Babylon A.D. - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Babylon A.D. Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Adam Tobias
Watertown Daily Times
September 5, 2008
You know a film doesn't have a lot going for it when even its director isn't exactly thrilled with the final product.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
July 29, 2014
The movie has a nice look -- gray, rusted metal exposed to Siberian and Bering Strait snow. What it lacks is coherence and a compelling reason for us to take this often-abrupt journey with Aurora, Toorop and Sister Rebeka.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Corey Hall
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
July 29, 2014
Babylon A.D. is a plodding incoherent fiasco, though an oddly compelling one.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
September 2, 2008
This is a case of a potentially epic tale being pruned and diced to the point where its underlying ideas are reduced to trite clichés.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 29, 2008
If the eventual director's cut DVD proves this movie to be a masterpiece, then I'll be first in line to buy it. Given what's currently unfolding on the big screen, however, it's no wonder the director is so eager to disown it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
The Sneak
Sun Online
August 29, 2008
Babylon AD is a Blade Runner/Fifth Element wannabe which doesn't have the budget to match its ambitions.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Anders Wotzke
August 1, 2009
A joyless mess of a movie.
| Original Score: 1.5/5
Rossiter Drake
San Francisco Examiner
September 4, 2008
'Babylon A.D.' has ideas, but they are hopelessly lost in a story with no interior logic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
James Rocchi
Common Sense Media
September 16, 2010
Violent actioner is dull, dreary, and defective.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Scott Weinberg
September 2, 2008
Did we actually NEED a brain-dead action version of Children of Men? I say no.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Edward Douglas
August 28, 2008
Like a futuristic remake of "XXX" no one ever asked for, this atrociously lame and redundant sci-fi flick may be the dullest action movie of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
September 5, 2008
It will provide a fix of mindless violence, but that's about it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Todd Gilchrist
IGN Movies
August 29, 2008
Babylon A.D. is a poorly-assembled sci-fi melodrama bereft of excitement or intelligence that will only remind me of the director's earlier, better film because its translated title echoes my sentiments about this one - namely, hatred.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
January 5, 2012
To put it bluntly, Babylon A.D. is a cluttered mess. Characters have been under developed, realtionships have no chemistry, and its conclusion feels rushed and leaves too many unresolved questions.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Anton Bitel
August 27, 2008
The future looks a lot like the past (or at least like past movies) in this lazily derivative SF action flick.
Andrew J. McGlinn
FILMINK (Australia)
October 3, 2008
With a messy storyline and screenplay to boot, the film feels disjointed and lacking true punch.
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
November 7, 2008
Skip it aggressively.
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
November 7, 2008
I unfortunately had a seat that faced the screen and I have two hours of my life that I will never get back.
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
August 29, 2008
Seems simply like the aftermath of an artistic apocalypse.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
September 11, 2008
Loses the few bits of intriguing groundwork it lays amidst a cacophony of mangled editing, lethargic performances, and an utterly unfocused and often contradictory narrative
Page 1 of 5