Bananas - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bananas Reviews

Page 1 of 36
March 18, 2017
This is an interesting comedy with absurd and slapstick elements (sometimes almost Charles CHAPLIN-like) about a clumsy loser (of course played by Woody ALLEN) living through improbable twists. There are a few cameos and Sylvester STALLONE (before he was well-known) makes a brief, uncredited appearance.
February 21, 2017
Les trois premiers quarts d'heure de Bananas sont très réussis. En effet, tant que Woody Allen se cantonne à New York et son amourette avec la SJW Louise Lasser, Bananas est vraiment très drôle, proche de son film précédent, "Take the Money and Run". Une fois que le film se déplace dans la république bananière de San Marcos, le film devient un peu répétitif et perd de son intérêt. C'est dommage, car certaines idées sont vraiment bonnes, comme les apparitions d'Howard Cosell. Mais même à 80 minutes, le film semble beaucoup trop long pour l'idée initiale. A noter une petite apparition de Stallone qui se fait dégager d'un métro par Woody Allen. Oui oui.
February 5, 2017
WOODY ALLEN RETROSPECTIVE PROJECT PODCAST (ON ITUNES)

Good beginning and End but the revolutioonary plot in the middle could have been executed with more creativity, enjoyable in parts but again the main narrative could have been executed better to take the political spoof part stand out, comes out more as a collection of random bits mixed with banana republic idea. okay-ish
January 17, 2017
One of Allen's funniest movies, surrealistic, satiric, well done, original, great music, just a Allen Classic, not as good as later works, but funny as hell
December 18, 2016
Offbeat, slap stick but classic Woody Allen. It was the start of a long run. Zany to say the least.
Antonius Block
Super Reviewer
½ December 1, 2016
This early comedy from Woody Allen has many of his hallmark trademarks - clever dialogue, sight gags, and slapstick comedy. It also has Howard Cosell and a cameo from a young Sylvester Stallone. There is political satire - Cosell broadcasting an assassination as if it were a sporting event, J. Edgar Hoover "appearing" at a trial as an African-American woman, and a woman capturing the conservative views of the radical left so perfectly when she says in a sugary tone, "Differences of opinion should be tolerated, but not when they're too different. Then he becomes a subversive mother." But mostly it's a screwball comedy, one that for me was most interesting in the desperate relationship Allen's character, Fielding Mellish, has with a political activist (played by Louise Lasser), with her pointing out all of his shortcomings, always in such a nice tone. An example while they were breaking up - Him: "How am I immature?" Her: "Well, emotionally, sexually, and intellectually." Him: "Yeah but what other ways?" I'm sure you can just hear that in Allen's whiny, neurotic voice. This movie is not his best, but it's smart and was ahead of its time, and it's still entertaining decades later. Oh, last point - I also loved how Allen put the conservative 'National Review' in a row of pornographic magazines. :)
Super Reviewer
½ April 28, 2016
At one point, Woody Allen's character says to Louise Lasser's: "I fail to see the humor of this," which is exactly how I felt watching this terribly unfunny comedy that is more like random scenes and sketches sloppily put together - some of them so irritating they are nearly unbearable.
½ February 22, 2016
To have a good time with "Bananas," you must accept it for what it is, which is a series of sketches piled together to assemble a vaguely conceived plot. I suppose it has a story, but its scenes are dotty and scattered, sequences never quite wanting to come together in solidarity. It feels like a congregation of tossed about comedic ideas from its director/writer/star, Woody Allen. But though it takes more than a few minutes for us to accept its crackpot dizziness, we eventually come to like it for the way its satirical jabs jab hard, and for the way Allen validates himself as just as good of a performer as he is a filmmaker. It's not his best, but maybe that's because "Bananas" was released relatively early in his career and sees him at a time when he wasn't quite ready to be, pardon the term, an artiste.
But we can't watch the film attempting to draw comparisons to his overall career - it's not "Hannah and Her Sisters" or "Everyone Says I Love You," nor is it trying to be. Coming at the "early, funny" part of his filmography, it is better contrasted with "Sleeper" and "What's New, Pussycat?," when he was still working out his kinks but nevertheless the maker behind several ingeniously funny comedies. "Bananas" finds him slightly scattered but still nifty, it containing a sizable amount of capably performed physical comedy routines and enough one-liners to kill a man.
In it, he plays Fielding Marsh, an indelibly nervous blue collar worker who inadvertently lands himself in the position of a revolutionary after trying to win the heart of Nancy (Louise Lasser), a social activist. A product tester very much in the midst of mundane routine, he's not the type to get so involved - but, wanting to show his potential lady love that he's a man of strength, he heads over to San Marcos, where civil unrest is brewing. Almost offed by the region's government, he is saved by revolutionaries, and is, in return, trained to work alongside them with offhanded bravery. He gets in over his head, however, when he is persuaded to pose as the face of the revolution, which throws him into deep trouble after the U.S. catches a whiff of his escapades.
In terms of summary, "Bananas" sounds like a cohesive, if totally bizarre, comedy, but it is not so much a conclusive work as it is a marathon of cutting, brief satires, taking aim at everything from the media's ravenous thirst to make a story out of anything to the clichés that befall the romantic comedy genre. It's perhaps even reminiscent of "Airplane!," just without such an overwhelming abundance of visual gags.
But because of its flip-flop nature, "Bananas" never really has a specific tone, as it sometimes feels like a screwball comedy homage and sometimes feels like a rom-com spoof. When the film fails to put two and two together, though, Allen's comedy remains buoyant and pointy, laughs moving everything along more than a plot ever could. And this subversion somehow remains adequate - Allen has the pen to back up his cuckoo, and he and his performers (especially the exquisitely droll Lasser) are proficient in selling the nonsensicalities. "Bananas" isn't one of Allen's finest, but subpar Allen is still pretty darn good.
January 22, 2016
Just a, you know, a hilarious Woody film. I, uh, really enjoyed it and uh, I'll enjoy it again I'm sure.
November 10, 2015
Hilarious slapstick work from, possibly, cinema's greatest screenwriter.

"I once stole a pornographic book that was printed in braille. I used to rub the dirty parts."
September 5, 2015
I'm not a giant fan of early Woody Allen, but I generally enjoy his early, really silly films ... what's not to like with all the cribbing from Chaplin and the Marx Brothers? This one leaves me cold. It has a few jokes that work, but most of them are pretty stale jokes told awkwardly. It's a good idea poorly executed.
July 23, 2015
Of course I love this! It's hysterically funny and original, and my father co-wrote it! :)
July 7, 2015
Outright hilarious. The first Allen film to produce genuine belly laughs.
½ June 4, 2015
One of the many excellent satires from Woody Allen.
April 23, 2015
Woody Allen builds a great, hilarious world. It's a shame that world is sometimes incoherent and underwhelming.
½ April 21, 2015
An inept product tester is pronounced the leader of a small South American country after being kidnapped by rebels. While admittedly still quite funny at times, unfortunately Allen's multiple references to child molestation and incest ring a sour note in latter day viewing.
½ April 11, 2015
Incoherent is an understatement but in the madness there is some peace.....nah it's just madness.
April 3, 2015
At times hilarious but mainly stupid. Woody Allen channels Chaplin and the Marx Brothers by taking his stand-up wit to the big screen. The film certainly goes over-the-top with its cornball and satirical antics. It has its clever and forward-thinking moments but in the end this is one of his weaker efforts. Although, it's kinda fun seeing his real-life girlfriend act alongside him. When she's trying to break up their relationship on-screen you can tell their improvisation is genuine. She totally cracks up by his X-Ray joke and then comes up with her own witty come-back.
Page 1 of 36