Avatar Reviews

Page 1 of 16
October 25, 2019
[O]nce you delve beneath the groundbreaking effects and amazing visuals, Avatar is pretty standard fare.
October 12, 2019
Avatar entertained me for nearly three hours and I left the theatre satisfied, even if my critic spidey-sense tingled at some of the clichés and formulaic filmisms.
June 7, 2019
Delivers on a grand scale something wonderful and timeless, an old-fashioned adventure told with seamless groundbreaking technology
March 29, 2019
The digital world of Pandora is spellbinding. The imagination on display from Cameron and his visual effects team is breathtaking.
March 11, 2019
Avatar can hold your attention due to its visuals, but you'll find your mind drifting as what you assume is going to happen happens exactly as you thought it would.
December 6, 2018
The plot, sadly, is so predictable I found myself saying lines of dialogue before they happened.
October 31, 2018
Like the best of roller coaster rides, Avatar is invigorating and exhilarating, but like all roller coaster rides, that momentary thrill grows more faint the further into the past it recedes.
October 30, 2018
What about the totally immersive game-changing 230-million-dollar 3-D animation/live-action digitized supersensory orgasmatron of a revolutionary media experience, you ask? Eh, it was all right...
May 21, 2018
It's one of the most vivid, visceral movies you've ever seen. It's cheesy enough for ten Swiss villages. It's James Cameron delivering an action thrill ride, at the top of his game. It will transform the way you think about movies forever.
May 15, 2018
For Avatar to stand the test of time, what really matters is the story. And here it falls short.
January 16, 2018
In my opinion, Avatar has been hyped beyond the point of forgiveness.
December 14, 2017
Learning your visuals from Jack Kirby is one thing, but too often it sounds like Cameron learned to write dialogue from the guy too.
September 12, 2017
Overall, Avatar was really about the jaw-dropping visual effects--that's the great thing about it.
September 8, 2017
It is, put simply, quite beautiful, and existing in that world for two-and-a-half hours is an experience unlike any other in cinema.
August 19, 2017
Whatever its futuristic setting, and whatever its debt to the past, Avatar is very much a movie for our time.
June 22, 2013
Avatar showed me something I have never seen before. It reminded me of what movies can do, of what they're capable of, of what the experience of sitting down for three hours in a dark room can really mean.
May 26, 2013
Cameron's $300 million baby is nothing but a 5- and 10-cent snore.
February 3, 2013
This sci-fi epic would be a masterpiece if judged solely on its technical merits.
September 29, 2012
Piercing the hype, Avatar may not be a "game changer", but I'll be damned if the game didn't just get a hell of a lot more interesting from here on in.
September 24, 2012
While it wasn't the most original narrative, it serves the film well, even if it was merely a template for Cameron to show us this gorgeous world and its landscapes.
Page 1 of 16