Anything Goes - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Anything Goes Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ November 18, 2016
Disappointing musical with Bing Croscy and Donald O'Connor. The songs are utterly forgetable and the weak plot is a head shaker.
August 30, 2015
This is a Donald O'Connor film start to finish. He steals the show here from Bing Crosby just as he does from Gene Kelly over in Singin' In The Rain. I'm surprised that they went with Jeanmaire, rather than someone like Cyd Charise. Bing's chemistry here with O'Connor is just as smooth as over in White Christmas with Danny Kaye. The formula is pretty similar. Hijinks ensue.
½ April 30, 2015
This movie wasn't not as good as I thought it would be. The two men were excellent and the role. The American woman break dancer her singing was a little pitching. The French woman was horrible bad dancing best singing and if she wasn't French and pretending to be her accent was horrible.
September 5, 2014
A good musical gets a decent movie adaptation nothing special but it is fun
½ August 17, 2014
Bing & Donald O'Connor always make for a good time!
February 18, 2014
At first I thought Anything Goes was gonna be like the broadway musical,apparently not. Anything Goes is nothing like the
April 2, 2013
A disappointing flop with no real tie to the play at all.
November 26, 2011
same songs and color but i still prefer the 1936 version of this
November 24, 2011
I've always enjoyed this musical. It isn't top form, but it has some very good moments. The songs are great, the cast are credible, but there is just something missing - maybe a spark, something intangibly more....That said, Bing Crosby, DOnald O'Conner and Mitzi Gaynor are reliably great with what they do. Zizi Jeanmaire, well, that's the issue with this production - it feels like she was totally repressed, as if she wanted to bust out all over the place, and so many times her performance feels pressured and forced. Too bad, she's adorable. Overall, a good and diverting musical!
November 24, 2011
Gonna Watch it tonight!!! sooo happyyy
November 20, 2011
They threw out the original's story for another rehashed story about people trying to produce a show, barely able to connect the songs together. Watch the original. Better yet, get tickets for the play.
January 13, 2011
Although it doesn't follow the stage production faithfully, it manages to fit almost all the big numbers in, and you get to see Bing and Donald ham it up.
July 17, 2010
Liked this movie, love musicals and hearing the song 'De-lovely'. Overall, thought it to be a light hearted musical.
May 11, 2010
I really enjoyed this movie, mainly becuase of Crosby and O'Connor's chemistry. It made the movie fun to watch. The songs by Cole Porter will surely entertain the viewer.
May 3, 2010
If it ain't broke, break it! This film just doesn't work on so many levels. A lackluster film version of the stage musical had been done in 1936... it is puzzling why they would decide to "remake" it, and in the process remake the same mistakes (and then some) from the first go-round. One of the critiques of the 1936 version was that Cole Porter's score was hacked down to the main popular songs, and other songs were written by lesser composers that didn't have the same impact. Well, guess what they did again in 1956? BUT -- to add insult to injury, they also abandoned the original stage script by Guy Bolton & P. G. Wodehouse & Howard Lindsay & Russell Crouse and wrote a completely new story. And a lame one at that: Two guys are co-starring in a show, and inadvertently they both hire leading ladies, ending up with one actress too many. As they contend with whom to fire, they each fall in love with the other's hire. The solution is so mind-numbingly obvious, the film has no surprises. The only thing I enjoyed (but still found not used to full effect) was the device of the foreign sailors walking in front of Crosby and O'Connor, drowning out the 'brilliant' plans being hatched behind them. Beyond that, the stars are fine, they can sing and dance, but we've seen them all do this schtick before to greater effect in much better films.
March 7, 2010
Despite the talents of Danny Kaye, Bing Crosby and Mitzi Gaynor, this Cole Porter inspired effort is rather dull - the direction by Robert Lewis is too static and workmanlike, while the production numbers lack oomph. However, French ballet dancer Zizi Jeanmarie is rather slinky and sexy in her version of 'I Get A Kick Out Of You'.
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ December 16, 2009
The music is great and it has Bing and Donald O'Connor but some spark is just missing from this. Jeanmarie might be a super dancer but lacks any real star charisma and Mitzi's eyebrows at certain points have to be seen to be believed! Not terrible but a miss.
September 18, 2009
Not a bad film, good in places.
½ July 11, 2009
I did enjoy this movie - well almost all of it. I didn't actually like the leading ladies, but I loved Donald O'Conner and Bing Crosby. But it was a good movie overall.
Page 1 of 3