Away We Go - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Away We Go Reviews

Top Critic
Dennis Harvey
Variety
February 23, 2012
Top Critic
Hank Sartin
Time Out
November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Keith Uhlich
Time Out
November 17, 2011
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Christine Champ
Film.com
May 6, 2011
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
February 3, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Ben Walters
Time Out
September 18, 2009
That every supporting character is depicted as insufferable or pitiable or both would be bad enough; what's worse is that the couple discover nothing about themselves that wasn't obvious from the opening.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Michael Rechtshaffen
Hollywood Reporter
June 26, 2009
Terrific performances make this tender if slight little film worth the trip.
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
June 24, 2009
Away We Go makes a nice metaphor for a rootless, self-involved culture of parents trying to get it right and getting all the wrong advice as they do.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Rafer Guzman
Newsday
June 18, 2009
Rudolph lends depth and complexity to this otherwise facile story.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Christopher Orr
The New Republic
June 16, 2009
You may very well enjoy Away We Go more than I did. But rest assured that you will never love this movie as much as it loves itself.
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
June 12, 2009
By my count, two episodes succeed and half a dozen fall flat. Your mileage may vary.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
June 12, 2009
Away We Go comes with a pedigree that's undeniable, but this time the filmmakers benefit from the experience, and the audience barely breaks even.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
June 12, 2009
A low-key comedy with its lead characters displaying an ambling, laid-back charm.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
June 12, 2009
Krasinski and Rudolph make a convincing, uncertain young couple, a bit smarter than the usual slacker set.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
June 12, 2009
It's hardly painful, but it's not exactly thrilling, either.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
June 12, 2009
Away We Go is dead-end Quirkville, penned by real-life couple Dave Eggers and Vendela Vida, successful authors taking an unfortunate wrong turn into movie writing.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Chris Vognar
Dallas Morning News
June 12, 2009
Away We Go pleads so earnestly for emotional resonance that it forgets to earn any.
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Ann Hornaday
Washington Post
June 12, 2009
Feels like a welcome respite from the false happily-ever-afters of most mainstream movies.
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
June 11, 2009
The unassuming performances by Krasinski and Rudolph help make this the first Mendes movie that feels lived-in rather than staged.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic

Arizona Republic
June 11, 2009
Mendes, working from a script by husband-and-wife hipsters Dave Eggers and Vendela Vida, ends things in a vaguely haunting way without really resolving them, which is a good thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
June 11, 2009
Glib and charming in roughly equal measure, the road-tripping "Away We Go" is worth seeing for Maya Rudolph, best known for being underutilized on "Saturday Night Live."
Top Critic
Robert Abele
Chicago Tribune
June 11, 2009
Glib and charming in roughly equal measure, the road-tripping "Away We Go" is worth seeing for Maya Rudolph, best known for being underutilized on "Saturday Night Live."
Top Critic
Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor
June 11, 2009
In the end, Away We Go is highly sentimental. It's about finding a place to belong in a world that doesn't make it easy, and it's also about the almost hallucinatory anxiety of becoming a parent. Good subjects, weak payoff.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly
June 11, 2009
This modern parable about a hipster Joseph and Mary sounds glib, but director Sam Mendes lets it breathe
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
June 11, 2009
Mendes can't entirely surmount the smugness that pollutes Eggers and Vida's picaresque script.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
June 11, 2009
Sam Mendes' Away We Go is a film for nice people to see.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
June 8, 2009
It's refreshing to see a romantic comedy where the leads are already in love at the beginning of the movie, as opposed to the focus being their courtship process.
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
June 8, 2009
Maya Rudolph and John Krasinski carry this movie.
Top Critic
Dana Stevens
Slate
June 5, 2009
Away We Go is like a disappointing term paper by a promising student.
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
June 5, 2009
Away We Go is a self-satisfied film about insecure people, a quirky and episodic comic drama that squanders its genuine assets and ends up not as special as it tries to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
June 5, 2009
Director Sam Mendes fails to make them as beautifully fragile as he wants to.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
June 5, 2009
Away We Go promises a funky emotional road trip, and delivers a few funny snapshots. But it takes too many detours, tarries too long in nothing-to-do backwaters, and finally arrives at a destination that was inevitable from the start.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Stephanie Zacharek
Salon.com
June 5, 2009
The main sin of Away We Go is simple dullness.
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
June 5, 2009
Away We Go is an exploratory and occasionally bittersweet trek that takes unexpected turns and winds up in an emotionally satisfying place.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
New York Times
June 5, 2009
Does it sound as if I hate this movie? Don't be silly. But don't be fooled. This movie does not like you.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Scott Tobias
AV Club
June 4, 2009
Though Away We Go lacks the screwball unpredictability of something like Flirting With Disaster, it compensates with a unexpected depth of feeling, a novelist's (or memoirist's) sense of detail, and a panoramic view of what home means.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
June 4, 2009
It's too bad [the writers] didn't follow their slacker protagonists' example, and amble slowly through their cross-country road trip flick. Instead, they all labor overtime to mark every stop along the map, usually with neon signs and flashing arrows.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
June 3, 2009
Away We Go rejects those cliches and instead takes an honest, humorous and ultimately moving look at the prospect of a family growing from two members to three.
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
June 3, 2009
A gilded entry in the cinema du quirk. It's a movie that invites you, all too often, to feel superior to the people on screen. Yet it's been designed, shot, and edited with unusual finesse, and the two main characters are fresh screen types.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
David Denby
New Yorker
June 1, 2009
Some of the episodes are ripely satirical, others almost heartbreaking.