Basic Instinct 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Basic Instinct 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 8
March 31, 2006
But the movie is a baroque little mystery of so little mystery or consequence that you're literally sitting there waiting for the next full body cavity search.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 15, 2006
I won't say I didn't enjoy it; this is the kind of film that begs to be talked back to, that satisfies our highly developed taste for schadenfreude.
Read More | Original Score: 69/100
March 30, 2006
Here is a movie so outrageous and preposterous it is either (a) suicidal or (b) throbbing with a horrible fascination. I lean toward (b).
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 31, 2006
This film is unable to involve, entertain, or titillate. Basically, it stinks.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 31, 2006
Basic Instinct 2 seems aimed at two audiences: men in raincoats in dark theaters and graduate students in film studies.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 30, 2006
Stone delivers her lines with slinky grace, but there's no helping out a plot with as many doggedly transparent twists as this one.
March 30, 2006
Stone, whose portrayal of mature sexiness was breathtaking in last year's Broken Flowers, is so over-the-top here that Tramell appears to be channeling Cruella De Vil. Or maybe Carol Burnett vamping as "Nora Desmond."
Read More | Original Score: F
March 30, 2006
In Basic Instinct 2 the manufactured thrill is gone.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
April 2, 2006
Could be a career-killer of the most combustible variety.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 13, 2006
...a script that is so full of cliche's that I actually knew the end of the film 10 minutes before it ended.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 31, 2006
The only real intrigue comes in the film's risky flirtation with high camp.
April 23, 2009
Silly, shock-pandering lines like that nearly sink the film to Showgirls level.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 30, 2006
If your own basic instinct is to avoid this movie, then you probably should go with that.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
April 3, 2006
Basic Instinct 2 has a stylish look and a few sexy moments, but the plot goes from confusing to implausible to absolutely ludicrous in the final sequence.
March 31, 2006
Unenjoyable, unerotic, I daresay unwatchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
March 31, 2006
An utterly hilarious piece of camp trash that elicited more laughs from me than 'She's the Man,' 'Larry the Cable Guy' and 'Date Movie' combined.
Full Review | Original Score: D
March 30, 2006
Where is the suspense part? There is no suspense part. Suspense demands clarity of motive and action, and this screenplay never provides it.
March 23, 2006
Going to go down in history as not only one of the worst sequels of all time, but also one of the worst films of all time. Come video, it may just have an 'Alan Smithee' credit festooned to its title sequence.
| Original Score: 0.5/5
March 30, 2006
Basic Instinct 2 would be a magnificent exercise in transcendental camp... were it not for the pleading, deluded look behind its leading lady's ice-blue eyes.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
March 30, 2006
The long-gestating follow-up to Paul Verhoeven's 1992 blip on the zeitgeist screen is a disaster of the highest or perhaps lowest order.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 1 of 8