Reazione a catena (A Bay of Blood) (Twitch of the Death Nerve) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Reazione a catena (A Bay of Blood) (Twitch of the Death Nerve) Reviews

Page 2 of 11
½ December 24, 2013
A good Italian slasher film from Mario Bava. Greed gets the best of everyone in Bay Of Blood.
Super Reviewer
½ November 30, 2013
Ending was good, but movie has way too many characters and is unnecessarily confusing for a horror. Dub is crappy too.
½ November 24, 2013
Good gore effects, which is a given from Bava, but the story was a little too thick for a slasher, and the ending was just a tad ridiculous, though I'd be lying if I said I didn't laugh.
November 4, 2013
Mario Bava's legendary Twitch of the Death Nerve started the slasher genre in 1971, and is probably the goriest and most popular movie he ever made outside of Black Sabbath. It basically tales the tale of person after person bumping each other off in order to claim an inheritance. The film is notorious for having many different titles, probably more than any other film in history: A Bay of Blood, Carnage, Chain Reaction, The Ecology of Crime, Blood Bath, Last House on the Left Part II, Last House - Part II, Bloodbath Bay of Death... well, you get the idea. This film influenced many slasher films later and was flat out ripped off in Friday the 13th Part 2. While the editing and lack of a concrete story make it a little silly at times, the film's death sequences are still effective, thanks in no small part to special effects maestro Carlo Rambaldi, who many people know as the creator of E.T. Check it out. It's just a fun slasher movie.
½ October 26, 2013
One of the few slasher films that predates Halloween and for what it was storywise, it was pretty interesting and surprisingly dark. As for the performances, it was very corny. You can kinda see what films are influenced by it like the Friday the 13th films.
½ October 16, 2013
Everyone dies - just not in the order you expect.
October 14, 2013
Another horror classic from the great Mario Bava, and one that shows how ahead of his time this man was when it came to the genre. One of the first real "body count" flicks, Bava gives this one plenty of style and atmosphere on top of some truly graphic (especially for its time) death scenes. It's easy to see why Friday the 13th and so many others ripped this flick off. If the film has one major shortcoming, it's the script, which is a bit of a mess. In fact it may take a second watch just to figure out what the hell is going on, especially after the bonkers ending. Weak story aside, A Bay of Blood is a hugely enjoyable and influential piece of horror cinema that's definitely worth a look.
½ August 13, 2013
The film suffers from having a screenplay that has very little characterization. Due to this, the characters are only defined by one attribute and some of them are merely props. For example, the hippies are in the film to be killed and the children are only introduced to supply the shocking ending. The children are not given enough characterization for the ending to make sense. The only good traits of the movie are its thrilling cinematography and exciting score.

5.4/10.0
August 13, 2013
Excruciatingly slow horror that doesn't include too much slashing which is one of its main problems, there's a fair amount of dull dialogue in between.
½ July 20, 2013
The horror movie cliche of a group of hedonistic teenagers getting killed one by one in spectularly gory ways did not start with "Halloween" or even "Texas Chain Saw Massacre". It started with THIS film. But it's only one fragment of it. It's about group of people essentially murdering each other for control of a beautiful bay. It's my third Bava film, not my favorite but still a really solid horror film. It's got some good scares and a surprising amount of gore for a relatively old film. I felt it could have a bit more black humor but that's just me.
July 8, 2013
86%

The bay delivers the blood and gore, has a effective score, but lacks likable charaters. This film IS the influence of FRIDAY THE 13TH. Of the small percentage of Bava films I have seen, this is easy my favorite. Great ending.
½ July 7, 2013
"Contains some of Bava's finest, and most naturalistic work as well as some innovative gore effects." This classic giallo from the director of the first giallo "displays how ahead of the curve he was in tackling the slasher genre." A highly influential (and dated) piece of horror cinema. What an ending! Shyamalan, eat your heart out.
½ May 24, 2013
Grisly and lurid black comedy b-movie slasher from Mario Bava has been hugely influential on the genre and contains many memorable scenes; amongst them an octopus crawling over the face of a corpse and the final scene which is to be seen to be believed. Ultimately it does not really live up to its reputation today seeming a little cheap and has an incongruous score, apart from the enjoyable end credits theme.
Super Reviewer
April 21, 2013
One of the earliest slashers, and one of the best by far. Everyone kills each other for money, you do not have to guess who the killer is, you need to guess who's going to survive the massacre. I loved the simultaneous murders, it really shows what people can do for money. The film was stylish, shot with giallo-like cinematics; it is also well scripted and very atmospheric. A must watch for anyone that likes giallo.
April 6, 2013
insanely influential proto-slasher; literally friday the 13th ten years before it came out and spawned a million clones and launched a billion dollar subgenre. i read the plot summary for this movie though and i got almost none of it after watching, but it just isn't giallo if the plot's easy to follow right?
Super Reviewer
½ February 23, 2013
Fantastic early slasher film from the great director, Bava. It starts out mysteriously, confuses you, and then twists things around until it gives you a crazy ending. I loved the blood and gore too, it's perfect. It's only some of the actors who aren't very good, but it doesn't matter. I really enjoyed this.
½ January 26, 2013
Very confusing when it comes to who is killing who and why, and the death scenes run out of steam about half way through, but gains some credit for it's cruel WTF ending
January 18, 2013
A classic Bava film that sports most of the kills later used in Friday The 13th, this one gets somewhat convoluted at times. The visuals are wonderful and make the film well worth a look if only for the historical significance that it had by inspiring so many others.

Plus, the Arrow UK Blu-ray looks amazing considering the age of the film.

Recommended.
December 4, 2012
Sure influenced the slasher craze of the 70s and 80s, but does that mean it's good? I think many of the slashers improved upon the sub genre. Respect? Sure, but this movie is far too silly too and the plot far too stupid to be good.
½ November 28, 2012
Bad ligting,bad killer,bad acting,bad movie.
Page 2 of 11