Avatar Reviews

Page 1 of 13
December 19, 2019
Rewatching it with fresh eyes 10 years later, the movie's pluses and minuses both rise into much starker relief. The verdict: It's...fine.
October 12, 2019
Avatar entertained me for nearly three hours and I left the theatre satisfied, even if my critic spidey-sense tingled at some of the clichés and formulaic filmisms.
June 7, 2019
Delivers on a grand scale something wonderful and timeless, an old-fashioned adventure told with seamless groundbreaking technology
March 29, 2019
The digital world of Pandora is spellbinding. The imagination on display from Cameron and his visual effects team is breathtaking.
October 31, 2018
Like the best of roller coaster rides, Avatar is invigorating and exhilarating, but like all roller coaster rides, that momentary thrill grows more faint the further into the past it recedes.
October 30, 2018
What about the totally immersive game-changing 230-million-dollar 3-D animation/live-action digitized supersensory orgasmatron of a revolutionary media experience, you ask? Eh, it was all right...
May 21, 2018
It's one of the most vivid, visceral movies you've ever seen. It's cheesy enough for ten Swiss villages. It's James Cameron delivering an action thrill ride, at the top of his game. It will transform the way you think about movies forever.
September 12, 2017
Overall, Avatar was really about the jaw-dropping visual effects--that's the great thing about it.
September 8, 2017
It is, put simply, quite beautiful, and existing in that world for two-and-a-half hours is an experience unlike any other in cinema.
August 19, 2017
Whatever its futuristic setting, and whatever its debt to the past, Avatar is very much a movie for our time.
June 22, 2013
Avatar showed me something I have never seen before. It reminded me of what movies can do, of what they're capable of, of what the experience of sitting down for three hours in a dark room can really mean.
February 3, 2013
This sci-fi epic would be a masterpiece if judged solely on its technical merits.
September 29, 2012
Piercing the hype, Avatar may not be a "game changer", but I'll be damned if the game didn't just get a hell of a lot more interesting from here on in.
September 24, 2012
While it wasn't the most original narrative, it serves the film well, even if it was merely a template for Cameron to show us this gorgeous world and its landscapes.
February 14, 2012
January 6, 2012
Planet Pandora's plant and animal life is done with a wonder that has been often absent from fiction screens.
September 30, 2011
It's both wildly original and hauntingly familiar, like Dances With Wolves in a galaxy far, far away.
July 14, 2011
It is far too long and the romance is half-hearted. Still, you'd have to travel very far to feel so fully immersed in another world.
March 11, 2011
It's good. It should have been better.
February 3, 2011
It may not change the world, but it'll certainly provide enjoyment to many millions of people all over it.
Page 1 of 13