Ator: The Fighting Eagle - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ator: The Fighting Eagle Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ February 14, 2016
Everything about this barbarian movie feels cheap. The storyline is weak, the storytelling is clumsy and the editing is rough. The scene in which Ator tries to convince his father to marry his own sister after confessing his love to her is priceless.
Super Reviewer
August 31, 2015
The first of the Ator series. Ator: The Fighting Eagle is a cheesy Italian sword and sorcery film about a young man who bears the mark of the Taurus who is destined to fight of the evil forces in a tribal world.

One of the worst fantasy films I've ever seen, it is no wonder the sequels scored an even lower rating.
November 16, 2014
I saw this at a packed dollar theater on a Saturday night and the audience riffed it gloriously, a full decade before MST3K. Not for the comically impaired.
½ November 18, 2013
Hastily made film to cash in on the success of CONAN THE BARBARIAN. Young warrior Ator meets his ultimate destiny in destroying the powerful Spider King, after several perilous diversions. A film where good settings and costumes make up for other budget shortcomings. Probably best remembered for uncomfortable scene where Ator awkwardly asks his father for permission to marry his sister.
June 26, 2013
One of the worst Fantasy/S&S movies in the history of the planet. It may not give "Plan 9 from Outer Space" a run for its money, but it has its own so-bad-it's-good charm. Miles O'Keeffe plays Atar--as Michael Keaton said in "Night Shift": "Barney Rubble, what an actor."
April 8, 2013
Let me tell you the days of high adventure! back in 1982 a little sword and sorcery flick called "Conan the Barbarian" opened the flood gates of imitators from all over the world. If you are familiar with cult films and cheap cash-ins then you should know that Italy is the king of imitators and none more blatant of a knock-off than the Joe D'Amato's "Ator the Fighting Eagle", which copies it's American counterpart so closely that it is derogatorily referred to film lovers as "Italian Conan".

After having his parents slaughtered, a small baby survives and is given to a peasant family to raise by a warrior to as the child is prophesized to defeat the sadistic and iron fisted ruler known as the "Spider King". When the boy grows to manhood, the day of his wedding to his sister (don't ask!) gets interrupted by the Spider King's warriors who kidnap his bride. Now Ator must rescue is sister.. err... wife and defeat the Spider King while completing little side quests along the way.

Being knick-named "Italian Conan" it is safe to assume there are many parallels one can draw between the two films... and there is. Our hero Ator teams up with a sexy blond thief, gets seduced by a witch and his main quest is to rescue a young woman from a cult leader that worships spiders as opposed to snakes. Hell the Spider King is even dubbed by a James Earl Jones sound-a-like! Even with all the blatantly stolen plot points, Ator still has some differences. First is the underdeveloped character of Ator, who is rather naive child compared to the brutal raising of Conan. He is not a thief or a gladiator... he's just a simple peasant trying to rescue his wife that just happens to be his sister... again don't ask. His sidekick is replaced by a bear cub and there are plenty of new side quests in which Ator must battle blind warriors, amazons and even reclaim a magical mirror shield.

Like most cheap foreign knock-offs, what hurts the film most is the miniscule budget which affects every aspect of the film. The special effects are deplorable (including a giant spider complete with visible strings lifting it's legs), the costume designs are downright laughable (Miles O'Keeffe and Edmund Purdom sport the fakest wigs this side of Jamie Lee Curtis in "Halloween II") and the cinematography is none existent. Don't get me started on Joe D'Amato's lack of directing (hiding under the pseudonym David Hills) as he proves again with "Ator the Fighting Eagle" that he defines the word 'hack'.

"Ator the Fighting Eagle" is not surprisingly an awful "Conan" rip-off but like most Italian imitators it entertains due to unintentional laughter. The un-special effects, dialogue and even the James Bond "For Your Eyes Only" sound-alike song playing over the end credits are sure to get a chuckle out of any B-movie connoisseur. In an amazing turn "Ator" did well enough to inspire even more sequels than the character that 'inspired' it with a total of three: "The Blade Master", "Iron Warrior" and "The Quest for the Might Sword" all of which are far worse than the original which may not seem possible.
November 5, 2012
Ator is the son of Torren and destined to end the 1,000 year reign of the Spider dynasty. Ator is a fine warrior but he's not the sharpest guy in the land as he openly wonders why he cannot marry his sister. Sabrina Siani again proves to be a value add.
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
October 22, 2012
Incredibly cheap sword & sandal flick where they couldn't even afford the sandal. Nor could they find anyone who could act. Schwarzenegger's Conan the Barbarian came out in May of 1982 and it took Joe D'Amato less than five months to assemble this ripoff trash.
½ November 10, 2010
Awful. . .simply awful.
½ August 26, 2010
Filmed entirely on location in what looks like an abandoned zoo, [i]Ator: The Fighting Eagle[/i] chronicles one man's intrepid journey to free his wife...um, sister (their relationship isn't entirely clear) from the evil minions of the Spider Kingdom. Unfortunately, the filmmakers blow most of their relative's dough on zoo rentals and Miles O'Keefe, because the costumes are obviously borrowed from Mr. Dress Up's Tickle Trunk. The special effects are no better. At one point in the film, Ator (O'Keefe) fights a Shadow Warrior, created in the time-honored tradition of placing a bored dolly grip between a wall and a flashlight. Then, you simply film Mr. O'Keefe beating the wall with a plastic sword and voila! Instant Shadow Warrior battle! I won't spoil any more of the fun. Let's just say that this movie is soooo bad, it's good!
½ July 6, 2010
The Italian Conan the Barbarian isn't as bad as some make it out to be, but it's got a few issues I can't for the life of me overlook. I was able to enjoy the film personally because it has a sense of campiness. The effects are laughable but the scene where Ator fought his shadow was actually fairly impressive. I've seen characters fight their shadows before but only in animation it was very refreshing to see it live action. and filmed very creatively. The acting wasn't the greatest but it was believable 90% of the time. Plus Miles O' Keef definitely fits the role of "barbarian". There's downright laughable dialog, and questionable writing but again the film isn't entirely terrible. I'll gladly check out the sequels because they too might not be as terrible as I hear.
½ March 6, 2010
SAAAAAAAAAAAATANAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

