Band of Outsiders (Bande à part) Reviews

Page 2 of 3
February 7, 2005
August 29, 2004
A pair of set pieces -- the trio dancing in unison in a bar and their famous 9-minute, 43-second run through the Louvre -- make the movie worthwhile alone, but the disjointed, meandering, and somewhat random narrative isn't anything to write home about.
July 8, 2004
For movie lovers, it's pure joy.
November 29, 2003
A fun film.
October 8, 2003
An eminently watchable and charming film.
July 22, 2003
An exhilarating experience.
April 3, 2003
This great film is ultimately only gently reproachful of the corrosive effects of American pop culture on our sensibilities
March 4, 2003
As an exhilarating challenge to familiar filmmaking, it stands alongside Breathless, Vivre sa vie: Film en douze tableaux, Masculin, féminin, and Weekend, as Godard's finest work.
February 5, 2003
Band of Outsiders may very well be Jean-Luc Godard's best film -- and that's saying quite a lot considering this is the director of Breathless and Contempt.
January 25, 2003
January 8, 2003
A must for cinephiles.
October 21, 2002
I find the plot of Band of Outsiders uninteresting, the characters Arthur and Franz interchangeable, the innovations pointless and the overall experience unsatisfying.
August 9, 2002
February 28, 2002
It's been a while since I have left a theater so jazzed up about a movie.
December 9, 2001
The narrative itself is a rip-off of a fairly pedestrian, B-grade crime pic, but what Godard does with this trio of 'outsiders' lifts it into the sublime.
December 8, 2001
It's as if a French poet took an ordinary banal American crime novel and told it to us in terms of the romance and beauty he read between the lines.
December 7, 2001
We both intellectualize and feel Godard's expertise, conscious that we are watching a movie and sad for the drabness of reality.
December 7, 2001
The structure of the film feels like freedom. And truth.
December 6, 2001
Watching it, you can almost sense the way the world looked and smelled back in the heyday of the young Beatles and the dying Hollywood Golden Age.
November 16, 2001
Godard's pastiche genius was never livelier.
Page 2 of 3