Beasts of the Southern Wild - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Beasts of the Southern Wild Reviews

Page 1 of 10
September 20, 2016
Hushpuppy, a six-year-old with no superpowers, no great destiny, not even much by way of contact with the outside world, is a more active female protagonist than 99% of [Hollywood heroines].
July 13, 2015
In a time when the cynicism of the real world often mandates the tone of our films, here is one that acknowledges it all with unwavering joy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 3, 2015
It plays like Days of Heaven by way of The Road Warrior.
September 14, 2014
As Wink, Hushpuppy's father, Dwight Henry is one of the greatest finds in Hollywood in years. Henry shows a depth and range that made actors like Denzel Washington so great.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 17, 2013
What is also extraordinary is that almost all the people we see are actors. So this is not a documentary but a moving enactment by people who are themselves moved.
March 21, 2013
A cute, but meandering story of growing up alone and having to fend for oneself even when there's help to be received.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 27, 2013
One of the ten best films of 2012.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 23, 2013
A strangely different and slightly magical film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 20, 2013
Prepare to be moved and inspired by this unique masterpiece.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 18, 2013
Beasts of the Southern Wild is the reason we go to movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
January 10, 2013
Yearns to find eternal truths under impossible circumstances, and succeeds with flying colors by my watch.
January 8, 2013
In his willingness to ignore convention, Zeitlin does reveal a confidence that few first-time directors display. He's made a film that's the antithesis of Hollywood's summer mind-set.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 8, 2013
Beasts of the Southern Wild is sheer poetry on screen: an explosion of joy in the midst of startling squalor and one of the most visceral, original films to come along in a while.
December 31, 2012
For all its curiosities and loose ends, Beasts of the Southern Wild casts a formidable spell.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 30, 2012
A startling debut feature - this year's "Winter's Bone," but a film all the more magical because we sense that even Zeitlin, as sharp as his eye undoubtably is, will never be able to duplicate it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
December 28, 2012
Without TREMÉ, BEASTS would not have worked for me, and compared to TREMÉ, BEASTS is little more than a slight, forgettable diversion.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
December 10, 2012
Really the lifestyle of these people takes center stage. It's hard not to appreciate their joie de vivre, or the believable performances these non-actors give. They're both "beasts"!
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
December 10, 2012
The film with the biggest heart of 2012.
Full Review | Original Score: B
December 9, 2012
I doubt anyone is going to watch Beasts of the Southern Wild and understand it immediately... But it's still a fascinating movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 4, 2012
This movie has to be seen to be believed, and to be believed, it simply has to be seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 10