Paska paskaleffa. Huumoriarvokin lähes olematon.
½ February 10, 2010
One of the best terrible films ever made with many memorable scenes such as "the cavern of blind warriors".
½ December 25, 2009
A movie so cheap and lousy, it makes "Hawk the Slayer" look GREAT. It's Conan without the literary merit. It's Deathstalker without the nudity. It's Beastmaster without the ferrets. And yet...easily one of the worst films ever made. "The Blonde Wonder" Miles O'Keeffe is Ator (pronounced "Awh-Tor") who is the son of Taurin and fated to overthrow the 1,000 year-rule of the Kingdom of Spiders. Hearing this prophecy, the High Priest of Spiders (a black bearded fellow wearing WAY too much gold eye shadow) declares that any child bearing the sign of Taurin should be killed. So not only is he like Conan, he's like Jesus, too! Ator is successfully hidden from the Spiders in the bull rushes, er, I mean, with a nice family and grows to manhood, all the while falling in love with the woman he thinks is his sister. When the soldiers of the Spiders attack, killing Ator‚??s parents and kidnapping his sister/bride-to-be, he hits the road to get her back, with the help of various companions and his pet bear (who is inexplicably painted vaguely like a skunk). They encounter a tribe of women that wants Ator to impregnate them, a cave full of blind swordsmen, a shadow creature that is obviously someone backlit off camera (sooooo cheesy). It's so alike in plot to Conan, it‚??s painful (right down to the blond swordswoman, and I use that term extremely loosely). O‚??Keeffe looks ridiculous in his fringed leathers and teased hair that would be more appropriate on members of the band Warrant. The dialogue is terrible. The special effects are anything but. This is irredeemable hooey. Even my dog left the room while I was watching this one. Woodchuck sez, "AVOID."
February 1, 2009
Somewhere out there, there is someone who feels this movie is a classic for the ages. I am not that person. The movie starts with a disembodied voice spouting, rubbish, biblical style prose that give you the impression that our title character was conceived through pollination. This sets the tone for the rest of the movie. We are then subjected to bad acting, bad costumes, bad continuity, bad directing, terrible editing and pointless scenes. Of the pointless scenes, by favourite is when the army of the walking dead suddenly disappears, without having done anything, in the arboretum.
January 8, 2009
Dull and uninspired fantasy fare from Joe D'Amato under one of his many pseudonyms. How they managed to make this simple story nigh incomprehensible is beyond me, but I'm still rating two stars: one for Miles O'Keefe's wondrous hair, and one for the incredible talented little bear cub which follows Ator around during his quest.
½ September 9, 2008
Wild and woolly fantasy hash from Joe (Porno Holocaust) D'Amato featuring titanium-abbed Miles O'Keefe as good-natured Barbarian lad who just wants to live the good life and marry his childhood sweetheart, who just also happens to be his sister. Unfortunately she's abducted by the minions of Dakkar, a creepyl black guy with his eyelids painted gold who likes to let tarantulas crawl around on his arms and gloat about how great and evil he is. Ator is must-see viewing for crap film enthusiasts, and probably the second-best Italian Conan ripoff after Lucio Fulci's Conquest.
August 16, 2008
I was forced to watch this by my BF and, despite my initial protests, was somewhat amused by gratuitous use of fringe and incredibly off key acting. It is definitely better than its sequel but is still one of those movies that is much better when you are too drunk to care that there is no plot.
July 8, 2005
Ator brings to the screen a magic not often seen in modern cinema.

The cast has a chemistry that can only be described as "sweaty", but don't worry. It's sweaty in a good way. The goose-hat wearing villian creates an environment of primal fear for our heroes to battle their way through. Invisible warriors, giant snakes, and physics as it is applied to the theory of flight are no match for our heroes!

Battle on, Thong!
Page 1 of 1