Away From Her - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Away From Her Reviews

Page 1 of 8
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 11, 2007
Strong performances from the inimitable Julie Christie and the lesser known Gordon Pinset can't compensate for the overly-sentimental reasoning behind a husband's inability to make peace with his wife's Alzheimer's disease.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 25, 2007
There's not a genuine moment to be found in this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 27, 2007
I'd just as soon seek such material out in TV land when I'm more in the mood and less inclined to be irreverent.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 3, 2007
In its wobbly whole, Away from Her lingers as a hazy, blurry account of fading moments.
| Original Score: 3/5
April 27, 2007
This is a difficult watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 27, 2007
A sincere but doomed attempt at a sort of Alzheimer's love story.
December 20, 2007
Hallmark card presentation of the onset of Alzheimer's. Totally sincere and totally unrealistic.
August 23, 2017
That the film does justice to the original short story is saying something.
January 20, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 18, 2007
Beautifully written, from an Alice Munro short story, this movie directed by an actress rarely missteps, even when it bravely includes the dark humor inherent in this situation.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
June 15, 2007
Lovely and cold as a Nordic winter sky, Away From Her is a lacerating, tough movie that's sometimes hard to watch - and impossible to forget
Full Review | Original Score: 91/100
May 10, 2007
Represents one of the few clear-headed, uncompromising looks at [Alzheimer's] and its impacts.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 11, 2007
Upon seeing Away From Her again, I'm content with my sense memory. I'm even more pleased with how much of this fine film's nuance and detail feel fresh.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
May 9, 2007
[A] superbly tacit chamber piece.
February 14, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 4, 2007
A feature film that's often astringent on the surface, yet deeply and memorably stirring.
May 7, 2007
Under Polley's polished direction, the actors deliver superlative performances.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 16, 2007
"Away From Her" is at once one of the most romantic love stories and most frightening horror films I've ever seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 22, 2007
The strength of Away From Her rests on the laurels of an excellent director and Julie Christie whose demanding role is interpreted with subtlety, humor and wisdom. Polley said she only had Christie in mind when the film was to be cast.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Page 1 of 8