Because I Said So - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Because I Said So Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Top Critic
Richard Schickel
TIME Magazine
February 6, 2007
If you don't expect too much of it, you may find yourself pleasantly -- all right, soothingly -- surprised by it.
Fred Topel
Can Magazine
February 2, 2007
Though it is far from perfect, I'm giving it a pass... once you get a little distance from the pandering, the movie kind of takes off.
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
February 2, 2007
There's a charming bonhomie among the sisters, and there are cute touches to the romances.
| Original Score: 3/5
Willie Waffle
February 1, 2007
You get what you expect with some funny scenes, a couple of make-you-weep scenes and plenty of female bonding.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
February 1, 2007
The best moments aren't belly laughs (there are a couple of those, too) but the jokes that ring uncomfortably true.
| Original Score: 3/4
Josh Larsen
Sun Publications (Chicago, IL)
February 1, 2007
...Keaton kneads the part until it begins to resemble a human being.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
January 31, 2007
The screenplay for Because I Said So may be short on invention but it is large on heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Nell Minow
December 9, 2014
This movie manages to be offensive and yet dull and predictable, as phony as a Kate Spade sidewalk knock-off bag and as unoriginal as the ready-for VH1 soundtrack.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Joshua Starnes
January 7, 2011
Because I Said So seems like it's supposed to be a paean of sorts to motherhood and the enduring love that entails, a love so strong that it inevitably drives its possessor somewhat batty. But what it is, is muddled crap.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Fernando F. Croce
August 28, 2009
Like steel pins poking through the eyes
Tom Meek
Boston Phoenix
April 23, 2009
The ensuing cycle of miscommunication is endless and trying.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Tony Macklin
Fayetteville Free Weekly
February 2, 2009
There are chick flicks and upchuck flicks. The movie Because I Said So is an upchuck chick flick.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.0/5
Brian Marder
November 20, 2008
This is a by-the-book chick flick we're talking about, but the writers and director apparently didn't want to push the envelope when it came to the supporting characters -- or the main characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Heather Huntington
August 22, 2008
Because I Said So isn't very funny, and no amount of having Diane Keaton act all post-menopausally zany is going to create the tension that just isn't there.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Francesca Rudkin
New Zealand Herald
September 1, 2007
A veteran of classic films such as Annie Hall and The Godfather, Diane Keaton should have known better than to sign up for this kind of light and fluffy schmaltz, even if the director promised she would look great in her underwear.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Christopher Smith
Bangor Daily News (Maine)
August 1, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: C
George Palathingal
Sydney Morning Herald
May 4, 2007
It's a lame duck of a film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
April 28, 2007
A light-weight comedy about mothers and daughters, Because I Said So is a bit like the chocolate soufflés that Mandy Moore's Milly cooks throughout. It's light and fluffy, but on occasions it does not rise to the occasion
Sean McBride
Sean the Movie Guy
March 7, 2007
each character in the film is so shallow and cold that there's nobody for the audience to cheer on.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
March 3, 2007
There's more than enough material here to make an enjoyable drama about a mother and her adult daughters. But the writers and director fail on virtually every front.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Page 1 of 8