Antebellum Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 3, 2020
Monae has had a wonderful career as a singer/songwriter and is beginning to come into her own as an actress.
October 23, 2020
At its heart, and at its best, Antebellum is a grand play on what we know people really mean when they shout to "Make America Great Again."
October 14, 2020
Audacious, compelling, and technically stunning
October 5, 2020
Without a doubt, Janelle Monae is building an impressive career. [Full Review in Spanish]
October 2, 2020
Besides the sloppy editing of the 1st and 2nd act, count me in for any slave movie where the Black People fight back!
September 25, 2020
The cinematography by Pedro Luque and period sets are stunning, and Monáe carries it all off successfully. But overall, the film's more intriguing for the horrors it touches upon than the sense of eerie thrills it tries to conjure.
September 25, 2020
A passable thriller to watch at home, despite biting more than it can chew. [Full Review in Spanish]
September 24, 2020
Antebellum is a film that keeps your eyes glued, your attention rapt and your heart pounding until that final moment that makes everything crystal clear.
September 24, 2020
This is a harsh depiction of slavery, full of violent words and actions. And the story is told with surprising jumps and twists. But the overall metaphor is so on-the-nose that its impact is muted.
September 24, 2020
It's all very messy and exploitative... But what Antebellum does well is maintain the viewer's interest. [Full review in Spanish]
September 22, 2020
What sticks is haunting, daring and unflinching...unapologetically bold...
September 22, 2020
Brutal slavery horror pic has cool twists but lacks depth.
September 19, 2020
It is not subtle about what it is saying and what it is doing, but there are a lot of positives.
September 19, 2020
Even if we didn't live in a country where a shockingly large fraction of people think Confederate monuments are A-O.K., Gerard Bush and Christopher Renz's Antebellum would resonate like the boom of a Union Army cannon.
September 19, 2020
A throwback to exploitation films, it's uncomfortable but works as a horror romp.
September 19, 2020
I do think there's a lot of individual work on display here that really does deserve praise.
September 18, 2020
While the ads had me expecting something akin to a mix of Get Out and the original Jacob's Ladder, what we end up with is more Get Out Lite.
September 18, 2020
It proves a disappointment, especially in its time-bending revelations, and even its strong performances and stylish direction can't quite save the experience.
September 18, 2020
Decent, but likely better had it somehow leaned into the supernatural rather than follow the now all too predictable Shyamalan playbook. (Full Content Review for Parents - Violence, Profanity, etc. - also Available)
September 17, 2020
An imaginative, if imperfect, attempt to convey the reality of racism in America from the beginnings to our days of rejuvenated white supremacism.
Page 1 of 3