Beaufort - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Beaufort Reviews

Page 1 of 10
January 11, 2016
Unexceptional war film based in Lebanon and following a young band of occupying Israeli soldiers. Acting is OK and its shot well enough but it's not really stand out in any way.
½ September 9, 2015
Exciting at times, this movie does not consistently hold the viewer's interest.
May 13, 2015
An excellent Israeli anti-war film.
November 5, 2013
It's pretty hard to feel empathy with these Israeli troops as they are obviously the agressors that have invaded a neighbouring country. They do not feel any connection with their surroundings, bunkered in and isolated from the land they occupy. But they do feel sorry for themselves, their missed lives, musical careers, distant family. Three stars for creating a claustrophobic atmosphere interspersed with sudden outbursts of violence. Watch 'Waltz with Bashir' for a more profound experience based on the war in Lebanon.
½ April 28, 2013
It's well directed and shot, but says very little that hasn't been already said - and better - in a myriad of other war films. There are several unique and interesting scenes, but not enough for a movie of this length. The acting is also mediocre, so no help here either.
October 26, 2012
Following the lives of a battalion stationed at Beaufort. You never once see the enemy hezballah who rain down missiles on the guard post, nor the generals calling the shots of the war.
August 3, 2012
One of the best movies I have ever seen. Unfortunately someone with the attention span of a five year old may not see it that way.
April 14, 2012
One thing I've learned from watching Israeli war films is that you must expect them to be like the american one, because in these film there's no heroes, no meaning nor any armed combats. The reason of course it's because it is so in real life. Beaufort was the name of a fortress located in the southern part of Lebanon which Israeli forces occupied from 1983-2000. In this film we follow the last mouths of the occupation when Beaufort still was fully armed. But rockets from Hezbollah rained down every day.

Beaufort main focus is on the Israeli soldiers long days doing nothing else but guarding their outpost and not getting hit by the rockets. The only thing to make the time pass is by talking, about who they are, their dreams and what they gonna do when they come home. But the risk of some one's getting killed is still there, and they know it, so every one looks forward to the withdrawal.

I can say as much that this is a real anti-war film, but the question is it a good movie because of that. I have to admit I was kind of bored because nothing really seams to happened, there was no armed fights, but rather a long distant one. But I feel that I must have in mind that the characters in the film is as bored as I am. But is that a good promises for a movie? I don't know. But I ending up giving this film a marginal thumbs up.
February 28, 2012
Beaufort refers to a military fortress held by Israeli troops during the occupation of Lebanon. this film chronicles the tail end of the occupation for a group of soldiers positioned there. We examine the day-to-day of these men as they slowly come to realization that withdrawing from Beaufort is a foregone conclusion. The commanding officer, Liraz was the character which I found to be most interesting in the film. He is a man that is raw and inexperienced, yet cares greatly about his fellow soldiers. Every time they fortress is attacked, the viewer gets to experience the torment which Liraz goes through, knowing he is just following orders, but hates to see his men suffer. The film doesnt have much action and explores a few of these soldiers, but Liraz, along with Ida, a soldier who sorely wants to go home, are the two which I was most interested in. The film doesn't make any sweeping statements about the occupation, rather it just shows the lives of these soldiers and how they are essentially puppets just waiting for orders of what to do. While it's a solid film the biggest problem I had is that it just doesn't bring anything new that I haven't seen in other films dealing with wartime. It's cinematography has its moments but overall its rather mediocre, although there is some use of sound early on in the film which is like some sort o f faint whisper, that is perfect and really escalates the tension in the early goings of the film. By no means a bad film and it has a few things that stand out, but its nothing you probably haven't seen before.
December 4, 2011
Well deserved Academy Award Nomination, but the pacing in this film was PAINFULLY slow. However, the substance more than made up for the speed (lack there of). Enjoyable to the end, truly an anti-war film in every sense of the phrase. As much as we males love our glorious war films, there is certainly a place for films like Beaufort that portray a more realistic view of the battlefield without all of the excitement and power. Instead, we are painted a picture of what seems like a pointless existence where, day in and day out, little changes and gains and losses are at a minimum. Welcome to modern warfare, a true testament to stalemates, where politicians do the fighting and soldiers, landmarks, and territory play the political pawns while the wars themselves drag on for years and years. On a more positive note, Beaufort certainly sets the precedent.. and the argument with regards to how important history is to a people, good or bad.
August 4, 2011
about the pointlessness of war, but way to overlong & slow. a group of bored soldiers in a outpost for'll be even more bored as the random incoming shell isnt a danger to you.
August 2, 2011
A strong picture of the pointlessness of war, showing how the stay in the army can psychologically affect the soldiers. Very realistic.
July 19, 2011
Cluster-phobic mood. Sincere and captivating.
½ June 25, 2011
Infinitely better than most war-time films; it rises above the Hollywood bravado of HURT LOCKER. It literally puts anyman on the front lines of fear, confusion, courage, humility and brotherhood. An absolutely well-directed film.
½ January 9, 2011
Strong "Das Outpost" (Like "Lebanon" would be "Das Tank") - you never the enemy, even once, but he's always in your head, a menace.
January 7, 2011
Saw this after reading the book. The film does a good job of putting you in the shoes of the soldiers, living through the monotony of endless mortar shells, guarding a post that is about to be abandoned and wondering what the point of staying is. I wish it had been a little more faithful to the book, but obviously time constraints limited it. Also, the soundtrack reminded me how much I don't like the Israeli approach to scoring films.
October 28, 2010
Whilst it's easy to draw similarities between this and Hurt Locker; Beaufort is as unique a war film as it is different. Set on a remote mountain top in Lebanon, a team of young soldiers keep guard of a small military outpost. Under daily mortar fire, they live an isolated and dangerous existence. As the film progresses and the team diminish, the hope that they will survive long enough to get off their bleak fortification also diminishes. The tension rises as they lose reason for even being there and with that, faith in their command. Beaufort is a very different war film, with an unseen enemy and tension brought about as much from their isolation and claustrophobic living environment as the desperation they all begin to feel as one by one they fall victim to the increased levels of attack against them. I really enjoyed this film and find the direction astute and interesting.
October 17, 2010
Very good Academy Award nominated film about the last days of the Israeli occupation of a fort in southern Lebanon in 2000 - the fort having been occupied since 1982. With Hezbollah shelling the fort frequently, the soldiers are anxious to leave. After one particular incident, one soldier begins to question the occupation. This soldier is Koris - a brave, but questioning man - and butts heads with Liraz, the leader who appears tough, but is on the inside a trembling man. This is an often tense, very human portrait of war depicting their mostly dull daily activities (even the shelling is reported in a monotone manner) with the sudden and rapid impact of violence.
September 27, 2010
Heavy with morals but a little slow and overly long.
August 22, 2010
Tense, gripping politico-psychodrama concerning the voluntary retreat from a historic Lebanese mountain fortress of the Israeli forces who captured it 18 years ago - a fort that has long since lost its strategic value, but remains steadfastly guarded for its symbolic and political significance by a small cadre of disillusioned men. Shot in a semi-documentary style, dispassionately observing the horrific casualties and the corrosive and demoralizing effects of incessant shelling of the stronghold by unseen Hezbolla antagonists, director Joseph Cedar captures the pervasive restlessness and intense stress within the claustrophobic confines of the base's labyrinth of tunnels. Oshri Cohen is particularly fine as a commander who insists that the sacrifice of his men must have meaning.
Page 1 of 10