Away We Go - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Away We Go Reviews

November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
February 3, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 18, 2009
That every supporting character is depicted as insufferable or pitiable or both would be bad enough; what's worse is that the couple discover nothing about themselves that wasn't obvious from the opening.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 26, 2009
Terrific performances make this tender if slight little film worth the trip.
June 24, 2009
Away We Go makes a nice metaphor for a rootless, self-involved culture of parents trying to get it right and getting all the wrong advice as they do.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 18, 2009
Rudolph lends depth and complexity to this otherwise facile story.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 16, 2009
You may very well enjoy Away We Go more than I did. But rest assured that you will never love this movie as much as it loves itself.
June 12, 2009
By my count, two episodes succeed and half a dozen fall flat. Your mileage may vary.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 12, 2009
Away We Go comes with a pedigree that's undeniable, but this time the filmmakers benefit from the experience, and the audience barely breaks even.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 12, 2009
A low-key comedy with its lead characters displaying an ambling, laid-back charm.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
June 12, 2009
Krasinski and Rudolph make a convincing, uncertain young couple, a bit smarter than the usual slacker set.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 12, 2009
It's hardly painful, but it's not exactly thrilling, either.
Full Review | Original Score: C
June 12, 2009
Away We Go is dead-end Quirkville, penned by real-life couple Dave Eggers and Vendela Vida, successful authors taking an unfortunate wrong turn into movie writing.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
June 12, 2009
Away We Go pleads so earnestly for emotional resonance that it forgets to earn any.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
June 12, 2009
Feels like a welcome respite from the false happily-ever-afters of most mainstream movies.
June 11, 2009
The unassuming performances by Krasinski and Rudolph help make this the first Mendes movie that feels lived-in rather than staged.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 11, 2009
Mendes, working from a script by husband-and-wife hipsters Dave Eggers and Vendela Vida, ends things in a vaguely haunting way without really resolving them, which is a good thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 11, 2009
Glib and charming in roughly equal measure, the road-tripping "Away We Go" is worth seeing for Maya Rudolph, best known for being underutilized on "Saturday Night Live."
June 11, 2009
Glib and charming in roughly equal measure, the road-tripping "Away We Go" is worth seeing for Maya Rudolph, best known for being underutilized on "Saturday Night Live."
June 11, 2009
In the end, Away We Go is highly sentimental. It's about finding a place to belong in a world that doesn't make it easy, and it's also about the almost hallucinatory anxiety of becoming a parent. Good subjects, weak payoff.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
June 11, 2009
This modern parable about a hipster Joseph and Mary sounds glib, but director Sam Mendes lets it breathe
Full Review | Original Score: A
June 11, 2009
Mendes can't entirely surmount the smugness that pollutes Eggers and Vida's picaresque script.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 11, 2009
Sam Mendes' Away We Go is a film for nice people to see.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 8, 2009
It's refreshing to see a romantic comedy where the leads are already in love at the beginning of the movie, as opposed to the focus being their courtship process.
June 8, 2009
Maya Rudolph and John Krasinski carry this movie.
June 5, 2009
Away We Go is like a disappointing term paper by a promising student.
June 5, 2009
Away We Go is a self-satisfied film about insecure people, a quirky and episodic comic drama that squanders its genuine assets and ends up not as special as it tries to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 5, 2009
Director Sam Mendes fails to make them as beautifully fragile as he wants to.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 5, 2009
Away We Go promises a funky emotional road trip, and delivers a few funny snapshots. But it takes too many detours, tarries too long in nothing-to-do backwaters, and finally arrives at a destination that was inevitable from the start.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 5, 2009
The main sin of Away We Go is simple dullness.
June 5, 2009
Away We Go is an exploratory and occasionally bittersweet trek that takes unexpected turns and winds up in an emotionally satisfying place.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 5, 2009
Does it sound as if I hate this movie? Don't be silly. But don't be fooled. This movie does not like you.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 4, 2009
Though Away We Go lacks the screwball unpredictability of something like Flirting With Disaster, it compensates with a unexpected depth of feeling, a novelist's (or memoirist's) sense of detail, and a panoramic view of what home means.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 4, 2009
It's too bad [the writers] didn't follow their slacker protagonists' example, and amble slowly through their cross-country road trip flick. Instead, they all labor overtime to mark every stop along the map, usually with neon signs and flashing arrows.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 3, 2009
Away We Go rejects those cliches and instead takes an honest, humorous and ultimately moving look at the prospect of a family growing from two members to three.
June 3, 2009
A gilded entry in the cinema du quirk. It's a movie that invites you, all too often, to feel superior to the people on screen. Yet it's been designed, shot, and edited with unusual finesse, and the two main characters are fresh screen types.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
June 1, 2009
Some of the episodes are ripely satirical, others almost heartbreaking.