Beauty and the Beast - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Beauty and the Beast Reviews

Page 1 of 15
August 22, 2017
I wouldn't say that Condon and company achieve perfection, but they've provided a lively, entertaining version of Disney's animated entry from the 1990s
June 26, 2017
The new Beauty and the Beast is, in a word, magical. It's innovative and whimsical, and also close enough to the 1991 release that fans will not be disappointed.
June 23, 2017
This new version of Beauty and the Beast is fun, exciting to watch, and beautiful to look at, every bit as enjoyable as its animated predecessor. But it's also still every bit as problematic, even with new-and-improved trappings.
June 15, 2017
While [Disney's] Oscar winning animated version reigns supreme, Bill Condon manages to deliver his own interpretation that tweaks the tale here and there for new audiences with a great effect.
June 1, 2017
Beauty and the Beast is a charming movie that uses the talents of its lead actors to successfully recreate and redesign one of its classic stories.
May 31, 2017
Disney has developed a winning formula by hiring talented directors that can take their beloved classics and turn them into live action masterpieces.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
April 28, 2017
The film doesn't need to be given a dark twist like 2012's Snow White and the Huntsman; as with every fairytale, there's enough darkness in this story to begin with.
April 24, 2017
The only believable reason this classic was remade was for love of money, but it does look fantastic doing it... the original animated film is still your best bet.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 19, 2017
I loved Beauty and the Beast, had a smile on my face the entire time. Don't miss it.
April 15, 2017
This live-action 'Beauty and the Beast' is a special gift to movie musical fans. As old as time this tale may be. Now 'Evermore' will stay with me.
April 14, 2017
Overall, Beauty and the Beast is exactly what you want from a classic Disney film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 11, 2017
A film designed to appeal to an audience blinded by affection and nostalgia towards the original work, that results in a rewarding spectacle. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 8, 2017
Beautiful.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 7, 2017
The warmth and elasticity of the original's traditional animation is still unmatched by the digital wizardry on show here, but there's no arguing with the scale and swirl of the film's famous, marvellously mounted musical numbers.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 6, 2017
I enjoyed the remake but it definitely has its flaws, and nothing beats the original movie. Additionally, the remake worked for me because I grew up with the original and it was hitting the nostalgia feels HARD.
April 5, 2017
A film that sometimes feel just like a copy and sometimes make its own interpretation to move forward, with its eyes on the present and the future. [Full review in Spanish]
April 4, 2017
The film tells the classic story in an entertaining and romantic way. I'm sure most viewers will be pleased to see "Beauty and the Beast"; I can confirm that Disney is still on the right track. [Full review in Spanish]
April 4, 2017
Despite its many fails, not everything is bad in this film because several of its secondary characters are brilliantly interpreted, and has an amazing art design and music. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
April 4, 2017
It has all the elements so that the kids can learn something from it, beyond the undeniable fun of a very well made film with a charming romance, if they only seek for that. [Full review in Spanish]
April 4, 2017
The live action remake can be a little too long, but the story, the impeccable cast and the original music and songs are immune to that unnecessary lengthening. [Full review in Spanish]
Page 1 of 15