Because I Said So - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Because I Said So Reviews

Page 1 of 8
December 9, 2014
This movie manages to be offensive and yet dull and predictable, as phony as a Kate Spade sidewalk knock-off bag and as unoriginal as the ready-for VH1 soundtrack.
Full Review | Original Score: F
January 7, 2011
Because I Said So seems like it's supposed to be a paean of sorts to motherhood and the enduring love that entails, a love so strong that it inevitably drives its possessor somewhat batty. But what it is, is muddled crap.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
August 28, 2009
Like steel pins poking through the eyes
April 23, 2009
The ensuing cycle of miscommunication is endless and trying.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 2, 2009
There are chick flicks and upchuck flicks. The movie Because I Said So is an upchuck chick flick.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.0/5
November 20, 2008
This is a by-the-book chick flick we're talking about, but the writers and director apparently didn't want to push the envelope when it came to the supporting characters -- or the main characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 22, 2008
Because I Said So isn't very funny, and no amount of having Diane Keaton act all post-menopausally zany is going to create the tension that just isn't there.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
September 1, 2007
A veteran of classic films such as Annie Hall and The Godfather, Diane Keaton should have known better than to sign up for this kind of light and fluffy schmaltz, even if the director promised she would look great in her underwear.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 1, 2007
Matricide.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 4, 2007
It's a lame duck of a film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
April 28, 2007
A light-weight comedy about mothers and daughters, Because I Said So is a bit like the chocolate soufflés that Mandy Moore's Milly cooks throughout. It's light and fluffy, but on occasions it does not rise to the occasion
March 7, 2007
each character in the film is so shallow and cold that there's nobody for the audience to cheer on.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
March 3, 2007
There's more than enough material here to make an enjoyable drama about a mother and her adult daughters. But the writers and director fail on virtually every front.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
March 2, 2007
I don't think anyone actually wrote Because I Said So; I think that some Hollywood artificial intelligence think-tank instead fed DVD box sets of The Gilmore Girls and Sex and the City into a computer, along with Pottery Barn catalogs for roughage. ...
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 24, 2007
At 61, Diane Keaton is still doing her ditzy, girlish thing, but the act is getting a little oppressive and rarely more so than in Because I Said So, an indulgent comedy.
February 21, 2007
[A] better movie might have surfaced if everyone had taken their Ritalin and calmed down.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 2/4
February 20, 2007
I hated this movie. I think it's the worst performance of Diane Keaton's career.
February 19, 2007
In this unwatchable romantic comedy from director Michael Lehmann Diane Keaton plays Daphne Wilder, an inept mother of three pretty but not-believable-as-siblings daughters.
Full Review | Original Score: D
February 19, 2007
As well as providing lifestyle porn, the many scenes set in stylish kitchens mean there is usually a cake on hand for somebody to be splattered with. That's the level of the bland attempts at comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 17, 2007
With very little rewriting and a different director in charge, Because I Said So could have been retooled as a horror thriller. ... That version probably would have been funnier, too.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 8