Apocalypse Now - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Apocalypse Now Reviews

December 18, 2015
It's the cumulative effect generated by mixing richly portentous imagery with absurdly portentous prose, starkly portentous sound and flatulently portentous music.
August 14, 2015
Certainly, no movie in history has ever presented stronger proof that war is living hell.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 25, 2011
A film of pure sensation, dazzling audiences with light and noise, laying bare the stark horror - and unimaginable thrill - of combat.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 2, 2007
Alternately a brilliant and bizarre film, Francis Coppola's four year 'work in progress' offers the definitive validation to the old saw, 'war is hell.'
February 9, 2006
...it's wonderful to see this hallucinatory folly-cum-near masterpiece again on the big screen.
July 21, 2005
Apocalypse Now did help provide me, and many of my generation, with a vision of what film art could achieve, a vision so magnificent it doomed us to spend much of our subsequent moviegoing lives in a funk.
December 31, 2003
...Coppola's sprawling, harrowing war story is not to be missed.
January 17, 2002
Apocalypse Now is a mixed bag, a product of excess and ambition, hatched in agony and redeemed by shards of brilliance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 17, 2002
The opening, with the whirling sound of choppers intercut with Willard sweating angst in his Saigon hotel bed, a jungle burning with napalm...remains a visual and aural wonder.
January 17, 2002
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
January 17, 2002
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
January 17, 2002
What the excitement was about was the unspoken belief that this film would put a cap on the most exciting decade in American film, that it would sum up everything that had come before and influence everything that came after...
January 17, 2002
...the movie still has the power to floor you with its stunning sounds and imagery.
January 15, 2002
As technically complex and masterful as any war film I can remember.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 11, 2001
There are worse ways to make movies, but there are a lot of better ones too.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
The film has one of the most haunting endings in cinema, a poetic evocation of what Kurtz has discovered, and what we hope not to discover for ourselves.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4