Battleship - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Battleship Reviews

Page 2 of 11
Sean P. Means
Salt Lake Tribune
June 14, 2012
Any movie based on Battleship that doesn't at least throw in a PT boat isn't worthy of the name.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
June 1, 2012
... it sounds incredibly dumb -- and it is, but not without a little fun.
| Original Score: 2/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
May 30, 2012
I am a sucker for these kinds of big, dumb action movies (I liked "John Carter" and "The Green Lantern" too), particularly if they have a good deal of science fiction in them, and this one does.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
May 30, 2012
Liam Neeson fans, beware: it's the old bait and switch tactic as he has barely more than a cameo role in this alien invasion saga.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Michael A. Smith
MediaMikes
May 28, 2012
What's next? Lincoln Logs vs Tinkertoys?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Mark Ramsey
MovieJuice!
May 28, 2012
The best part of Battleship's lackluster opening is that it immediately puts other game-based projects into turnaround: Easy Bake Oven: Apocalypse and My Pretty Pony: Rise of the Lycans, I'm talking to you.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Michelle Alexandria
Eclipse Magazine
May 27, 2012
Peter Berg delivers his love letter to the military in a movie disguised as an Alien Invasion board game.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
May 24, 2012
The CGI looks as good as it ought to given the criminally large budget, but the action is perfunctory and unimaginative.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
Robert Denerstein
Movie Habit
May 24, 2012
Missteps sink this Battleship
Bob Grimm
Reno News and Review
May 24, 2012
One of the dumbest ideas for a movie...ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
May 24, 2012
Once the special effects take over, Berg has little room to assert his personality (or tell a story, for that matter), and the movie feels like a chore.
Neil Pond
American Profile
May 24, 2012
A clangy, anchors-aweigh bombast of special-effects whoosh and wallop, ka-booming explosions and dumb action-movie dialogue.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jackie K. Cooper
jackiekcooper.com
May 24, 2012
Full of action and good special effects, but cheesy dialogue and a throw away plot eventually sink it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Norman Wilner
NOW Toronto
May 24, 2012
It's one of the loudest , most aurally assaultive films I've ever seen. Some audience members will see that as a positive.
| Original Score: 2/5
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
May 23, 2012
It's fun in sporadic bursts, but never memorable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Kevin A. Ranson
MovieCrypt.com
May 22, 2012
... finally exercises its self-awareness bone and has a little fun before the credits roll... worth sneaking into the ending after you see The Avengers again.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/4.0
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
May 22, 2012
A messy mishmash of action movie clichés lost at sea (J14-Hit!)
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
Tony Macklin
tonymacklin.net
May 21, 2012
Battleship is a loud lobotomy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
May 21, 2012
Goes about its thought-free blow-s**t-up business in such a bizarre and absurd manner that to simply dismiss it as laughably awful is to shortchange how oddly captivating its off-the-charts 'what-the-f**k?' quality often is.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
May 20, 2012
I never thought I'd be saying this, but I enjoyed it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 11