Argo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Argo Reviews

Page 3 of 16
Chris Knight
National Post
January 10, 2014
The film hits most of its comic notes on the backs of two Hollywood old-timers played by Alan Arkin and John Goodman, who clearly relish the opportunity to lampoon people they work with every day.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Eric D. Snider
Movies.com
July 20, 2013
This is mature, invigorating stuff, alternately tense, funny, stirring and ultimately very satisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Will Leitch
Deadspin
June 23, 2013
This is premium, breathless entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Top Critic
David Thomson
The New Republic
June 14, 2013
Entertaining and suspenseful in old-fashioned ways.
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
May 13, 2013
A superior effort in which Affleck seldom fails to maintain suspense.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
March 31, 2013
The film, for all its ample smarts and solid academic craft, is just a great time at the movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Sean Axmaker
Parallax View
March 24, 2013
... a terrific piece of filmmaking.
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
March 21, 2013
Ben Affleck is one of this generation's best directors and "Argo" is a tight, engaging thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Jeremy Lebens
We Got This Covered
February 23, 2013
Argo is director Ben Affleck's weakest effort by far, but still a well-made, performance-driven historical drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
William Bibbiani
CraveOnline
February 19, 2013
The only reason to watch Argo is because it's heavily padded, and while it works pretty well regardless, I wouldn't hold that up as an example of high quality filmmaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
February 11, 2013
Ben Affleck is a director who appreciates the art of storytelling and masters the rare virtue of restraint...
Sam Bathe
Fan The Fire
January 20, 2013
The sky's the limit for Ben Affleck right now, and its nothing less than he deserves.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Richard Schickel
Truthdig
January 8, 2013
The picture finds a way to blend, of all things, quite funny Hollywood comedy -- yes, you read that right -- with not-so-funny derring-do in Tehran.
Norman Wilner
NOW Toronto
January 8, 2013
Affleck spins the absurd true story into an engrossing espionage thriller that would be utterly ridiculous if the stakes weren't literally life-or-death.
| Original Score: 4/5
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out Chicago
January 8, 2013
After Gone Baby Gone, The Town and now this directorial-best, Affleck is establishing himself as a major craftsman.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Tom Charity
CNN.com
January 4, 2013
Affleck himself turns in a quietly impressive movie star performance. Tony Mendez is a kind of anti-Bourne, comfortable with his anonymity, living off his wits, not his fists.
Kirk Baird
Toledo Blade
January 4, 2013
Affleck inserts such thoughtful commentary and ideas unobtrusively into his film; there's no ideological ball-peen hammer from the filmmaker to drive his beliefs into the audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Charles Ealy
Austin American-Statesman
January 4, 2013
Argo expertly builds tension and makes you wonder whether the mission will succeed.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
Peter Keough
Boston Phoenix
January 4, 2013
There are many heroes in Ben Affleck's spunky, polished political thriller. But the biggest hero is Hollywood itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
January 2, 2013
A strong yet uneven effort...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 3 of 16