As I Lay Dying - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

As I Lay Dying Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 25, 2013
Whilst undeniably pretty, As I Lay Dying never amounts to the kind of significance its source material, cast and portentous stylings would imply.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
October 7, 2013
James Franco's readiness in approaching famously abstract source material certainly doesn't translate well into his directorial formalism, or, more appropriately, lack of formalism.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 10, 2013
As I Lay Dying tries to adapt the impossible, but unfortunately it is bested by Faulkner's weighty source material.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
October 8, 2013
Franco adapted a book that often reads like joyless homework into a film that feels the same way.
May 23, 2013
As interpretation, it's timid at best, taking the emotional accents of its irony-strewn, often bitterly funny source very much at face value.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 25, 2013
It is not so much that Franco has butchered Faulkner's novel as he has inflicted a garish blight upon the art of cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
October 17, 2013
Comes across - whether it's Franco's intention or not - as a grossly self-indulgent project that will alienate some of his fan base.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 10, 2013
Like Franco's other directorial efforts, it ends up coming across as an academic art object, somewhere halfway between a graduate thesis and a video installation-interesting, but only in context.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 10, 2013
Franco doesn't answer the elemental question posed by any literary adaptation: Why does this movie exist?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 11, 2013
I don't pretend to have a clue how to adapt William Faulkner's "As I Lay Dying" for the screen, but unlike James Franco, I, at least, didn't try.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 20, 2013
Franco attempts to capture and match Faulkner's stream of consciousness prose with split-screen imagery, interior monologues and slow motion to create a film that might seem more at home as an art museum installation than a mainstream cinema release.
September 23, 2013
If this isn't a deliberate parody of furiously solemn, self-conscious artistic pretension, it's an accidental one.
October 18, 2013
Franco may prove that he has a fresh visual eye, but the highly emotive story is oddly uninvolving.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 20, 2013
Ultimately, As I Lay Dying is another Franco lark that is more of an experiment with form than a fully realized movie.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 25, 2013
The I Melt With You of the Cannes Film Festival
Full Review | Original Score: 4 out of 10
October 8, 2013
The past may never be done with us, but Lord, do we wish Franco was done with our literary heritage.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 10, 2013
It remains to be seen whether James Franco can live up to his outsized ambitions.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 4, 2013
A qualified, perfectly respectable success
October 30, 2013
Both brilliant and maddening
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
November 6, 2013
Some of the filming techniques are overused and the monologues are a bit too circuitous, but As I Lay Dying has the ability to be quite striking at times and its impulsive structure can be viewed as both an asset and a defect.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Page 1 of 2