Arrival - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Arrival Reviews

Page 1 of 18
April 11, 2018
Arrival is one of those films that awakens profound feeling. It is not just a science fiction film, but rather a story about beings and their ability to love unconditionally even if they are not from this planet. [Full Review in Spanish]
April 11, 2018
Simply a phenomenal, emotional rollercoaster of a movie that rightly deserves its spot as one of the finest movies of the past decade.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
January 26, 2018
Arrival is one of the most intriguing movies I've seen in 2016 -- great acting, great premise.
January 10, 2018
Villeneuve, who thus remains in the realm of the futuristic, has an artist's touch, and the future of American cinema definitely includes his arrival.
December 4, 2017
Arrival is another knockout from Villeneuve, and as fans of science fiction we should all be thrilled that he is the one tackling a Blade Runner sequel
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 2, 2017
Why is it that so many sci-fi heroines end up in their underwear? I wondered whether the sci-fi movie I was about to see would sexualize its female protagonist as well. I'm happy to report it doesn't.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
November 19, 2017
Arrival couldn't have arrived (pun intended) at a better time.
November 19, 2017
...this is a movie that will make you think...
November 6, 2017
The true purpose of these intelligent extra-terrestrial beings is a jaw-dropping reveal that warrants a repeat viewing to find all the breadcrumbs left in the lead up to the crescendo.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 17, 2017
It's intelligent, pleasingly complex and visually fascinating. In short, it's a sci-fi film for grown-ups, albeit, I should add, grown-ups of all ages.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 14, 2017
Arrival is the Platonic Ideal of mainstream filmmaking-a smart film that doesn't talk down to its audience and works as not only a science fiction film but also a thriller.
October 3, 2017
... Villeneuve cleverly uses the oldest means at his disposal-montage and storytelling-to produce a film that, in however modest a way, represents a valid chapter in science fiction's cinematic evolution.
September 20, 2017
... Arrival is an intimate and contemplative tale of one woman's journey of discovery while battling her own demons.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 19, 2017
... sometimes it's good when a film leaves you with more questions than answers when it's capable of doing so. That fact alone makes Arrival one of the best films of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 22, 2017
As timely as Arrival feels, there's an element of timelessness in the film-a sense of the legitimately profound that marks a true masterpiece of science-fiction.
August 17, 2017
In the event, this is a beautiful piece of filmmaking. The revelation is exhilarating, and it gives the viewer a sense of the profound.
August 15, 2017
Denis Villeneuve's new film Arrival does not offer any answers. But it does offer something else - a brief reprieve from the time we are all currently stuck in.
August 10, 2017
I think of Arrival in terms of color: the milky grays of the clouds rolling over the Montana plain; the bright blue of computer screens bouncing off the gray tents on the makeshift army compound.
August 1, 2017
While earlier Villeneuve films such as Prisoners and Sicario dealt respectively with grief and rage, then ignorance and revenge, Arrival is ultimately hopeful and constantly emphasizing the possible unification of language.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
June 28, 2017
Arrival is an emotionally involving science-fiction drama, which in its mood of cosmic anxiety, is closer in spirit to Steven Soderbergh's Solaris remake than to Robert Zemeckis's New Age-y Contact, one of its obvious precursors.
Page 1 of 18