Avatar Reviews

Page 1 of 16
November 28, 2020
The level of detail and creativity surrounding the look of director James Cameron's new world is simply astonishing.
September 2, 2020
Avatar is very nearly devoid of that spark of humanity that would allow the film to soar.
March 5, 2020
...as a member of the audience, I am happy enough to spend an afternoon communing with a society of blue creatures that look nothing like me.
February 22, 2020
This is the evolution of entertainment. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 22, 2020
Avatar contains a metaphor against the invasion of foreign territories and civilizations, explained in two bad jokes about preventive war. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 22, 2020
This movie is for anyone who wants to go on a journey far, far away. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 22, 2020
With Avatar, James Cameron once again revolutionizes how we make and watch cinema. [Full Review in Spanish]
February 12, 2020
Watching the movie was eye popping without being eye aching, and as immersive an experience as Cameron has been promising.
January 19, 2020
Avatar is a reminder that the same sins that plagued our ancestors still live with us today.
December 19, 2019
Rewatching it with fresh eyes 10 years later, the movie's pluses and minuses both rise into much starker relief. The verdict: It's...fine.
October 25, 2019
[O]nce you delve beneath the groundbreaking effects and amazing visuals, Avatar is pretty standard fare.
October 12, 2019
Avatar entertained me for nearly three hours and I left the theatre satisfied, even if my critic spidey-sense tingled at some of the clichés and formulaic filmisms.
June 7, 2019
Delivers on a grand scale something wonderful and timeless, an old-fashioned adventure told with seamless groundbreaking technology
March 29, 2019
The digital world of Pandora is spellbinding. The imagination on display from Cameron and his visual effects team is breathtaking.
March 11, 2019
Avatar can hold your attention due to its visuals, but you'll find your mind drifting as what you assume is going to happen happens exactly as you thought it would.
December 6, 2018
The plot, sadly, is so predictable I found myself saying lines of dialogue before they happened.
October 31, 2018
Like the best of roller coaster rides, Avatar is invigorating and exhilarating, but like all roller coaster rides, that momentary thrill grows more faint the further into the past it recedes.
October 30, 2018
What about the totally immersive game-changing 230-million-dollar 3-D animation/live-action digitized supersensory orgasmatron of a revolutionary media experience, you ask? Eh, it was all right...
May 21, 2018
It's one of the most vivid, visceral movies you've ever seen. It's cheesy enough for ten Swiss villages. It's James Cameron delivering an action thrill ride, at the top of his game. It will transform the way you think about movies forever.
May 15, 2018
For Avatar to stand the test of time, what really matters is the story. And here it falls short.
Page 1 of 16