Another Year - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Another Year Reviews

Page 1 of 9
November 28, 2010
Another Year may be (Leigh's) most accomplished work as a framer of images, such is the apparent ease with which he captures the interplay of his cast, but it may also be his least affecting study as a class-based character piece.
February 4, 2011
Despite Lesley Manville's terrific performance, Mike Leigh's latest drags on an on.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 4, 2011
Leigh's Oscar-nominated script isn't so much plot-driven as it is character-driven. Given that there's little arc to any of these characters, it is less than rewarding.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 21, 2011
Filmmaker Mike Leigh has said he's interested in "what happens to ordinary people." If I want to hear from "ordinary people," I'll go to my local doughnut shop.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
December 29, 2010
I haven't seen a film this year that so openly invited me to revile each and every one of its characters -- and I reviewed The Human Centipede.
January 15, 2011
Few characters experience anything interesting; this family clearly has a history, but it needs more present.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 6, 2011
While Leigh painfully and redundantly spells out Mary's problems, he leaves the supposedly happy couple either as an enigma or anemically underwritten.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 3, 2015
This movie makes me want to avoid my married friends.
July 6, 2010
Acutely observed but gloomy and lacking narrative, it tells of 12 months in the life of a decent but dull suburban couple and their friends, most of whom you would go out of your way to avoid at a party.
January 20, 2011
To not give Mary even the smallest of catharses is creatively pretentious, cruel to her and unfair to the audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 29, 2010
It might be Leigh's worst film. That is not the worst thing you can ever say about a film by a filmmaker as efficient and prolific as Leigh, but it is disappointing.
March 14, 2011
Actors will tell you that Leigh's method gives their characters a hinterland. Why is it, then, that they so often look to me like exaggerated caricatures?
November 8, 2010
The film itself seems to suffocate under a smog of self-satisfied superiority.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 11, 2016
Mike Leigh doesn't do thrill rides or happily ever afters, and this character-driven drama marks no new territory for the director. But it may just be his best film yet.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 9, 2013
Another Year is an extremely accessible and gripping film with beautifully observed character moments and outstanding performances by a superb cast, especially Leslie Manville who shines as Mary.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
June 29, 2011
Leigh creates a fascinating diorama in which life-long and contented couple Tom and Gerri sit in sympathy and in judgement on the lonely friends that orbit them.
April 29, 2011
Mike Leigh is a master of bringing awkward characters to life and making them sympathetic.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 10, 2011
Evidently, Mike Leigh shows no signs of slowing down as he -- like his characters in Another Year -- ventures close to old age.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 28, 2010
Well observed and bittersweet, Another Year is close enough to our own lives to make it uncomfortable to watch, which makes it both unique and necessary.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
November 4, 2010
Told over four acts (one for each season), Leigh and his note perfect cast have crafted a bitterly funny tale of sadness and frustration, where life, contrary to what Leigh's earlier film titles suggest, is rarely sweet or happy-go-lucky.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 9