Artemisia - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Artemisia Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 10, 2013
Seriously? Agnes Merlet should be ashamed of her portrayal of this great artist. Tassi raped her. Yes people. He raped her. Ask any Art Historian, pick up any book on Gentileschi, and the facts will be their clear as day. It's one thing to make a film focusing on the more wanton aspects of 17th century Italians. It's quite another to slander the life of a great woman who faced tragic events with truth and tenacity.
½ April 25, 2013
if only more accurate historically...
½ June 6, 2012
Agréablement surpris, dans la mesure où c'est probablement l'un des thèmes qui me rejoint le moins sur tout cette planète. L'histoire de la première femme peintre. Wow. Quoi de plus passionnant? Non, sincèrement, les trentes premières minutes du film m'ont vraiment ennuyées, principalement par leur approche à l'eau de rose de l'histoire d'Artemisia, une femme rebelle qui osait enfin s'affirmer.

Toutefois, dès qu'on s'aperçoit qu'elle se rebelle par sa naïveté, on se laisse un tantinet charmer par toute cette histoire qui prend vite des allures d'émeute. Et puis, voir Miki Manojlovic parler en français, ça n'a pas de prix. Ah, Underground...
January 6, 2012
Alright film, although extremely inacurate.
Super Reviewer
January 17, 2011
Lovely movie, beautiful to watch. Every scene could have been made into a painting. May not be accurate in the depiction of this persons life, but that's often what happens when you translate a story, or historical facts, into film. Tragic romance period piece that features some fine acting, and cinematography. The musical score perfectly reflected the mood of the film. Nicely done...
Super Reviewer
September 27, 2010
nominated for best foreign film at the golden globes
½ July 28, 2010
Artemesia takes the usual story about the art world, eg, "You can't paint that! But I want to!" and plasters it with sex and scandal to make the whole film, well, interesting, but not remarkable.

The story is about one of the first female painters around, Artemesia who course, is fiercely independent, but just can't stop thinking of men, and their bodiesâ?¦ for artistic purposes of course. She soon gets private tutoring from one of a well known artist, but soon tutoring becomes much more then art, and soon after that, scandal erupts! Funny how they could take a historical biography and make it almost into a soft-porn fantasy. I mean, was Artemesia THAT much of a man-hungry person? Also, it's quite funny when she's insisting that she "paints for herself!" yet falls for the first person she sees.

Actually, the story itself is quite fascinating, and it ends with a trial, which I always love. But I wasn't too crazy about the male lead who played her teacher, who looked rather like the person someone like that wouldn't fall for. I woulda gone for the young fisherman :P
½ June 28, 2010
This very exposing and erotic film explores rape trial of Artemisia and Tassi. The emotionally packed scenes entice the viewer to become directly involved with Artemisia's lack of authority in her own life and how she overcomes it. An inspiration to women everywhere, Artemisia broke down barriers in the art world that were never even attempted before. I highly recommend this film.
June 7, 2010
Found a Tartan VHS version at Oxfam for 99p.
The script wasn't really well written.
But there are some fabulous shots in the film, the credit sequence with the close up of Artemisia's eye in the dark, and the reflection in the eye, and also the shots with the painting frame (double framed)

It is more a romantic drama based film rather than biopic, it didn't reveal much about Artemisia's life except her love story with Tassi.

No one ever knows if Tassi and Artemisia really fell in love, or did Tassi really rape her, or perhaps, nothing ever happened betwen them.
½ April 3, 2010
I totally was enchanted with this movie from start to finish. It was wonderful to watch and to learn from. I love french movies and this was yet another one to enjoy. Plus it has history behind it and very erotic and powerful.

One of my favorite parts was when she lays herself in the sand after the couple has been there..She is just a young passionate creature inlove with the human sprit and body and full of God Given talent. I loved it. and especially loved to know it was a true story but sad to know what happened in those times ..you will see when you watch. Tragic.
March 29, 2010
Although parts of this movie made me feel uncomfortable, I felt the main point of the movie showed a young woman breaking society's mold.
January 28, 2010
this 16th century female artist is my heroine
November 18, 2009
Amazing, breathtaking, beautiful. I had no expectations whatsoever and I was struck by the emotion of this movie, by its beauty, by its colors. It inspired me to learn more about Artemisia herself and led me to the brink of tears. I loved it.
½ October 28, 2009
True story about an amazing first woman painter in Italy..worth watching once.
February 9, 2009
Starts off with being about her art career, then quickly turns into a story of forbidden love, with little to do about art. Pretty boring considering how detailed and nice her art is.
bbcfloridabound
Super Reviewer
January 28, 2009
A wonderful movie. I came across this on a list of Movies shown at the 1997 Toronto International Film Festival. This is one of those films that turns out great, not knowing a thing about it going into it. Its about the life of a very young female artist in the 17th century, Being a female and a artist was unheard of in the 17th century, she seems to favor painting male nudity, she falls in love with a older male artist and loses her virginity to him, another thing unheard of in the 17th century (Things haven't changed much) The man is taken to court and put in prison for his affair with her. This is not one of those movies you will find on the shelves of Wal-Mart nor one your going to hear much about other then here. But its worth every minute of your time. Add it to your collection. At the very lease rent it.
½ December 28, 2008
Loved it, even if not accurate.
½ November 29, 2008
Kinda reminds me of "Camille Claudel" - another brilliant female artist who loses herself over her male mentor/lover - but at least Artemisia didn't end up in the nut-house.
November 2, 2008
I am greatly offended by this movie which is a horribly innaccurate retelling of my life. It is a shame to associated with such a movie that twists so much of reality.
September 3, 2008
i seen it in my art class. the story of Artemisia Gentileschi, is interesting.
Page 1 of 3