The Astronaut's Wife - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Astronaut's Wife Reviews

Page 2 of 80
½ November 18, 2013
The Astronaut's Wife (Rand Ravich, 1999)
[originally posted 19Jun2000]

You know it's a bad rental night when the highest hopes you have for a movie are of something that looked so utterly silly in the previews that you had no desire to see it in the theaters. Unfortunately, I got roped into this... and aside from the, uh, "climax" , it wasn't really all that bad a movie, aside from Charlize Theron's "as ugly as I wanna be" hairdo.

Johnny Depp and (how far the mighty have fallen!) Nick Cassavettes are two astronauts who go into space to make some minor repairs to a satellite, and are out of contact with Earth for two minutes while they're on the other side of the shuttle. As a premise, this is kind of boring; I didn't realize this wasn't a common occurrence on shuttle missions. But, of course, something nasty happens, and the two come back to earth in comas. Pretty soon Cassavettes and his wife (engagingly played by Donna Murphy), the best of couples, are having marital problems, and Depp and his wife (Theron) are close behind. Feel free to draw all conclusions you need to-and you're right. I don't need to spoil it, you can do it yourselves well enough, I've no doubt.

The good stuff here, aside from a decent performance by Depp, is in the minor roles. Samatha Eggar pops up as Theron's ob-gyn (and those of you familiar with Eggar's most famous role will know why the irony of this was so delicious), and Clea DuVall, as Theron's wisecracking sister, absolutely saved the first half of this movie (note for Joy Fielding fans: DuVall is listed in the cast of the upcoming See Jane Run).

Unfortunately, these things aren't enough to hold it all together, and as the plot slowly disintegrates (and this is another case of "great premise, bad execution") the whole thing becomes laughable; by the time we get around to seeing the bad guy, we don't care how stupid he is. He can't be any worse than the situation he's been placed in. * 1/2 solely for Eggar and DuVall.
August 1, 2013
The Astronaut's Wife had the feel of an indie flick, yet the backing of a hollywood blockbuster, which really surprises me. New Line took a big risk in hiring the inexperienced and offbeat Rand Ravich to direct a film with the star-power of Johnny Depp, Charlize Theron, and Joe Morton, but I believe it paid off. Johnny Depp is phenomenal as always and Charlze Theron had her moments, but what made this movie was the directing. Rand Ravich did an incredible job by taking the stylistic approach to a suspense film that desperately needed it. Bottom line, I found this film enticing and suspenseful, though most did not. I would recommend it to fans of art house-psychological thriller type films.
Super Reviewer
July 21, 2013
Johnny Depp and Charlize Theron star in the psychological thriller The Astronaut's Wife. After her husband recovers from an accident during a NASA mission, Jillian Armacost starts to suspect that there's something wrong with him, and that he may not be he the same man. The pacing is especially slow, and the dialog is poorly written. The performances are also weak; particularly Depp, who's one-dimensional and colorless. Additionally, the plot is bland and uninteresting; lacking in intensity and suspense. The Astronaut's Wife is a meandering and insipid film that doesn't deliver any thrills.
July 7, 2013
My Favorite Science Fiction Film Is 1968's 2001: A Space Odyssey.
½ June 9, 2013
Judging by the title, I thought it was a porn film when I saw it in a videoshop many years ago - I didn't rent that film out for that reason, I rented out Eyes Wide Shut then - when I watched it later, like porn films, utter predictable crap to sum it up in a few words
April 15, 2013
It's not the best ever but it's good
March 31, 2013
Suspenseful and wicked. One hell of a twisted sci-fi thriller! I loved every minute of it!
March 30, 2013
Leaves too many questions unanswered...
March 6, 2013
disappointed i was expecting a much better movie. although suspenseful in moments. it overrall falls flat. :/
February 28, 2013
Johnny's got a five on this one for being so damn hot.
garyX
Super Reviewer
½ February 13, 2013
An astronaut returns to Earth after an accident during a space walk, but his wife soon begins to suspect that he is not the man who she married. Rosemary's Baby gets the sci-fi treatment in this hokey supernatural thriller from the Twilight Zone school. The obvious draw for this film is the cast and Charlize Theron's hand-wringing turn as a paranoid spouse in the midst of spooky goings on makes it all very reminiscent of The Devil's Advocate. Unfortunately Johnny Depp's appeal has always revolved around his quirky charm and his serious miscasting here makes all sense of menace disappear; in fact I think that most women would think the idea of Jack Sparrow as their personal stalker would be quite appealing! But by far the biggest weakness of the film is the silly script that gets ever more ridiculous as it goes. The above par cast manage to keep The Astronaut's Wife palatable, but quite why they got involved with this sub X-Files nonsense in the first place is the biggest mystery of all.
February 11, 2013
God og skummel. BÝ...Veldig bra film.
½ January 24, 2013
Science fiction blends with domestic horror in this thriller.
½ January 14, 2013
How this became a movie I will never get it. This was one of Johnny Depp's worst movies.
January 6, 2013
Depp and Theron look good but are wasted in this dull sci-fi thriller.
December 11, 2012
I kinda liked this film but it could have been better, Johnny Depp starred in the film, it was watchable but I don't want it on DVD, it starred Clea DuVall, Charlize Theron and Donna Murphy
December 7, 2012
A tense dark pivotial thriller. An intriguingly creepy premise but failed execution marks this stylish and ultimately bland thriller about a pretty, young woman whose pretty, young astronaut husband comes back from his most recent space mission a little... odd.
December 5, 2012
Was not impressed at all by this movie :(
½ November 30, 2012
Worst Johnny Depp movie
November 17, 2012
I was expecting the movie to more then what it was awnestly could've been better I just didn't like it
Page 2 of 80