Around the World in 80 Days - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Around the World in 80 Days Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 22, 2010
Mildly amusing Jackie Chan adventure.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Shirley Sealy
Film Journal International
August 8, 2004
This purely satirical version sometimes works, and sometimes doesn't.
Matthew Turner
ViewLondon
July 10, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
June 30, 2004
Amiably dorky redo.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
June 24, 2004
Once it settles down, 80 Days becomes a pretty enjoyable comic-action romp that's ultimately twice as much fun as a lot of technically better movies I could name.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Jonathan R. Perry
Tyler Morning Telegraph (Texas)
June 22, 2004
All my critical faculties tell me I shouldn't recommend it. But when I think of how often it I grinned (once a minute) and how often I checked my watch (never), I give up.
| Original Score: 3/4
June 22, 2004
Director Frank Coraci plays fast and loose with Jules Verne's classic tome Around The World In 80 Days, but his adaptation never runs out of gas.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Peter Debruge
Premiere Magazine
June 22, 2004
You may be pleasantly surprised by just how good this remake of the Jules Verne classic really is.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Mike Sage
Peterborough This Week
June 21, 2004
The gargantuanly funny performance of Jim Broadbent as a deliciously greedy, quill-whipping maniac is worth the admission ticket alone.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/5
Austin O'Connor
Lowell Sun
June 21, 2004
...a pleasing mix of martial arts and madcap comedy, with a string of big-name cameos thrown in for good measure.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
June 20, 2004
Only a devotee of the original film or a hardcore sourpuss could find serious fault with this world romp.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
M.E. Russell
Oregonian
June 18, 2004
Works more often than it doesn't.
| Original Score: B
Timothy Knight
Reel.com
June 18, 2004
A colorful, fast-paced, and enjoyably old-fashioned adventure comedy.
| Original Score: 3/4
Boo Allen
Denton Record-Chronicle
June 18, 2004
Modest kid fare guaranteed not to make you think.
Full Review
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
June 18, 2004
Jackie Chan's colorful fight during a visit to an art gallery in Paris is one of his best.
Top Critic
Chuck Wilson
L.A. Weekly
June 17, 2004
Despite the rush to get everyone from place to place, director Frank Coraci luxuriates in colorful visual detail and gives the locals their due.
Nick Rogers
State Journal-Register (Springfield, IL)
June 17, 2004
It's fairly fast, zips some good zingers at the audience through Steve Coogan, and is just the sort of instantly forgettable fun parents can have with their kids.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
James Verniere
Boston Herald
June 17, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Kit Bowen
Hollywood.com
June 17, 2004
Around the World in 80 Days is like eating a candy bar--loaded with empty calories but also light and fluffy with a sweet Jackie Chan in the center.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Daniel M. Kimmel
Worcester Telegram & Gazette
June 16, 2004
Compared to the torture of sitting through Garfield, this... is a family movie that is the perfect summer distraction.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 7