Baarža - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Baarža Reviews

Page 2 of 6
February 24, 2012
A Thoughtful and entertaining movie. A kind of time travel in which Sicilian politics and culture, are very well represented. However, the viewer has to think and interpret instead watching the movie in a passive way. Despite the magical elements, Baaria is rather a realist movie. I have enjoyed watching this movie..
January 31, 2012
Beautiful piece by Tornatore. It's a pleasant journey through the typical Sicilian life that shared some strong moments in the story with well-defined characters. Gracious and colorful photography that made justice of such ambitious project. Not a movie for the acting portion but instead for enjoying the depiction of a traditional Sicilian family through time. Ennio Morricone's unmistakable underlying of beautifully merged sounds, accompanied to perfection - still, it doesn't standout at any moment. It seemed to me a bit too long making me wondering if sometimes the plot lost simplicity with so many characters and notes throughout the movie.
January 30, 2012
Really beautiful movie made me miss my own hometown didn't get the end pero
January 3, 2012
Giuseppe can take u to another time and make a classic movie in modern times
½ December 16, 2011
Tornatore tries his personal "Amarcord", but this is one of his weakest films, despite the generous budget.
November 14, 2011
Excelente film Italiano, una historia que cuenta muy artisticamente el desarrollo en tres generaciones de una t√≠pica familia siciliana antes y despues de la segunda guerra... #ForTheRecord: Tus sue√Īos aunque parezcan inalcanzables debes seguirlos hasta tu ultimo aliento. Aun asi durante el camino la vida te muestra que puedes ir consiguiendo otros que estan al alcance de tu mano...
Super Reviewer
November 9, 2011
Oh how I wanted to really like an Italian film. I guess that this was not the movie that was going to convince me that Italian filmmakers have talent. I had a lot of trouble making any sense of what this movie was trying to convey.
October 27, 2011
Beautiful to look at but superficial lacking the depth of true emotion. Confusing and boring in parts but worth a look. You can see the influence of Visconti in it's epic scope.
½ September 2, 2011
La scenografia, i costumi, i colori, la musica...un bellissimo film.
August 23, 2011
recommended by tecnoandre......
Tecnoandre
Super Reviewer
August 20, 2011
The film recounts life in the Sicilian town of Baarža, from the 1920s to the 1980s, through the eyes of lovers Peppino (Francesco Scianna) and Mannina (Margareth MadŤ). A Sicilian family depicted across three generations: from Cicco to his son Peppino to his grandson Pietro... Touching lightly upon the private lives of these characters and their families, the film evokes the loves, dreams and disappointments of an entire community in the province of Palermo over five decades: during the Fascist period, Cicco is a humble shepherd who, however, finds time to pursue his passion: books, epic poems, the great popular romance novels. In the days when people go hungry and during World War II, his son Peppino witnesses injustice by mafiosi and landowners, and becomes a communist. After the war, he encounters the woman of his life. Her family opposes the relationship because of his political ideas, but the two insist and get married, and have children.Tornatore really knows how to dive deep in the human relationships with poetry and beauty. Magnificent cinematography and music in a masterpiece!
½ August 1, 2011
Comunism, mafia, Italia...pentru cine vrea sa inteleaga aceasta tara
½ April 5, 2011
Visually it looks awesome but the entity is shallow and empty. Boring disappointment from Tornatore.
April 3, 2011
wow!!!! el protagonista es el tiempo
March 29, 2011
Lung, european, niste secvente mici foarte misto dar prea se vrea epic
½ February 15, 2011
no dudo que el resto de la palicula fuera emocionante. tiene un comienzo interesante, muy dinamica... pero llega un momento en que uno se pregunta "realmente quiero ver 4hs de italianos gritando y gesticualando".
en resumen, me fui a ba√Īar y cuando sali de la ducha seguian gritando y dije chaaaaaaaaaaaaaau
½ February 13, 2011
Siempre estar√ (C) agradecido a Guiseppe Tornatore, por habernos obsequiado la inmortal "Cinema Paradiso" y tambi√ (C)n por haberme presentado a Monica Bellucci en "Malena". Tan valioso uno, como lo otro. Comento esto, para que el lector entienda que no puedo ser muy parcial cuando compete a este director.
En su √ļltima entrega "Baar√≠a", el director italiano ha sido acribillado por la cr√≠tica en una cinta donde pareciera que ha querido abarcar tanto, que por momentos se pierde entre tanto personaje y tantas l√≠neas tem√°ticas. Lo cual hay que admitir que es cierto. Por ejemplo, nos toma una buena parte de la pel√≠cula, darnos cuenta que el protagonista ser√° Pepino Torrenuova.
Al ser una película Semi autobiográfica, el director pienso que nos ha querido contar todo.
Sin embargo confusa como es, tiene muchos momentos que nos sacarán una sincera sonrisa y hasta una carcajada, así como tambià (C)n hasta la lagrimita de Remmy. Hay hermosas perlas escondidas en la trama. Uno de ellos es un brevísmo cameo de la Bellucci.
La m√ļsica del maestro Ennio Morriconne es excelente como siempre, aunque no inolvidable como otras veces. Por momentos hasta parece que el director abusa de esto.
A pesar de todo, la película me ha gustado mucho. La he disfrutado en exceso a pesar de sus imperfecciones y cliches. Seguramente estará en mi colección y la verà (C) muchas veces más.
El amor no se cuestiona, así de sencillo.
½ February 10, 2011
You know you're in for a memorable film experience when you start day dreaming, looking at the stars above the screen and wondering how Francesco Scianna's parents separated him at birth from his twin Ben Affleck. Give Baarìa director a splicer or the number for the editor who created the film's effective promo short because Baarìa is unbearably long, with too many characters to care about any of them. The bright spot: the luminous beauty of Margareth Madè.
February 2, 2011
As much as we can preserve a little of the atmosphere and mood of other classic Tornatore, "Baaria" is a movie dragged and extremely repetitive, the subject policy does not account for its 2 1/2 hours long, and good characters in potential seem underutilized.
January 26, 2011
Bavyera dońumlu y√∂netmen Tornatore otobiyografik √∂zellikler i√ßeren bu filminde, √ßocukluńunu ge√ßirdińi Sicilya'yńĪ √ 1/4√ß kuŇańa yayńĪlan bir √∂yk√ 1/4 √ 1/4zerinden anlatńĪyor.
Page 2 of 6