Because I Said So - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Because I Said So Reviews

Page 2 of 8
February 17, 2007
A desperate comedy whose frequently acute insights into tense, but loving mother-daughter relationships is constantly hamstrung by ill-advised forays into physical humor and too much reliance on Diane Keaton's mania.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 17, 2007
I've been giving it a great deal of thought and come to the conclusion that the squandering of Diane Keaton's screen legacy is without parallel in the annals of cinema.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
February 16, 2007
Laughter is largely absent from this sorry, shrieking mess.
February 16, 2007
Treats women like idiots and men like inflatable sex toys.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
February 16, 2007
At one point Daphne warns Milly, "You're going to end up like some pathetic character in a Tennessee Williams play." If ever a film could have used a character from a Tennessee Williams play, it's this one.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 16, 2007
There's a special circle of hell reserved for whoever thought up the moment where Macht tells Moore she smells like "cake batter".
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 16, 2007
If there's a worse screenplay in 2007 than this offering from Karen Leigh Hopkins and Jessie Nelson, it'll be written in crayon.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 16, 2007
A bit like the 'Friends' episode in which Phoebe has to choose between two men, only with Diane Keaton, and fewer laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 15, 2007
Just a few years ago, Keaton played a character who was sexy, funny and intelligent in Something's Gotta Give. This one's more like Something Gave Out.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 15, 2007
A shocking embarrassment for all concerned, this is a badly written, badly acted and poorly directed mess from start to finish.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 14, 2007
If you're a mother or a daughter some of it may resonate, but how apt that this painful, toothless farce was originally dreamt up at the dentist...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 14, 2007
A bog standard all-girls-together comedy with a decent cast and less impressive characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 13, 2007
Towards the end, the spectacle of Milly faking an orgasm for her mother's edification is, frankly, enough to kill anyone's hopes of romance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 12, 2007
Some of the nonsense could be overlooked as part of rom com conventions, but Because I Said So's shrillness makes for an exhausting experience.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
February 11, 2007
...the writers and director go out of their way to make [Diane Keaton] look ridiculous, pathetic and stupid...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 10, 2007
On screen or in real life, meddling moms don't get more neurotically ebullient than Diane Keaton's dessert maven in the regrettable 'Because I Said So.'
February 10, 2007
Everyone here is a caricature, and the gaps are papered over with hyperactive shtick. I haven't seen so many cakes dropped or smashed since I Love Lucy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/6
February 10, 2007
A movie that's so bad, it's actually painful to sit through.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 9, 2007
Lehmann manages to give his characters a little bit more personality than is the norm in such movies, but he doesn't bother to hide the contrived paces he puts them through.
Read More | Original Score: C
February 9, 2007
Because I Said So's biggest sin is that it treats its characters like idiots, with Keaton's Daphne leading the charge. [She's] a woman who apparently makes her living by baking the occasional cake, most of which land on the sidewalk or in her face.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Page 2 of 8