Around the World in 80 Days - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Around the World in 80 Days Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 22, 2010
Mildly amusing Jackie Chan adventure.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mary Lasse
Christianity Today
November 1, 2006
I was amazed at how little actually happens for a movie with so much action.
| Original Score: 1/4
Uri Lessing
www.kcactive.com
July 25, 2005
It's ironic that this film is less about traveling and more about beating the crap out of people all over the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
February 9, 2005
The heart and soul of it, the story and the casting, are a complete mess.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
January 26, 2005
Se eu fosse descendente de Verne processaria os produtores desta adaptação pavorosa por mancharem o nome da família ao incluí-lo nos créditos iniciais.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
January 15, 2005
...Fogg essentially winds up playing second-banana to Passepartout - a disastrous choice that simply does not work.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
October 20, 2004
...just another adventure comedy built around Jackie Chan, this time with Verne's travelogue tenuously holding the action scenes together.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Shirley Sealy
Film Journal International
August 8, 2004
This purely satirical version sometimes works, and sometimes doesn't.
Tony Toscano
Talking Pictures (U.S.)
June 30, 2004
Jackie Chan ... is undermined by the film's lack of direction.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
June 30, 2004
Amiably dorky redo.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Thomas Delapa
Boulder Weekly
June 25, 2004
Phony, unfunny family entertainment...packs in almost every racial and cultural stereotype in the world.
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
June 25, 2004
Everything about this production seems tired.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 24, 2004
True to Walt's original vision for Walt Disney pictures...you can taste the corniness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Victoria Alexander
FilmsInReview.com
June 24, 2004
Jackie Chan is in a tiny tub with a man. Again.
Full Review
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
June 24, 2004
Once it settles down, 80 Days becomes a pretty enjoyable comic-action romp that's ultimately twice as much fun as a lot of technically better movies I could name.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters
June 23, 2004
The absolutely scariest scene in Around the World in 80 Days features Arnold Schwarzenegger.
Jonathan R. Perry
Tyler Morning Telegraph (Texas)
June 22, 2004
All my critical faculties tell me I shouldn't recommend it. But when I think of how often it I grinned (once a minute) and how often I checked my watch (never), I give up.
| Original Score: 3/4
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
June 22, 2004
The style of humor - with its forced high jinks and pathetic attempts at farce - is so aggressively outrageous that it ultimately becomes abusive to the audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
June 22, 2004
Director Frank Coraci plays fast and loose with Jules Verne's classic tome Around The World In 80 Days, but his adaptation never runs out of gas.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Peter Debruge
Premiere Magazine
June 22, 2004
You may be pleasantly surprised by just how good this remake of the Jules Verne classic really is.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 7