As I Lay Dying - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

As I Lay Dying Reviews

October 11, 2013
I don't pretend to have a clue how to adapt William Faulkner's "As I Lay Dying" for the screen, but unlike James Franco, I, at least, didn't try.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 10, 2013
As a whole ... "As I Lay Dying" conveys some of Faulkner's themes, and the details of the Bundren family story, with clarity and concision.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 10, 2013
It remains to be seen whether James Franco can live up to his outsized ambitions.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 10, 2013
Like Franco's other directorial efforts, it ends up coming across as an academic art object, somewhere halfway between a graduate thesis and a video installation-interesting, but only in context.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 9, 2013
Faulkner fans... need not be up in arms about this version of his Nobel Prize winner.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 8, 2013
The past may never be done with us, but Lord, do we wish Franco was done with our literary heritage.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 8, 2013
Franco adapted a book that often reads like joyless homework into a film that feels the same way.
May 22, 2013
In many respects this is a faithful and intelligent synopsis of the book.
May 20, 2013
A startlingly effective adaptation of William Faulkner's challenging novel by James Franco.
May 20, 2013
Franco offers up a competently acted, technically adequate Cliff Notes take on Faulkner's narratively refracted tale of dirt-poor Mississippi folk in mourning.