Battle Royale II - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Battle Royale II Reviews

Page 3 of 88
June 12, 2013
WORST movie out there. Made no sense at all.
½ June 6, 2013
It's not awful, but "Battle Royale II" is nowhere near as good or fun as the original. A lot of speeches, not enough action or characters.
May 20, 2013
nowhere near as good as the first film. Ruined the concept
May 16, 2013
It got boring & unrealistic. I do not want a sequel for Batoru rowaiaru! It is over, okay? Do not create another story that is similar or connected to this again.
½ May 12, 2013
The sequel to the film based on the book that inspired (well lets face it, the idea was just stolen by America) the hunger games. This movie is very different from the original yet similar.

It's still about a group of kids taken from school and being forced to kill. This time though, rather then having to kill each other, they are in a war type situation where they have to kill terrorist.

The film starts out very interesting, but overall is just too long and I began to lose interest.
½ May 3, 2013
Malgre quelques defauts de continuite et une realisation avec les pieds (Kinji Fukasaku sait tenir une camera. Kenta Fukasaku pas du tout), Battle Royale II reste un film plutot divertissant, malgre son manicheisme a la limite du ridicule et son reel probleme de dramaturgie. Il en reste que grace a quelques sequences reussies (dont celle du debarquement, pas sans rappeler celui de Spielberg), le film est bien plus qu'acceptable.
½ April 17, 2013
fantastic! i saw this film before i saw the first and they are both epic, twisted and cruel in many ways. Dont trust critics who consider hunger games(copy of battle royale in so many ways) to be good.
½ April 7, 2013
It has such an interesting concept but at the end of the day...this movie made me want to die. Even if it was as stupidly as these guys...
April 3, 2013
I love the original Battle Royale movie... but this was just terrible. It has one of the worst plots and is just SO boring! I managed to get through the whole movie, but I regret ever watching it because it damaged a little bit of the first one for me just because of the fact that they share the same name.
½ April 3, 2013
"Let's take the original movie, add a military setting, add a confusing sub-plot that was never featured in the book, and add some of the most obnoxious characters in any film! We'll call it Battle Royale 2: Requiem!"
½ March 26, 2013
"If you want a war that badly, you kids fight it out!" says the new class instructor. The line of good and evil has been drawn since the first film and through brain-washing, Nanahara is the "EVIL LEADER" who's hunt's down all adults, similar to that of a terrorist group (War on terror). Battle Royale 2 lacks any and all of the charm that the first film had. Gun fights fill this movie; sadly, it's violence is mostly meaningless.
March 26, 2013
decent but the first one was by far better
March 25, 2013
Unfortunately, nowhere near as good as the first film. The high suspense of the original was severely lacking and the acting was way over the top. It's such a shame that such a classic as Battle Royale has a poorly constructed and forgettable sequel.
Super Reviewer
½ February 9, 2013
Still cool, but messes with the formula too much. The result is a shitload of plot holes. The ending battles are pretty cool, but the character development is pretty bad. Some of these characters are cool enough to have their own movies, but they're all getting killed off too quickly for you to really appreciate them.
½ February 5, 2013
A prime candidate for the worst film ever created. Avoid like the plague.
½ February 2, 2013
This sequel should have never been made, period.
January 31, 2013
After narrowly surviving the last Battle Royale, Shuya Nanahara raises an army of teens to wage war against the Japanese government and their deadly student lottery. Japan decides to reform the Battle Royale Act in response, enlisting a new class of students to fight the terrorists for them on a remote island. This continuation story offers little more than an excessive amount of violence and a glaring anti-American sentiment. Character and plot have been stripped away as director Kenta Fukasaku spends more time focusing on the fire fights that rage on throughout the majority of the picture, lending far less impact to the deaths of the students who are killed in an endless barrage of bullets. The class size is cut in half before any of the kids even reach the shore in a scene that is clearly meant to resemble the opening in SAVING PRIVATE RYAN. As we struggle to find an identifiable hero, we are force-fed political oppositions towards American foreign policy. BATTLE ROYALE 2 attempts to link the terrorist acts of 9/11 to America's own ruthless regulation of world events with the threat of the bomb, but the script is far too immature to handle the material in a meaningful way. What we are left with is an exhausting 155 minutes of petty violence and political posturing that is as unlikely to entertain as it is to elicit any form of response in the viewer.
½ January 27, 2013
Lots of nonsense, and not as good as the first, but still somewhat epic....
January 3, 2013
A follow up from the highly success original this film still directed by Kenji Fukasaku lacks some excitement and story with a much bigger budget. This film in a way is still good in a sense but compare with the original this is not like how it was. This time the story has a turn around but adults giving permission to the Japanese government to use their own kids to fight in a war to kill a terriost who is an anti-adult. There are lots of familiar subjects in this film from other war classics. It's still a gory and violent film with style, but also the acting and characters are not as good as the original apart from Tatsuya Fujiwara
Page 3 of 88