Basic Instinct 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Basic Instinct 2 Reviews

Page 2 of 108
½ February 10, 2014
Nowhere near as bad as people say it is. Watchable but devoid of compelling suspense, violence and even erotic scenes. Stone is a hoot though.
January 18, 2014
As a fan of the first, I was interested in seeing what they would do in a sequel. Catherine Tramell is back, this time she drives a car off the side of the road with her drugged up boyfriend and she is again investigated and becomes the subject of a psychiatrist. What follows is a much tamer version of the first film with Tramell using her charms to make him do what she wants, but this doesn't have the sexiness or thrills of the first film. It is incredibly bland. Maybe it was a mistake to call this Basic Instinct 2 and instead make it its own film, it might not have had such an unfair comparison. It does pick up a bit near the end with a few twists right before the credits roll, but it was a case of too-little-too-late. Interesting for some actors who made it to TV now with David Morrissey in The Walking Dead, Charlotte Rampling in Dexter and Hugh Dancy in Hannibal.
January 16, 2014
OK but nowhere near as good as the first one. Sharon still looks good though!
½ December 30, 2013
A very unnecessary sequel to a classic cult film. this second chapter takes the character of Tramell caught into yet another scandal after the death of one of her sex partner. The film try to be tensed and dark like the first one but instead it's a little funny and ridiculous to be honest. The story isn't that great and Sharon stone should definitely move on to some other projects better suited for her quite enjoyable acting skills.
½ September 29, 2013
You know I blame the writers and directors for this movie. Not the cast. I mean the movie has a great look that contrasts the softness of the original. Visually its very appealing and quite different. But the most sore part about this movie is the plot is so washed out its entertaining but not thrilling like it should be. Poor Sharon Stone was fed such awful dialogue that was not as effortless and sexy as the first. In this one shes just blunt and in your face and not in a good way. And the rest of the cast really does not have any chemistry or offer anything as well. David Morrissey is a cute face but nothing more. Sharon Stone for almost 50 still looks beautiful and has raging sex appeal..Not to crazy on her hair and wardrobe though. This movie is a product of today, not the 90's.
September 19, 2013
This movie is severely underrated. Clearly, it's not as good as the first one, but it is still a solid, sexy, and entertaining film. It's somewhat hard to follow, and David Morrissey is a weak, insipid actor, but otherwise Sharon Stone is fantastic, and the film as a whole keeps me interested. I really think that if they replaced David with a solid A-lister, the film would have done much better.
½ September 7, 2013
To be fair, this film succeeded at one thing. It managed to be even stupider, confusing and pointless than the predecessor.
½ September 5, 2013
So bad, it's actually kind of hilarious.
June 29, 2013
The razzie people has a better name for this movie

It's called "Basically, It Stinks, Too".
June 25, 2013
On its own, it is not a bad movie. Sharon Stone is a cool crafty Character and you are just not sure if she did it or not. Linked to the first movie, this is a disjointed sequel. It doesnt flow with the first and seems deflated. The cast is impressive as actors that have made it big recently on television and they do well with this. David Morrissey gives a rich depth to his character. He is able to show the wall of professionalism slowly crumble as Stone picks at it ever so deftly. Worth the watch if only to see some of the acting work of Morrissey or Hugh Dancy.
June 24, 2013
This One Was Not Good As The First Basic Instinct.
June 17, 2013
What barely worked fourteen years prior, doesn't work fourteen years later.
May 15, 2013
i liked the first one
½ May 13, 2013
I never like the first BI that much but I thought it had an interesting idea. This on the other hand is so bad it's...well..just bad. Like RT say's "It's So bad it's Good" but I honestly HATTED HATTED HATTED this film. I never really liked the first but I did respect Verhoeven for pushing the boundaries the way he did and sticking to his guns like he did but this film...it's just dumb. The only really saving grace is Sharon Stone even SHE doesn't save this horrendous film there's so many bad things about this film that you can't list them all. But just for a few the story is Muddy and makes well...little sense. And as RT say's "The plot is so ludicrous it's "So bad it's Good" Well said RT Well Said.
April 30, 2013
It's nothing compared to the original, but not nearly as bad as some reviews claim.
Super Reviewer
April 25, 2013
Sharon Stone returns to the role that made her famous in Basic Instinct 2. Novelist Catherine Tramell is accused of murder once again, and faces off with a psychiatrist who believes that she has a risk addiction that drives her to commit murder. The plot is overly convoluted and tries too hard to be ambiguous and have clever twists. The writing is remarkably poor (especially for Stone's character), and has none of the seduction or intrigue that the original film had. An inferior sequel, Basic Instinct 2 is tasteless and uninspired.
½ April 22, 2013
The first was kinda cool,this is just a carbinated copy of that.
½ April 7, 2013
Definitely not a great film, but Sharon Stone is almost always fun to watch. I would love to have seen this after living in London, which is a great setting for such a story. Interesting choice of director in Michael-Caton-Jones.
Page 2 of 108