Another Earth - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Another Earth Reviews

Page 1 of 7
July 25, 2011
If you take away the sci-fi hook, the movie becomes a pretty standard indie drama... and not a very good one at that.
September 8, 2013
Buried within Another Earth's framework is a wonderful sci-fi movie, but Cahill and Marling have unfortunately set it amongst this otherwise drab and predictable human drama.
August 17, 2011
The alternate-world device eventually provides for a poignant, effective ending -- which still can't make up for the manipulative misery preceding it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 13, 2011
I know that a lot of people have got a lot more out of Another Earth than I did, but it was too self-consciously indie for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 8, 2011
Without the other Earth playing a key role in the story, what's left is a generic tale of uninteresting characters trading fairly laboured dialogue.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 18, 2011
That Another Earth disappoints is crushing.
February 1, 2011
As a lo-fi chamber piece, Another Earth is okay, despite the knowledge that another, cooler movie is just around the corner.
Read More | Original Score: C+
August 12, 2011
In emphasizing poetry over plot, mood over mechanics, Another Earth fails to answer the most pressing question of all: Umm, why haven't the tides been affected?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 5, 2011
Pretentious twaddle that's tough to sit through but does provoke thought.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 19, 2011
Unable to organically incorporate their Big Ideas into the narrative, the filmmakers lazily lay them on top, leaving the exposition of Another Earth's structuring fantasy to a blanket of background voiceover.
March 25, 2011
I didn't hate Another Earth so much as I found it to have begun with a fascinating sci fi premise only to produce, ultimately, a conventional relationship film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
October 4, 2012
I didn't hate Another Earth so much as I found it to have begun with a fascinating sci fi premise only to produce, ultimately, a conventional relationship film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
August 5, 2011
Some movies hold up to repeat viewings; Another Earth barely survives one.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 8, 2011
Cahill selects a waltz with depression, creating a film built almost entirely out of thousand-yard stares and dreary monologues...utterly satisfied to offer viewers so little to work with.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
August 11, 2011
... a grungy, lugubrious art-house Plan 9 from Outer Space ...
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
December 8, 2011
The camerawork and acting are both "handheld": wobbly, ill-focused, exploratory, uncertain where to go next.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 11, 2011
In space, no one can hear you scream, but in "Another Earth," no one can hear you mumble.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 21, 2011
A somewhat nauseating blend of sensitivity and entitlement - sublime because it says so.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.5/10
July 21, 2011
An ambitious drama that aims too high and isn't able to connect all the pieces of the puzzle it presents.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 9, 2011
I like the concept... Neat-o, if entirely outlandish... The problem is, screenwriters Brit Marling and Mike Cahill -- she also stars; he also directs -- don't know where to take it beyond that initial premise.
Page 1 of 7