As I Lay Dying - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

As I Lay Dying Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 6, 2013
Some of the filming techniques are overused and the monologues are a bit too circuitous, but As I Lay Dying has the ability to be quite striking at times and its impulsive structure can be viewed as both an asset and a defect.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
November 4, 2013
A qualified, perfectly respectable success
October 30, 2013
Both brilliant and maddening
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
October 24, 2013
What Franco came up with... is messy, bizarre, muted, and confusing, but it's also heartfelt and personal. It takes more risks than most movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 10, 2013
As a whole ... "As I Lay Dying" conveys some of Faulkner's themes, and the details of the Bundren family story, with clarity and concision.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 10, 2013
James Franco makes his directing debut with this ambitious adaptation of William Faulkner's notoriously downbeat novel. No surprise: it's extremely grim!
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 9, 2013
Faulkner fans... need not be up in arms about this version of his Nobel Prize winner.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 25, 2013
an extraordinarily well made film that, in keeping us at a distance and failing to engage our sympathies or antipathies for its characters, remains more toothless in the end even than old Anse.
May 22, 2013
In many respects this is a faithful and intelligent synopsis of the book.
May 20, 2013
A startlingly effective adaptation of William Faulkner's challenging novel by James Franco.
May 20, 2013
Franco offers up a competently acted, technically adequate Cliff Notes take on Faulkner's narratively refracted tale of dirt-poor Mississippi folk in mourning.
May 20, 2013
Franco can chalk up a qualified but distinct success, and another chapter in what is becoming a very notable career.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 10, 2013
As I Lay Dying tries to adapt the impossible, but unfortunately it is bested by Faulkner's weighty source material.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
October 18, 2013
Franco may prove that he has a fresh visual eye, but the highly emotive story is oddly uninvolving.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 17, 2013
Comes across - whether it's Franco's intention or not - as a grossly self-indulgent project that will alienate some of his fan base.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 11, 2013
I don't pretend to have a clue how to adapt William Faulkner's "As I Lay Dying" for the screen, but unlike James Franco, I, at least, didn't try.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 10, 2013
Franco doesn't answer the elemental question posed by any literary adaptation: Why does this movie exist?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 10, 2013
It remains to be seen whether James Franco can live up to his outsized ambitions.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 10, 2013
Like Franco's other directorial efforts, it ends up coming across as an academic art object, somewhere halfway between a graduate thesis and a video installation-interesting, but only in context.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 8, 2013
The past may never be done with us, but Lord, do we wish Franco was done with our literary heritage.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 2