting roles for Bleibtreu and Vega to ensure or placate overseas investors. I liked the score - by Sugar SRL and Edizioni Curci, apparently - but it's otherwise undistinguished: lost in all the wild shouting and gesticulation - which really does seem like over-compensation for the rote material - is why the story of this particular scumbag needed telling, save perhaps to lend one of Italy's blandest leading men a certain bad-boy cred.
½ May 10, 2011
Kim Rossi Stuart has had enough similar maniac roles already, I think, especially when comes across unimpressive features, like this one.
February 19, 2011
Buon film, forse ho sentito troppi commenti entusiastici prima di vederlo... che strano l'accento milanese di Rossi Stuart, a tratti rasenta il ligure!
½ February 17, 2011
Placido riesce ad intrattenere per due ore anche se, purtroppo, siamo lontani da Romanzo Criminale. Kim Rossi Stuart bravissimo.
½ February 6, 2011
si, fatto bene, tiene sveglio. Non si lavora per niente sul personaggio, sempre se mai fosse interessante. Non merita nessuna polemica.
½ February 4, 2011
Sebbene vi siano meno personaggi che in "Romanzo Criminale", questo film risulta un po' meno compatto. Gli sceneggiatori non riescono a trasformare i singoli episodi in una storia, prediligendo un realismo rapsodico che non riesce a farsi epico. Placido predilige gli attori ai luoghi, ma il film risulta comunque efficace e interessante, e non lascia quel senso di aver sprecato due ore che lasciano di solito i film italiani.
February 4, 2011
I feel guilty to have personally add this movie on flixster with the sole purpose to tell everyone it sucks, but that's the truth: Vallanzasca is the scientific demonstration that Romanzo Criminale for Michele Placido was a big stroke of luck.
Page 1 of 1