Barely Legal - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Barely Legal Reviews

Page 1 of 1
February 25, 2016
bad from all POVs (pun intended)... no story, the setting is ugly and the cast wasn't cut for this "movie"
September 21, 2014
½ September 2, 2014
This felt like a student movie that had some okay nudity but not much else going for it.
The acting was awful and it had really terrible humour.
½ April 24, 2014
Husband: "What are you watching over there?" Me: "Just a movie on Netflix." Husband: "What is it?" Me: Nothing really just some stupid comedy." *Hears moaning* Husband: "Are you watching porn?" Me: "No."
Husband: "Well what is it called?"
Me: "Barely Legal." Husband: "Sounds like porn to me..." *Comes over and looks at my laptop screen* *Sees a naked woman, and hears more moaning*
Husband: "Looks like porn to me."

So basically the movie runs like a badly made porno movie, I mean I don't know what else I was expecting from the title, but there was not much substance in quality happening. I still watched the whole thing but I will say it wasn't for the superior acting. HA!
October 26, 2013
Atrocious. Just as bad as you know it will be before you make yourself try to sit through it. The gratuitous nudity does not redeem it.
October 12, 2013
Absolutely hilarious! I loved the cast and the storyline. You really can't take films this this seriously so just check it out, you won't regret it.
March 9, 2013
Barely Legal is a raunchy, late night Asylum comedy that should not be watched if you keep your action pg-13. This raunchfest includes almost every word and image that shouldnt be talked about. The film provides you with some borderline- okay acting from the three female leads. Each character is average and un-original from the slut, the church girl and the girl next door. You also have the douchebag boyfriend, the stupid video-gaming losers and the popular blind kid. The film contains so many untalked about sub-plots and the film randomly cuts to other people who then are never mentioned again. If you're looking for a good bad gross out sex comedy then this is the movie.
November 21, 2012
Picking up from where a previous reviewer left off, yes, it is a glamorized home video, and yes, the story is kind of flat. However, it is entertaining in the way that a sex comedy should be. There's plenty of skin, and if you manage to actually watch the movie (instead of fast forwarding from skin to skin, thereby skipping audio), you'll find that there is something like a plot. There's even "a moral" at the end, if this can be said of a sex comedy. Acting performances are just slightly better than one would expect of a typical TV show episode level (i.e. not quite up to "movie level quality"), but Melissa Johnston (starring as "Sue") and Myko Olivier (in a supporting role as "Eric") gave pretty good performances with freshness and honesty that actually count as acting. In sum, this is a naughty, simple, and enjoyable "late night comedy". I don't normally review movies, let alone naughty ones, but I suspect that "the silent majority" of movie non-critics would rate this around 40% rather than the 16% that it has on 11/21/2012.
June 23, 2012
Only watched 5 minutes. Thanks Wally!
June 17, 2012
Terrible straight to dvd comedy,Just SKIP IT!!!
May 10, 2012
it was ok. not all that funny
April 30, 2012
The fuck did I just watch lmao...everyone was dumb as hell lmao...if you want to watch a funny movie that even makes YOU embarrassed and have to look away and laugh this is it
½ April 10, 2012
This film trudges along for what feels like 4 hours and has absolutely no pay off. Easily last year's worst film.
½ January 19, 2012
the asylums latest attemp at a sex comedy with 3 teenage girls looking to lose there virginity when they hit 18. its just an excuse to show naked women let's be honest. the plot is wafer thon at best the acting awful from everyone. teenage boys will love it I guess lol
January 15, 2012
A comedy by the Asylum people. Good looking ladies but the rest is bad... enough said.
½ January 14, 2012
could be considered as porn... just tits and tits
January 5, 2012
You could not pay me to sit through an entire hour and a half of this stupidity. It's terribly produced, with no acting skill and no plot, and the offensiveness far outweighs any tiny amount of humor there might have been. For the love of God, do not waste your time watching this.
November 18, 2011
Completely and utterly regrettable. The only use for those ninety minutes that passed during the screening of this on my Netflix was the appreciation I have for other films that do what this one does not; provide a plausible story with humor, character and logic. Every scene is almost unbearable, the characters never grow, several factors of the movie were unnecessary and the location changes once throughout the entire filming process. It is so blatantly obvious that extras were so unaffiliated with the film making process that Barely Legal almost started taking shape as an expensive home video. If any criteria saved this from being unmentionable, it would be the fact that there were plenty of boobs to be seen. Even the premise, three hot girls trying to lose their virginity on the same day, is hokey and met with almost no entertaining repercussions. The worst thing about Barely Legal is that it isn't campy, so there's not even any joy in making fun of how horrible it is. Barely Legal is an insult to the entire subgenre of Sex Comedy simply because it never proves itself funny. Total garbage.
Page 1 of 1