Basic - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Basic Reviews

Page 1 of 8
March 31, 2010
Director John McTiernan does a swell job with James Vanderbilt's sneaky script in keeping us guessing.
October 14, 2003
A estrutura narrativa (obviamente inspirada em Rashomon) é interessante, mas a necessidade de criar reviravoltas surpreendentes praticamente destrói o filme, já que, ao final da projeção, nada mais faz sentido.
| Original Score: 3/5
September 16, 2003
Best described as military noir, Basic reunites John Travolta and Samuel L. Jackson in a kind of Pulp Fiction with rain and fatigues, plus a chaser of Rashomon on the side.
June 19, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 8, 2003
Travolta was finally cool again.
Full Review
April 5, 2003
[McTiernan] builds his momentum until by the end, the truth turns on a dime so quickly that it all but leaves a sonic boom in its wake.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 3, 2003
A crackling good popcorn movie with perhaps one too many twists in its pretzel of a plot.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 2, 2003
There is nothing basic about this multi-layered story that has more twists and turns than a Coney Island roller coaster.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 1, 2003
a film that has not one, not two but three separate "ah-ha!" moments, which would be excruciating if not for the saving graces of John Travolta and Samuel L. Jackson's relentless charisma.
March 31, 2003
[Basic] had a great sense of itself and it had a lot of fun taking us from one corner to the next and then spinning us around until we got dizzy and didn't know where we were. I like that.
March 31, 2003
"Basic" is a good-looking film that has some earnest performances but it gets too wrapped up in all of its twists and turns that, in the end, confuse more than entertain.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 29, 2003
Travolta's performance keeps things watchable, but you won't be scratching your head so much as shaking it when the game is finally revealed.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 29, 2003
Compellingly watchable even when it isn't making any sense.
March 28, 2003
Travolta gets good mileage out of playing a swaggering hero with degenerate, bravado tendencies. (Can any other major movie star get away with such low behavior?)
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 28, 2003
Travolta is a vital presence that constantly holds our attention, even when the script is threatening to lose it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 28, 2003
With its twists and turns almost spinning out of control, 'Basic' kept me guessing about whodunit until the very last second.
March 28, 2003
Like Dame Edna or the color orange, Basic is improbable but fun.
March 28, 2003
Although mired in the flashback technique and bumbling at times, Basic essentially is a fun movie, surprise ending and all.
March 28, 2003
I didn't buy a second of it. But I did enjoy how strenuously this picture worked to pull its fast ones.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 28, 2003
The fun lies in allowing yourself to be misled and manipulated, and not trying to impose logic on something that so blatantly disregards it.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 8