Angela's Ashes - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Angela's Ashes Reviews

Page 1 of 5
March 17, 2011
A tedious, vastly disappointing film that does not do justice to the wonderful and touching book upon which it is based.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 14, 2007
Sometimes humorous and wholly inspiring tale.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 23, 2007
I enjoyed the relentless gloomy realism, the refusal to put a happy face on McCourt's miserable childhood.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 21, 2002
Misses the mark as an exceptional drama yet manages to vividly convey the soul-shattering effects of poverty.
August 2, 2002
Like bread without yeast, 'Angela's Ashes' minus the author's wit can't rise to meet expectations.
July 2, 2002
A dreary, ultimately punishing adaptation of Frank McCourt's memoir, where every other scene has somebody either getting sick, puking or dying.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
June 14, 2001
I am pleased to announce that this film is a fine, a beautiful presentation of a painful story.
Full Review| Original Score: 5
March 14, 2001
Alan Parker logra uno de sus mejores trabajos en lo que es un tributo al espíritu humano que ofrece lo mejor de sí en medio de las peores adversidades
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 27, 2001
a long, exhausting, almost completely humorless chronicle of misery, shame, and hardship
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
The film isn't wrenching enough to do it justice.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
Too much of it is admirable without necessarily being engaging, serving as a mere litany of childhood miseries.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 1, 2000
A quietly triumphant experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
The story of Frank McCourt's triumph makes it to the screen intact. It's the lyricism, the heartbeat, that seem to be missing.
January 1, 2000
Lacking a heart.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
I'm sure the producers of Angela's Ashes meant well, but they got the wrong guy to direct it.
Read More | Original Score: 3/10
January 1, 2000
Despite the grievous mood integral to telling the story of the McCourt family, Angela's Ashes never descends to a level of complete despondency.
January 1, 2000
I'm not sorry I saw it, but I wouldn't see it again.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 1, 2000
A well-crafted look at the hard childhood of Irish author Frank McCourt and his family.
January 1, 2000
Angela's Ashes is the soggiest dud of all the major holiday releases.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 1, 2000
The story lacks focused character conflict that would make it a truly fine cinematic experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 5