Animal Kingdom - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Animal Kingdom Reviews

Page 1 of 8
September 15, 2010
A surprisingly average crime drama that, despite some good ideas branching from its metaphorical title, is rarely as daring or engaging as it wants you to believe.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 7, 2015
But honestly, the film is lame.
August 8, 2010
Animal Kingdom wrongly assumes certain characters deserve empathy simply because they're protagonists.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 11, 2012
Just as the protagonist announces from the outset that crime doesn't pay, in Animal Kingdom grime doesn't play.
Full Review | Original Score: 63/100
August 10, 2010
Mich˘d wants a Greek epic but doesn't have the material.
April 28, 2015
Artful to a fault, straining so hard for Shakespearean import it saps whatever life and energy there was to be had in this familiar, low-stakes tale.
August 9, 2010
more a trip to the petting zoo than a foray into the treacherous savannah of high and low crime
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 12, 2010
It's the script and the tone of the piece where my problems lie. I felt like I'd scene this picture before, had the overriding sense that I knew where it was heading and how things would all play themselves out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 28, 2013
Ben Mendelsohn steals the show. This man portrayed the most subtle creep I've seen on film in years. Animal Kingdom is a must see.
May 25, 2014
David Mich˘d's sensational directorial debut Animal Kingdom (2010) reinvigorated my faith that Australian cinema is capable of truly profound complexity.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 1, 2011
Writer/director David Mich˘d pumps the plot full of tension through layers of increasingly dangerous and volatile characters until it's almost unbearable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 13, 2013
Seldom is a debut feature handled with such assurance and intelligence
October 21, 2010
For anyone who still thinks Australia only produces boring films about the outback, Animal Kingdom should come as a welcome gunshot to the head.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 9, 2010
Writer/director David Mich˘d constructs a slippery narrative that consistently fools the audience about where the movie is heading. The result is part Donnie Brasco, part Godfather and more than a little bit Ma Barker.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 12, 2010
The authentic low-key vibe, marvellous characters, and killer cast make this the best Aussie film of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 27, 2010
The story meticulously unfurls like an apple carefully peeled in one long ribbon to reveal its rotten core.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 8, 2010
A slow-burning, nail-biting piece, Animal Kingdom is one of the best and most brutal Australian films in years.
June 3, 2010
The cinematography and the soundtrack to this film are exceptional, working with the slow pace of the film's beginning to make this 'not just another Aussie crime drama'.
August 13, 2010
This year's answer to The Hurt Locker when it comes to pure, unrelenting tension.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 25, 2010
It's an exceptional Australian film that will lurk in the shadows of your memory for a long time afterwards.
Page 1 of 8