Baghead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Baghead Reviews

Page 1 of 5
August 1, 2008
He [baghead] is obviously simply a device to make the movie long enough to qualify as a feature, and the denouement will be one of stunning underwhelmingness.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 5, 2008
The problem with Baghead isn't that it's cheaply made but that it's sloppily composed.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 26, 2009
The Duplass brothers waste a perfectly good porno premise by getting meta on our asses
August 20, 2008
Compared to films such as Tropic Thunder and The Blair Witch Project, Baghead's poke at the film industry and attempt at verite horror are a little like making vroom-vroom noises next to a Porsche.
July 24, 2008
Once the threat arrives, I was praying to return to the childish mating rituals of these monotonous characters. Watching lousy actors try to express heartache through limited gifts is far more frightening than any masked, crazed killer.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
July 25, 2008
Satire, you see, requires the sort of artistic discipline that is anathema to mumblecore filmmakers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 8, 2008
Even in the spookiest woods in the dead of night, there will be no difficulty figuring this one out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 5, 2008
Baghead's got exactly one joke to exploit -- it's a relationship movie masquerading as a horror movie -- and proceeds to beat it to death.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 22, 2008
An extended navel gaze.
July 24, 2008
For the Duplass' film about these talentless slackers to work - both as a drama and then as a horror film -- it's essential that we care about the characters. I couldn't do it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 25, 2008
What could have been an amusing short subject, the Duplass Brothers' not-quite-horror/not-quite-comedy drags its one note premise out to an almost mind-numbing 84 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
September 18, 2008
The truth eventually comes out, as it must, and it's not exactly a stunner.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 18, 2008
The plot is tired, the actors are not much good, the situation is way too familiar, there is no humor or fright in sight.
August 8, 2008
Too bad the characters are so rote. The women are almost nonentities, and the bond between the men borders on the maudlin. The actors are often better than their lines.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 8, 2008
Trouble is, it's never really funny or really scary, and a lot of it is hugely predictable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 8, 2008
I felt like putting a bag over MY head.
Read More | Original Score: C
August 8, 2008
It's clear that horror isn't really the Duplass' forte: The simple scenes of these four aspiring filmmakers sitting around a table, brainstorming ideas while tearing each other apart are more interesting than all that running and screaming.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 29, 2008
Jay and Mark Duplass -- the brothers who wrote, directed and produced this bauble -- take literally two-thirds of the film to come to a very small point.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 5, 2008
The co-directors and co-writers, Jay and Mark Duplass, appear to be saying, 'Hey, we are the new emperors of the independent cinema. And guess what? We have no clothes.'
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: C
Page 1 of 5