The Beast Within - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Beast Within Reviews

Page 1 of 4
½ March 27, 2017
This was a revisit to a flick I'd only seen a handful of years ago, but man, is this one a strange film. The odd thing was that I'd somehow blocked out the idea that instead of being some sort of werewolf or other creature, there's a distinctly bug-like element to the beast in question.

We are privy to a couple being attacked and the wife molested by...whatever...only to have her teenage son begin to exhibit strange medical issues a years later, which sends them looking for information about exactly *what it was* that raped her all those years ago.

Strange stuff and worth a look if you're int he mood for a monster flick.
½ November 12, 2016
First off they could have found a better lead character than Paul Clemens! At any acting school they could have done better than him. Then while they were there they could inquire about a writer that could write dialogue that doesn't make the audience laugh in all the wrong places. Next they would need a Director and film editor, But despite all these glaring problems this film is fun to watch. Les Baxter one of the Iconic writers and arrangers did the score ( His last ) and someone convinced him to try to add corny Synthesizer fills to his lush strings and biting horns. The blu ray transfer is amazing both in site and sound. In other words The Beast within could have been a lot better but is still entertaining on a very strange level.
½ April 23, 2016
I've always found director Philippe Mora an interesting director. I'm not sure any of his films could be considered classics, but I do think some of his films have absolutely classic moments, such as the found footage scene in "The Howling III" or the alien behind the dresser scene in "Communion." I'd actually never seen this film before, even though it was a VHS tape that sat in the horror section of the video store I worked at for year and features an excellent cast that includes Ronny Cox, Bibi Besch, R.G. Armstrong, R.G. Armstrong, Luke Askew and Meshach Taylor. The story is kind of an update of "I was a Teenage Werwolf" about Paul Clemens finding out he's the offspring of a monster that raped his mother and finds out he's compelled to repeat that cycle. Written by Tom Holland, it was his first feature film credit, but it's nowhere as clever as some of his subsequent films, such as "Child's Play," "Fright Night" or even the underrated "Psycho II." The film does have some credible performances and some fun old fashioned practical special effects (particularly one transformation scene near the end of the film), but that's about the extend of the charm of this film. Overall, I was kind of disappointed with the rather routine and corny nature of this horror film.
October 28, 2015
Teen is ravaged by an evil presence that dwells within him and unleashed in uncontrollable fashion. Features the greatest transformation scene in film history. Made all the more plausible by taking place in smalltown Mississippi.
October 23, 2015
A delightfully weird bit of 80s horror that ultimately doesn't make a ton of sense, but gains more than a few points for outrageous oddness. Ronny Cox and the missus are travelling through the rural south when they have car trouble. He leaves her with the car to go get help, and she's attacked and raped by a monster. Years later, the son conceived from this monstrous encounter is dying, so the parents try to track down his biological father. What they find is an incredible collection of character actors ... Don Gordon, R.G. Armstrong, L.Q. Jones and Luke Askew. The secret behind the boy's ailment is not something I can truthfully say I have seen in another film.
September 19, 2015
By numbers contrived plot but decent twist as some entertaining moments and monster FX.
January 25, 2015
A great 80s horror film
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
July 13, 2014
The 1980's were a fin e time for horror film, with many outstanding films that have made their mark. However, many gems of the genre have been forgotten due to the fact that more popular films have overshadowed these stellar little shocker. One such film is The Beast Within, a stunning, gory thrill ride that has Science Fiction elements involved with its story along with body horror. This is a stunning horror picture, a film that is quite underrated, one that is brilliantly constructed in the ways it displays its shocks and thrills. The Beast Within uses effective gore techniques to build up the tension, and with the amount of blood-letting on-screen, it's more than enough to appeal to diehard genre fans. Of all those gems that came out in the early 80's, this is a surprising treat, a film that deserves to be rediscovered and enjoyed by a new generation of horror fans. The story is straight to the point, with nothing special, but the real thing that grabs your attention is the on-screen carnage, which makes up for more than half the film, and it's highly entertaining for that matter. The effects are very well done, and the tone of t6he fi8lm is dark, atmospheric with no glimmer of hope, the way a horror film should be. I guess by today's standards, The Beast Within is pretty tame, considering all the torture porn films that have been released in the last ten years or so. Nonetheless, this is a fine cult film, a worthy addition to the genre, and is sure to delight, shock and thrill horror fans that enjoy a good splatter film. The Beast Within is an underrated film, and it is a movie that doesn't deserve to be obscured and it deserves to be seen and cherished again. If you enjoy 80's horror, The Beast Within is a film that is highly entertaining from start to finish.
½ May 31, 2014
This was a slow yet entertaining movie about a dying kid he constantly gets possessed by a guy who was murdered so he can get his revenge.
Transformation was kind of cool but I didn't understand everything going on in the film.
Good actors helped keep the goofy plot semi grounded.
½ May 21, 2014
It's b-movie fun. It's a bit slow to get started, and the plot is convoluted, but the last thirty or so minutes is a lot of fun. Not a masterpiece and not a necessity to go out of the way to see, but worth a late-night watch.
½ May 10, 2014
campy and frickin' creepy horror flick
Still good to watch
December 26, 2013
The Beast Within won't win any awards for class, or evening acting ability. What it gets points for mostly is taking an insane concept and executing it pretty boldly. What seems like it's going to be a horror movie involving a werewolf quickly descends into a horror movie involving... a cicada? Yeah, that's pretty nuts. Everyone hams it up pretty good, and there are plenty of laugh-inducing moments. Paul Clemens and Ronny Cox are decent enough in their roles, but Logan Ramsey gets points for being a very disgusting old man. The film was written by Tom Holland as well, so the movie does have some merit to it. It's definitely not a classic, but it has enough going for it, which is good enough for a movie this wacky.
½ December 12, 2013
Another awful film adaptation . The book was a decent werewolf thriller although derivative of Hammer Film's " Curse of the Werewolf " . The movie is a mixed bag of bad ideas that has something to do with a teenager turning into a giant cicada .
November 25, 2013
Guilty pleasure from high school. CICADAS!
½ April 28, 2013
This is my 2nd favorite thing ever that features the phrase, "He's been embalmed... ALIVE!"
½ April 24, 2013
There is one very disturbing part that will give you a headache.
½ October 27, 2012
Delivers a good build up to the inevitable grotesque transformation where the beast within emerges. It was worth the wait. Top notch make up. I thought the star, Paul Clemens, had tourrette's after guest spots on Quincy M.E. but I guess not.
June 13, 2012
this isnt a good movie but its 80's schlock at its best....from twisted multiple rape scenes to awesome death sequences in a blink of an eye small-town hicks and awesome transformations (using the bladder trick to a frigging monotonous effect)...one of my favs of all time!!!!!!
January 17, 2012
I don't really see the point of this eyesore.
December 16, 2011
"You look like the hind end of a coon dog leaving the swamp."-Sheriff Pool (L.Q. Jones)
Page 1 of 4