Arctic Tale - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Arctic Tale Reviews

Page 1 of 5
November 3, 2016
"It's a playful study of Arctic life, starring a polar bear cub, its prey, and a tagalong fox -- with the inevitable dramatic moments when bear meets walrus."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 28, 2009
The photography of Arctic Tale is what makes it so good. The nature documentary style of this movie is brilliant and breathtaking at times.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 23, 2009
This effort soundly delivers the inconvenient truth to the generation who'll inherit it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 20, 2008
Overall, Arctic Tale's one true message is clear: Stop global warming before it's too late.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 12, 2008
Partnering its ursine heroine's progress with that of a female walrus calf, Adam Ravetch and Sarah Robertson's documentary combines stunning wildlife footage with an environmental message.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 11, 2008
The filmmakers probably thought the truth would be too upsetting for children, so we get walrus farts instead.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 7, 2008
A blatant attempt to cash in on the success of March of the Penguins, this wildlife documentary is stunningly photographed, but the attempts at anthropomorphism are frequently irritating.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 19, 2007
Well intentioned, spectacularly filmed, and packing a vital message, Arctic Tale is worthwhile, even if its old style presentation leaves us less than thrilled.
Read More | Original Score: 72/100
October 22, 2007
Kid-friendly film serves up inconvenient truth.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 16, 2007
Putting an animal's face to global warming is conceptually smart and would've been more effective if it were applied to other species in other climate zones too.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 13, 2007
As a baby boomer myself, "Arctic Tale" falls just short of the Disney gems. But the aquatic adventures of the walruses alone get my seal of approval.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/5
September 7, 2007
Although lacking the lyric force of March of the Penguins and Winged Migration, the film combines a great story with world-class photography to tell a unique National Geographic tale.
| Original Score: 7/10
August 28, 2007
It makes you extremely grateful that Smell-O-Vision was never perfected.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 25, 2007
If it's sometimes a little too pat, a little too cute, bear in mind that this film's target audience is the post-Barney, pre-Bratz set and not John James Audubon.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 22, 2007
I'm willing to overlook some lowest-common-denominator idiocy in favor of some well-produced nature photography.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
August 17, 2007
...sometimes the contrivance is obvious.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 17, 2007
The heavy-handed ideology and flawed narration don't commend Arctic Tale as a movie I would care to watch repeatedly, but I'm glad I saw it once, for the spectacular photography.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
August 17, 2007
Make no mistake, Arctic Tale is a stunning film, full of all the astonishing, even breathtaking nature photography we've come to expect from the folks at National Geographic.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 17, 2007
It's aimed at kids, and it hits them squarely: My 6-year-old and his friend sat stock still, hypnotized.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 17, 2007
Arctic Tale does afford us some beautiful landscape cinematography and up-close looks at creatures in the wild...
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 5