Antiviral - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Antiviral Reviews

Page 1 of 5
May 23, 2017
I respect ANTIVIRAL, but I can't say I liked it. But then again, I'm not sure it wants to be liked. In fact, I believe it's trying very hard to make you not like it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 24, 2015
A tough, almost willfully difficult movie, but it's fascinating more often than it is dramatically off-putting.
July 15, 2015
Antiviral is what happens when you make a movie around a fleetingly interesting idea but forget to find a story in it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 16, 2014
...a ridiculous and flat-out dumb premise that's employed to terminally underwhelming effect by Cronenberg...
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
November 25, 2013
With an obsession for close-ups of needles piercing skin, Antiviral leaves one with a OCD-style desire to wash ones hands... the overreaching success of the film lies in its believable depiction of a culture slowly rotting at the core.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 12, 2013
The script is thin but effectively creepy as it examines contemporary pop culture obsessions while maximizing the queasy close-ups of needles, blood and medical procedures.
May 11, 2013
How sick can fans of a celebrity get? Very, answers "Antiviral." Imagine fan fetish culture metastasizing. A pox on consumers and capitalists alike, Brandon Cronenberg sneers.
May 6, 2013
Our Lindsay Lohan-obsessed culture gets its comeuppance in this surgically precise satire.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 4, 2013
As pretentious as it is boring.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
April 30, 2013
Brandon (son of David) Cronenberg demonstrates that the diseased tumor doesn't fall far from the infected corpse, so to speak: He's delivered a movie of smart, satirical science-fiction concepts and disturbing, sometimes bloody images.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 25, 2013
A gutsy, notable debut for a young filmmaker who needs to find a unique voice to match his unique ideas.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 25, 2013
The metaphors are maybe too clear (there's a food product grown from celebrity muscle cells), but the filmmaking is solid, using a nearly monochrome palette for its sleek dystopia.
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 20, 2013
Originality is a rare commodity in art, so when something fresh and unexpected comes my way, it's cause for celebration. Brandon Cronenberg's Antiviral is cause for celebration.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
April 20, 2013
Cronenberg Jnr has created a reality that makes the skin crawl. Satire, horror and sci-fi meld into one delectably gruesome tale in which Caleb Landry Jones' pasty protagonist spends most of the film clutching a thermometer, syringe and a vial of blood
April 20, 2013
Cronenberg Jnr has created a reality that makes the skin crawl. Satire, horror and sci-fi meld into one delectably gruesome tale in which Caleb Landry Jones' pasty protagonist spends most of the film clutching a thermometer, syringe and a vial of blood
April 19, 2013
If Cronenberg's not yet a dead ringer for his iconic dad, he's taken an intriguing first step.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
April 18, 2013
While Brandon Cronenberg surely lives up to the family name, I can't prescribe Antiviral to anyone needing an exciting sci-fi fix.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
April 18, 2013
The pace is uneven, the energy sluggish (even the arrival of Malcolm McDowell in the third act doesn't pep things up) and the film feels overlong.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
April 18, 2013
Undoubtedly a challenging watch, but it's helped greatly by beautiful cinematography and music.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 18, 2013
If weirdness was all that mattered, Antiviral would be a must-see.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 5