Arrival - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Arrival Reviews

Page 1 of 17
August 15, 2017
Denis Villeneuve's new film Arrival does not offer any answers. But it does offer something else - a brief reprieve from the time we are all currently stuck in.
August 10, 2017
I think of Arrival in terms of color: the milky grays of the clouds rolling over the Montana plain; the bright blue of computer screens bouncing off the gray tents on the makeshift army compound.
August 1, 2017
While earlier Villeneuve films such as Prisoners and Sicario dealt respectively with grief and rage, then ignorance and revenge, Arrival is ultimately hopeful and constantly emphasizing the possible unification of language.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
June 28, 2017
Arrival is an emotionally involving science-fiction drama, which in its mood of cosmic anxiety, is closer in spirit to Steven Soderbergh's Solaris remake than to Robert Zemeckis's New Age-y Contact, one of its obvious precursors.
June 28, 2017
Arrival isn't exactly your typical alien movie -- it's so much better than that. This is a movie about how language actually influences the way you think and live your life.
June 26, 2017
The level of intelligence and respect the film has for its audience is refreshing. Its moments of emotion (and there are whoppers) feel earned, not forced.
June 20, 2017
Arrival is a sober, tender and optimistic film, held together by the director's offbeat but firm command of tone and his star's unswerving commitment.
June 13, 2017
As I've said, I've seen Arrival three times-for critical and then therapeutic reasons-and it takes to the light differently with each revisit, much like the edgeless ships hovering over the earth's surface.
June 13, 2017
Everything about Arrival feels meticulously crafted, from the gorgeously composed shots to the Jóhann Jóhannsson score.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
June 13, 2017
Most of it is masterfully assembled, with great near-wordless performances from Renner ... and especially Adams, who conveys everything we want from a hero without stepping outside the bounds of a fallible human.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 10, 2017
Arrival is bold, emotionally-resonant and poignant. It's science fiction at its most beautiful with a finale that will simultaneously make your heart swell and break.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 1, 2017
Arrival is at its best early on, when everything is-figuratively speaking-up in the air.
Full Review | Original Score: Recommended
March 23, 2017
Walks a delicate balance between science fiction spectacle and art house head trip.
March 15, 2017
The result is a wondrous achievement, one that combines mystery and meaning in a way so rarely found in mainstream movies.
March 10, 2017
... the most cerebral of first contact films, a science fiction drama about communicating across cultures and across species and even across time without a common language, while failing to communicate within our own world.
March 9, 2017
Arrival is not classic flight-from-reality faire but it sure got me out of the doldrums.
March 1, 2017
A captivating story that presents an ideal to follow. It's not just one of the best sci-fi films, it's one of the best of 2016. Immensely recommended! [Full review in Spanish]
February 22, 2017
One of the most emotional and unforgettable cinematographic experiences of contemporary cinema. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
February 17, 2017
Arrival has much more in common with E.T. than Invasion of the Saucer Men. And if we're being honest, it's not really about the aliens at all.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
February 17, 2017
No film like "Arrival" has accomplished the examination of the inherent importance of language...
Page 1 of 17