Bats - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bats Reviews

Page 2 of 3
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
Without any vampires, there's a lack of material for fans to sink their teeth into.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Adam Smith
Empire Magazine
January 1, 2000
An unholy, humourless splicing of The Birds and The Swarm, with neither the true terror of the first or hokey charm of the latter.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
January 1, 2000
The movie falls back on every tired horror movie cliché.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Brian Webster
Apollo Guide
January 1, 2000
Well, let's not judge Destination Films on the basis of just one film. If we did, it would be a studio set to flap its wings and fly off into oblivion really soon.
| Original Score: 45/100
Jack Garner
Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
January 1, 2000
We've been there, and we've done that. The only difference in this film from director Louis Morneau is that our heroes end up chest-deep in a river of bat droppings.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
Madeleine Williams
Cinematter
January 1, 2000
No amount of low expectations could truly prepare you for the horror of watching this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
January 1, 2000
Bats has the look and feel of a film which really belongs in the straight to video category but it has just enough cheap thrills for genre buffs to give it a look.
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
January 1, 2000
Granted, the bat/vampire crossover audience might find something here, but only, I think, if they're tremendously bored.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
James Brundage
Filmcritic.com
January 1, 2000
One of those movies where you have to get popcorn just to throw it at the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
January 1, 2000
Typically, the movie never gets around to mentioning why the government bred these genius bats. To discourage nightlife? To enforce curfews?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Walter V. Addiego
San Francisco Examiner
January 1, 2000
A dimwitted, fill-in-the-blanks horror opus that slanders a fine and useful mammal.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
David Keyes
Cinemaphile.org
January 1, 2000
...uried in clichés and swarms of mutant-like bats who, at a distance, look like nothing more than inkblots with hidden agendas.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
Mike Gregory
Reel.com
January 1, 2000
The script is full of hopelessly banal dialogue, completely lacking in camp value other than the fact Phillips bears a striking resemblance to notorious porn star Peter North.
| Original Score: 1/4
Scott Weinberg
eFilmCritic.com
January 1, 2000
Bats attacking bad actors. Sounds good to me!
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Gary Mairs
culturevulture.net
January 1, 2000
Mainly it made me wish I was watching the Murnau film instead.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Widgett Walls
Needcoffee.com
January 1, 2000
What an egregiously bad sack of guano this film is. It's so bad that Destination Films is being slapped by a lawsuit from the Bat Anti-Defamation League.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
Dustin Putman
TheFilmFile.com
January 1, 2000
Low-rent horror garbage, and one of those rare theatrical outings that actually deserves to be relegated to the junk bin at video stores across the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
Eugene Novikov
Film Blather
January 1, 2000
Director Louis Morneau tries to liven things up with some intentional humor, but it is so conventional it doesn't really go anywhere.
Full Review | Original Score: C-

Film Threat
December 8, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic

Globe and Mail
March 19, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Page 2 of 3