Arctic Tale - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Arctic Tale Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
April 28, 2009
The photography of Arctic Tale is what makes it so good. The nature documentary style of this movie is brilliant and breathtaking at times.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Alicia Potter
Boston Phoenix
April 23, 2009
This effort soundly delivers the inconvenient truth to the generation who'll inherit it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Kit Bowen
Hollywood.com
November 20, 2008
Overall, Arctic Tale's one true message is clear: Stop global warming before it's too late.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Neil Smith
BBC.com
February 12, 2008
Partnering its ursine heroine's progress with that of a female walrus calf, Adam Ravetch and Sarah Robertson's documentary combines stunning wildlife footage with an environmental message.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
February 11, 2008
The filmmakers probably thought the truth would be too upsetting for children, so we get walrus farts instead.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matthew Turner
ViewLondon
February 7, 2008
A blatant attempt to cash in on the success of March of the Penguins, this wildlife documentary is stunningly photographed, but the attempts at anthropomorphism are frequently irritating.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Brian Webster
Apollo Guide
December 19, 2007
Well intentioned, spectacularly filmed, and packing a vital message, Arctic Tale is worthwhile, even if its old style presentation leaves us less than thrilled.
| Original Score: 72/100
S. Jhoanna Robledo
Common Sense Media
October 22, 2007
Kid-friendly film serves up inconvenient truth.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Stina Chyn
Film Threat
October 16, 2007
Putting an animal's face to global warming is conceptually smart and would've been more effective if it were applied to other species in other climate zones too.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Roger Tennis
Cinemaclips.com
September 13, 2007
As a baby boomer myself, "Arctic Tale" falls just short of the Disney gems. But the aquatic adventures of the walruses alone get my seal of approval.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/5
Ron Wilkinson
Monsters and Critics
September 7, 2007
Although lacking the lyric force of March of the Penguins and Winged Migration, the film combines a great story with world-class photography to tell a unique National Geographic tale.
| Original Score: 7/10
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
August 28, 2007
It makes you extremely grateful that Smell-O-Vision was never perfected.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
August 25, 2007
If it's sometimes a little too pat, a little too cute, bear in mind that this film's target audience is the post-Barney, pre-Bratz set and not John James Audubon.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
August 22, 2007
I'm willing to overlook some lowest-common-denominator idiocy in favor of some well-produced nature photography.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
August 17, 2007
...sometimes the contrivance is obvious.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Steven D. Greydanus
Decent Films Guide
August 17, 2007
The heavy-handed ideology and flawed narration don't commend Arctic Tale as a movie I would care to watch repeatedly, but I'm glad I saw it once, for the spectacular photography.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Peter Debruge
Miami Herald
August 17, 2007
Make no mistake, Arctic Tale is a stunning film, full of all the astonishing, even breathtaking nature photography we've come to expect from the folks at National Geographic.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
August 17, 2007
It's aimed at kids, and it hits them squarely: My 6-year-old and his friend sat stock still, hypnotized.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
August 17, 2007
Arctic Tale does afford us some beautiful landscape cinematography and up-close looks at creatures in the wild...
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
August 17, 2007
There's no Jane Goodall required. And the absence of humans proves we needn't be onscreen to make our presence known.
| Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 5